Calley's numbers today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone.....Happy Sunday

This morning before I left on vacation Calley's BG was 174 so I did not give her any insulin. I just checked with the pet sitter and BG was 294 at 7pm before her evening meal. She gave her .5 unit insulin.

How are these numbers? Is it normal/OK to give a cat insulin determined by the numbers at 12 hour intervals? So some days she gets insulin once a day, and some days none at all? Calley hasn't gotten insulin twice/day in 7 days.

Thanks.
 
With N insulin and some others but not Levemir or Lantus the dose can be adjusted based on PS BG but in your case it might be better to try to reduce the dose. However, dose is really determined by the lowest BG, not the BG at shot time.
 
Calley's morning number today was 74 with no food since 10pm last night. The sitter did not give insulin. So if she was on Lantus then her numbers wouldn't be so low and I would give insulin more regular despite the BG numbers?

I guess I really do not know what I am doing. When her numbers are below 200 she is getting no insulin, when they are above 200 she is getting .5 dose.

This is working out to be about .5 every 24 hours.

Ugh.......
 
How the heck do you measure .25 unit on the syringe? I have a hard enough time only doing .5 unit? are there smaller unit syringes?

So when I get back do I still only dose if above 200?

If the N insulins are fast acting and out of bloodstream before 12 hours...then her number being so low each morning is a good sign that she might be regulating? Or is it showing that maybe the N insulin is lasting longer than believed?

Thanks
 
The make syringes with 1/2 unit markings. You eyeball 1/4 units.
With BG and dose data, including BG between shots to determine the lowest BG, many caretakers safely shoot at below 200. You do not want to show if the losted BG will go below about 50.
 
You do not want to show if the losted BG will go below about 50.

I don't understand what this means?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top