Calley.......getting worse

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
I got up and tested Calley this morning and her number is good...256 but she refused to eat and to my knowledge has not drank anything or urinated either in over a day. I'm beginning to worry about her kidney function.

I'll call the vet of course.

Do you think this is side effects of the HBP meds or possibly acute kidney failure?

Am I going to lose Calley?
 
PS....and I didn't give Calley her insulin this morning since she is not eating. Should I give it to her?
 
If she isn't eating I would have held the insulin as well. Max has not had those problems from the BP medication but that doesn't mean anything. With the holiday I would get her to the vet today. I hope your vet can fit you in. Do you have any baby food like Beechnut chicken or turkey without anything added or Gerbers stage 2. Sometimes I can get cats to eat it when they turn down their food. Do you have the blood test results? What was the creatine, BUN, and urine USG?:bighug:
 
Definitely talk to your vet. If you said her labs were good the other day, was that blood and urinalysis? If values for things like BUN and creatinine were good, then it's unlikely that this is a kidney issue. It doesn't happen overnight.

Keep in mind that not every medication is the right medication for any one person 0r cat. It may be that Calley and whatever BP med she's taking don't agree with each other.

And what is the medication?
 
They are both part of most blood work. FWIW, I always ask my vet for a copy of my cats' labs. I have the results on a tab in Gabby's SS. If those values were normal, kidney problems are unlikely. Drowsiness an loss of appetite are side effects of amlodipine. Side effects are rare in cats but they happen.
 
When a cat isn't eating and you do have data on insulin dose response, and the glucose is high, it can be helpful to give a token dose to bring the glucose down. This can have the result of improving appetite.
It is similar to a vet having you do a half insulin dose when fasting pre-procedure.
Each cat is different, so go with what you know.
In the absence of data, skipping may be the safest option.
 
Ok. Back from the vet. They said that besides the lethargy....her other signs look good. They took the BP again it is up to 240 but I'm not convinced that is medically accurate, and more probably her being stressed and anxious. But regardless, it was higher. I didn't see the same ER vet since she is off for the holiday, but the guy I saw seemed to be knowledgeable.

He checked all her vitals....her temp is down to 100 from 103 three days ago. They said she is not dehydrated YET, and that her heart sounds were strong.

He thinks that her condition is due to adjustment to the new HBP meds. He says if she isn't better by Friday and isn't eating or drinking, that I need to bring her back.

She did finally use the litter box, urine, this afternoon. But she is not eating and is now on the floor and no longer on the couch. I think she is too weak to jump up there now.

I think if this continues I will just take her off the HBP meds altogether. I don't want her to be in this comatose state, not with diabetes.

He felt confident that she is ok and just having adjustment to the meds. I do not feel confident and don't like it at all that she is in this state.

Tested her BG this morning and it was 246. Just tested it again now....4:45pm and it is 216. I've tried to get it into the SS, but the document is having issues and I don't have the patience to deal with it right now. :(

I don't know what to think.
 
I wish I had something wise to say. But I have no experience with what you're dealing with.

However, lots of prayers and healing vines for Miss Calley! Feel better sweet kitty!

Hang in there, Kristin!
 
Hopefully the vet will have bloodwork results by Friday, you mentioned her kidney function, BUN and creatinine are two of the markers. Has she pooped at all? Constipation can cause nausea and vomiting. Sending healing and appetite vines
 
We're still sending prayers...I'm glad everything seems to be OK. I wonder if "easing" her into the BP meds might be the way to go? Maybe clearing her system for the day, then starting her on half the dose and go from there??? I wouldn't try this without discussing it with the vet, but it's an idea - at least you could rule in or out the meds.

Stress does elevate their BP, but between her vision issue and how high her BP is reading, I would be pretty confident that she does have high BP.

I also wonder if something in the liquid isn't agreeing with her. Trix and Mario were both on BP pills...never tried the liquid.

Feel better, Calley!!
 
I'm not good at all these variables and such for Calley. It's too much for me. I second guess everything. All I know is she is comatose.....not moving...just lying on the floor....head not even resting....just hanging there. But I guess I need to trust the vet and hopefully she will come out of this drug induced condition.
I asked the vet about stopping the meds and "clearing" her system to see if her condition is from the HBP. He didn't recommend it; said it wouldn't be good for her, but then what is going on with her is not good for her either. I mean, if she has had HBP for a while now....which seems obvious to me....then she was functioning pretty well with it and still eating, drinking, gaining weight, managing her diabetes, and eliminating while not on the meds.

I know I asked the vet how long it took the meds to take affect, but I don't seem to remember the answer. It is causing side effects.....but the BP is still high. Maybe she had a stroke and I just don't know it?

I'm close to holding it together......I don't know what to do for her. The vet say stay the course. sigh
 
When you say she is comatose, is she responding to you at all when you talk to her or touch her? Is she worse than when the vet saw her?
 
