callie 10/9 after the vet !

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Active Member
happy Sunday everyone ! hope your all having a good day :smile:

here is an update on callie, on 9/30 for pm shot I started a new vial of insulin I also talked to the vet I brought a urine sample in on 10/6 and callie has a uti, the vet started her on clavamox bid she had a dose at 12:30 pm and again at 11:30 pm callie could not have anything to eat after midnight due to dental ! I checked her bg =478 off to the vet we went.

the vet said callie did real well with dental she has all of her teeth and 2 teeth had a little tarter on them she had them cleaned and polished But ..... she has infection in her gums so it good she started clavamox , callie has lost 2 pounds since early July she now weight 13.4 and all of callies blood work came back good so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that we see some better numbers soon !! the vet told me to give callie 1 unit bid for a week and get back to her she also asked me if I would do and experiment with her ?? I asked what ! she said would you only check callies bg at +6 I said I can't do that I won't give callie a shot unless I check her bg first ! she thinks I'm checking callies bg to much and thats keeping her numbers up from stress !! I disagree so if you would please have a look at callies ss and let me know what ya think ,I updated it and will try to get her numbers on here every day !!

thanks so much callie and marty cat_pet_icon
 
Well that's a switch....a vet worried about "home stress"!
Does callie act all stressed at test time? You've done a great job of testing. As long as callie is okay with it I think you are good to go. Of course you need to test for preshots, and how can you know what a dose is doing without a +6? You might try a few days of just those to see if there is any improvement due to "reduced stress" but I don't think the tests are stressing callie out.
also, stick with the 1u dose and see how it goes.
The recent numbers are not bad.
Carl
 
thanks Carl, I know wth with the just test at + 6 ??? well I just checked her and at + 4 she is 286

callie is acting just fine cat_pet_icon she eats good plays, purrrrrrs ( very loud lol ) cleans herself after every meal and then some , I've been keeping track of her water intake last few days and it from 1/4 cup to little over a 1/2 cup every 12 hours , I check her for keteones everyday and she has been (-) when the vet asked me that I just looked at her (OO) like what ?? know way I'm giving callie a shot without checking her !! and callie does not seem to mind or seem stress when she is checked ; } she didn't like getting the clavamox right from the dropper tho so I mix it with her food and no problems !
 
Vets can be SOOOO frustrating! When they should be praising you for taking such good care of your cat, they create problems! Would your vet give a diabetic child insulin without testing BG? Perhaps this is one of those vets who does not need to know the specifics of your testing schedule?
 
I am laughing because my vet said the same thing
She thought that Shakes numbers were high because I was testing too much
She gave the the urine crystals and said to use them instead of testing...
Crazy!!
I wonder if that is something that they are taugt...anyway, glad she is on anti biotics now
to help her infection..hope she feels better soon

Denise and Shakes
 
dmartini4 said:
I am laughing because my vet said the same thing
She thought that Shakes numbers were high because I was testing too much
She gave the the urine crystals and said to use them instead of testing...
Crazy!!
I wonder if that is something that they are taugt...anyway, glad she is on anti biotics now
to help her infection..hope she feels better soon

Denise and Shakes

Well, if you don't test, then think about who does, and gets paid well to do so. Maybe they think we can't test as well? It'd be awesome if more vets at least spent some time lurking on this board. They would find out that the beans aren't quite as helpless as they might think we are, and the sugarcats are getting taken care of very well.

The heck with asking if she'd dose a child without testing. Ask her if she'd dose herself blind all the time? I guess they don't think or believe that kitties' lives often depend on knowing the BG you're shooting in to. The Dr. Hodgkins TR Protocol claims that with PZI, cats can't go hypo as long as you follow the protocol. Having been here for a few months, I kinda find that hard to believe.
 
VETS!!! cat(2)_steam


My vet thinks I am going to make Kitty anemic by testing! I don't even call her any longer---I just go get insulin when I need it and I tell her what a wonderful job she has done regulating Kitty! ohmygod_smile

I hope the UTI clears up quickly.
 
Hope Callie's UTI clears soon.
That is just insane to tell someone only to check +6. No way would anyone here shoot their cat without checking PSs first, only the poor, uninformed people who don't know any better and listen to dumb and unsafe advice like that. No human diabetic gives themselves a shot without checking their blood glucose first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top