Callie 8/7, 341 AMPS , 338+1, 314 +2, 315 +3 - Ques about testing

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/callie-8-6-362-amps-281-1-347-2-268-3.250972/

We increased Callie's dose to 2U this am and so far she's been in the pinks. Hoping for lower numbers as the day progresses.

Of course -- Murphy's Law -- the freestyle libre started throwing error messages like crazy today so although we have been able to get basically hourly readings this am, I am not sure that will continue much longer.

My question: given the dose increase, if we do have to do manual tests, when is most important for us to get them? From the last few days, it seems to me like Callie's nadir is between +5 and +6 but she has had really low numbers later and even earlier so I am really not certain that I am right in that assumption.

Please let me know what you all think. Thanks!
 
Also, I just got a BG of 347 at +5. I was so hopeful that the 2U would bring Callie's numbers down. Is this another bounce/to be expected? Or did I mess something up?? Do I just need to keep working on my (obviously non-existent) patience? It is just so hard to know that everything we are doing isn't helping...
 
Also, I just got a BG of 347 at +5. I was so hopeful that the 2U would bring Callie's numbers down. Is this another bounce/to be expected? Or did I mess something up?? Do I just need to keep working on my (obviously non-existent) patience? It is just so hard to know that everything we are doing isn't helping...
I think you just have to allow Callie's body to make the adjustment to the increased dose in it's own time/way. Have faith.
Hugs,
 
Hang in there, you're doing great! The dose did bring her down to a nice obvious nadir. I suppose this could be some 'new dose wonkiness NDW' - take a look (again) at the new member sticky Basics or New Dose Wonkiness. Looks like you hit greens last time you were at 2u so it feels to me that she likes that dose but just needs to get used to it. Don't be surprised if her numbers jump after seeing blues/greens. Time will tell!

You've had a great run with the Libre if this is the first monitor but I think you're right, if you've started getting error messages my guess it's going to give up on you soon based on my experiences.

Hopefully someone with more experience will advise on testing. I guess it depends how easy it is for you to get manual readings?
 
It takes at least three days on a new dose to see any effect. Time for patience pants. :) Take a look at other people's spreadsheets or mine starting in September 2020 to give you a realistic idea of how long it takes to get a kitty into some sort of regulation. For some it happens within a few weeks after a change to a low carb diet, for my Ruby it took a few months. Don't lose faith yet. :bighug:

Without the Libre, I would always get a +2 or +3 test. That is when Lantus onsets and those tests will let you know if there is going to be an active or downward cycle. You might need to test hourly after that. I test at least two or three times during the day if I am home whether it's an active cycle or not to get data to understand where the numbers are trending, and at least once at night at +2 or +3 before I go to bed.
 
Liz, thanks for those links and the eminder about NDW. I am really hoping that this is just that and that it will clear soon.

This is our second libre (1st lasted only 5 days.) We are going on our 8th day with it and we did start getting readings regularly from it again this afternoon and evening ... so fingers crossed. We have done some manual testing to practice and also to get Callie used to them while we still have the libre. But especially as we tweak the dose and we -- and Callie's body-- are trying to figure all of this out, it has been really helpful to have the libre's frequent and bloodless readings!
 
Katherine, glad for the confirmation that it is too soon to panic... we'll take a bunch of deep breaths and continue working on our patience skills. Thanks also for sharing when you do your testing. Makes sense. Once the libre stops working, we'll aim for at least a +2/+3 test to see where we are and then take it from there. I am sure I'll also post a lot, at least at the beginning, to make sure we are on the right track in terms of how we are thinking about the numbers.

One other question - we did a urine ketone test today (negative thankfully.) How often would you recommend we do them?
 
Last edited:
Katherine, glad for the confirmation that it is too soon to panic... we'll take a bunch of deep breaths and continue working on our patience skills. Thanks also for sharing when you do your testing. Makes sense. Once the libre stops working, we'll aim for at least a +2/+3 test to see where we are and then take it from there. I am sure I'll also post a lot, at least at the beginning, to make sure we are on the right track in terms of how we are thinking about the numbers.

One other question - we did a urine ketone test today (negative thankfully.) How often would you recommend we do them?
I would do it every day as long as her numbers are consistently pink if you can catch that pee. :)
 
Haha - well we can definitely try but Callie tends to like her privacy so today we did it by emptying her litterbox completely and putting only the non-absorbant litter in it...
 
This might also help as a refresher:
Shows you why the +2 is so important!

"Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number."
 
In addition to what Katherine said, you’ll want to get random spot checks during the midcyle and also get some end of cycle tests from time to time. The +10 and +11 tests often give good data as to how Callie might be doing with duration and whether she gets a second dip.
 
Back
Top