Sending vines and prayers for Callie. Did you try baby food? How about Forti Flora on food to tempt her? Boiled Chicken? Even if she just drinks the broth, that would help. How about anti-nausea meds?
 
Lethargy can be a side effect of amlodipine, although this does sound extreme. Calley may be very sensitive to this particular medication. I can't remember...is she on any other meds besides the amlodipine and insulin? Last spring, Trix was on bupe for p-titis at the same time as her amlodipine; her BP tested fine, but she was frighteningly weak - the two meds did not mix well for her at all.
 
She is not waking up when I talk to her. I touch her or pick her up and she stretches a bit and then nothing. She is not moving at all. No worse than when I saw the vet...same behavior then as now....just sleeping nonstop.

Well I did what the vet said and gave her the HBP. If she is still like this tomorrow I think I will take her off of it. I hesitated giving her amlodipine tonight....but that is what the vet said to do. I hope it was the right decision.

He also said to keep giving Lantus as long as she is above 100. But only half doses since she is not eating. Does that sound right?
 
A half dose on the Lantus when she's not eating sounds reasonable.
For myself, when I have had an overly strong reaction to a med, I've looked it up to see if what things do that and if reduction could be possible. I've usually found that it is possible to reduce a dose and have it be effective because I metabolize some things slowly.
You hold the meds; maybe a 1/4 reduction in dose would let her be more awake while maintaining some control.
 
It's good that at least she's now worse, and that the vet saw her in this state so he does know how she's behaving. I would definitely keep a very close eye on her this evening and take her back to the ER if she seems even more lethargic.

Honestly, I'm not completely sure what to say about her insulin, given all that she has going on and her not eating. At the same time, if her numbers are up there, you don't want them sitting there. I'll see if I can find someone else who may have more experience with this to take a look at Calley's condo.
 
Kris - I just did a quick search about amlodpine and found that it does seem that tapering in humans is recommended, rather than abruptly discontinuing it. I would ask the vet about this before taking Calley off...even though she's only been on a it a couple days, tapering may still be safer than suddenly stopping.

I also came across a (human) discussion board where a number of people sound like they had a very similar reaction as Calley - very fatigued and zombie-like. If it can happen to humans, I'm sure it can happen to cats, too. How's she doing now? We're thinking about you :bighug::bighug::bighug:.
 
So I just checked her BG. It was 416 so I gave her the insulin. I figure she was high due to the half dose she got this morning? I've lost my mind with this latest medical crisis with her. lol

She is lying in a bean bag so she is not on the cold floor....but easily gotten out of/where she can't fall off the couch. She is too weak to get up/down. She could get up/down yesterday...but she also ate yesterday too. Vet wants me to stay the course until Friday. Here is exactly what is written in the paperwork they sent me home with:
"If anorexic by Friday, recheck hydration and BP. may consider appetite stimulant. The clinical signs are consistent with early transition to amlodipine. With high blood pressure, I would continue current medications and try to get through the introductory phase of this drug"

I agree....reducing the BP medicine is better than taking her off of it. So if I see no improvement tomorrow....i'll give her just a very small amount of amlodipine.
 
I am sure you are tremendously stressed, but you are doing a wonderful job with her. Did the vet say what he feels the "introductory phase" is? I hope you can get her to eat something tonight. I know appy issues are another side-effect of amlodipine. As I said earlier, Trix was quite sick when she started on it, so it's definitely an apples-n-oranges compared to what you are going through with Calley.

Please keep us posted!
 
Gosh...sending tons of healing vines to Miss Calley!

How are you doing, Kris? Stupid question, I know...you're worried sick! Please take care of yourself through all of this.

We are all here for you!
 
yikes, kristin, i'm so sorry she's having such an extreme reaction. I don't have experience with feline hypertension, but have taken BP meds myself. I spent a year on one that just knocked me out (a beta blocker - Calley's is a calcium channel blocker). The doc did want me to stay on it, but I never got used to it and eventually he switched me to another one.

I found this link to a pharmacy (which I don't know anything about) but thought I'd at least pass it on in case there is something useful for you: Treating High Blood Pressure with Amylodipine (copying and pasting below):

I highlighted and bolded in red below the side effects that require a vet - if I were you, I would get an opinion from another vet. Or call the vet you're seeing and say you think this looks more like shock or a coma than lethargy, if that is what you think. I think lethargy means tired and not wanting to do anything but it doesn't mean unresponsive. Your descriptions sound very serious and scary.

Sending you and Calley all the best thoughts. Please keep us up to date on what's going on.


Amlodipine besylate is classified as a calcium channel blocker medication, and it is effectively used in veterinary medicine to treat hypertension, or high blood pressure, in cats and dogs. Compounded in an oral suspension, it is most commonly administered to cats that are also suffering from kidney disease.


