Calley's 7am BG is 114....?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Ok so I just took Calley's blood and got a readying of 97 at first so I did it again to make sure....and then got 114. This is first thing in the morning with no food and no insulin. Her last insulin was at 8pm last night and the last food she had was maybe 10pm last night.

I just now fed her a small scoop of wet food and she threw up.

WTH is going on with this cat?

Called the vet to tell her and waiting for a return call.

Kristin
 
12:00 noon and Calley's level is at 262. I have given her no insulin but she has eaten a little bit. I talked with the vet this morning and she actually told me that she hasn't a clue what is going on. She told me to stop all insulin for a few weeks and see what happens. I am not comfortable with that so I think I might just do 1 unit/2x daily and have the pet sitter do that too so I know that Calley will have something in her to help keep from going hyperglycemic.

I don't have time to change insulins before going on my vacation so if I just give her 1 unit while I am gone and then see how she does then I will consider going back to Lantus.

I will check her level at 7pm tonight. Could there be any possible way that she has gone into remission and the wet food alone is keeping her blood sugars relatively normal?

Thanks
 
Yes, I would go with a reduced dose like one unit if Calley eats and keeps the food down.
I would take to your vet about possible pancreatitis. The symptoms are inappetence and vomiting.
Maybe Cally does not want you to go away?
 
Calley has a great appetite....eating all the freaking time. I would worry even more if she was not eating. But she wants to eat 24/7. Vet says there is no way to test for pancreatitis. Is she right? I think I have figured out that she really does not know a lot about this diabetes thing. But then Calley has been all over the place with numbers and symptoms and what not. After she threw up her food this morning I put down some more(to make sure her numbers didn't get too low) and she gobbled it up like no tomorrow....and has kept it down so far.

Even if she did have pancreatitis...there is no cure(so I have read)....so not much I could do about it anyways.
 
I think I have figured out that she really does not know a lot about this diabetes thing.
Does not seem like your vet knows much about pancreatitis either.

I've had the fPLI test for pancreatitis done for my Wink. It needs to be a fasting test to get the best results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top