How Does Amlodipine Work?
Amlodipine slows the rate at which calcium moves into the heart and blood vessel walls. This enables the blood vessels to relax, which ultimately results in better blood flow. The effects of Amlodipine also make it much easier for the heart to pump blood throughout the body, which lowers the pet’s blood pressure.

Administration of Amlodipine
When giving your cat or dog Amlodipine, it is important to follow the directions of your veterinarian. It is also very important that you not miss a dose as this can cause a sudden rise in the pet’s blood pressure. A sudden spike such as this can cause a pet to suffer seizures, kidney damage or blindness.

If you missed a dose, give your pet a dose immediately, or, if it is close in time to their next dose, use that dose to get back on schedule. Never give your pet 2 doses at the same time. In the case of an accidental overdose, please call your veterinarian immediately. Signs of overdose include a very slow heart rate, staggering, dizziness or collapse.

Possible Side Effects of Amlodipine
Side effects of Amlodipine are quite rare in veterinary medicine, but in some cases, the cat or dog may exhibit lethargy, loss of appetite, weight loss, swelling of the gums or a slight increase in their heart rate. It they get a laceration, it may also take longer for it to clot.

If your pet exhibits an allergic reaction, call your veterinarian immediately. Signs of an allergic reaction to Amlodipine can include sudden onset diarrhea, swelling of the face, itching, vomiting, hives, pale gums, cold limbs or the symptoms of shock or coma.

Amlodipine Precautions
Amlodipine should not be administered to cats or dogs that have liver disease. Female pets that are pregnant or lactating should not be administered the medication. Male and female pets that are breeding should also not receive Amlodipine.

If your pet is already taking heart medication, diuretics, vitamin supplements, aspirin or other medications that can affect their blood pressure, please consult with your veterinarian before administering Amlodipine as interactions may occur.

In general, the compounding pharmacy will recommend that Amlodipine be administered to patients with their food. Treatment should be completed as directed by the prescribing veterinarian in order to successfully treat the pet’s high blood pressure.
 
Kris, just saw this thread. Prayers, healing light, and so many vines for Calley to find her way through this adjustment period quickly bouncing back with good appy and more energy.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Amy, how long was Trix on the Amlodipine? Sorry....I've read so many posts and have been so stressed out.....I can't remember it all. I see that she is still on it, so how long did it take her to get better on it? I think the introductory phase the vet meant...was that the side effects that Calley is exhibiting, will subside....but when is the big question. He did say that come Friday if there is no change, we would change meds or even add another med to it. I like the idea of getting amlodipine out of her system and trying something different.

I am very stressed. I am not usually the crying type...but I've had a few tears out of frustration today. I just can't get a handle on things. Why can't she just done fine on the meds?? LOL. I know ECID(I've learned). Just like my kids are all different. My diabetic father was put on a HBP medicine and my mother said that he had very similar response to it that Calley is having to hers. So that gives me hope that if I take her off or it or reduce dose...she will go back to normal....and quickly I hope.
 
Julie, thanks for the info. I think I read that same website info, as I have read many webpages now. :). I don't think she is comatose really; she does respond when I pet her and she will stretch and pick her head up for a bit....but then she goes right back to sleep. Her heart rate is strong....I keep checking it. But for sure if it is worse tomorrow, i'll be going back to the vet.
 
Trix started amlodipine this past April, but she got really sick with pancreatitis just a week or so after she started...a lot of things went kerphlooey all at once, so I can't say what affected what with how she adjusted to the BP meds. She definitely had a bad/scary reaction to being on amplodipine and bupe at the same time...she could barely make it up the stairs and such. But nowadays, she is full of spunk.

It's very good that Calley's heart rate is strong. We'll keep watching for updates.
 
Absolutely no worries...I knew what you meant, and you have got WAY more on your mind than to worry about something like that! How's Calley doing now?
 
(((Kris)))

Sending many comfort vines and hugs for you and healing vines for Calley. While HBP needs to be addressed immediately, I think so many meds are started too high in our kitties. I don't know if just lowering the dose and letting her slowly acclimate is something your vet would be willing to do or if the amlodipine is just not for her. You've probably given her the meds for tonight but maybe tomorrow call and talk to the ER vet again and see what he thinks about tapering it down. It's one thing if you have a nondiabetic cat that won't eat but to have a diabetic one that won't eat complicates so many things.

:bighug::bighug:
 
(((Kristen))))
Sending prayers for Calley. You must be so stressed. I'm so sorry.
Come on Calley - Please feel better sweet girl
 
I think she is feeling worse...and is just sleeping thru it. I can get her to open her eyes and stretch when I pet her...but she has no desire to be anywhere but in a curled up ball lying in the bean bag where I left her hours ago. When I put food or water near her....she makes a few swallowing/liplicking thing like she is nauseated. No interest whatsoever. But her chest is rising/lower steadily/in a normal rhythm.

Yes I already gave her both insulin(reduced dose like vet said) and the HBP meds. At this point I don't care what the vet says......I will greatly reduce the med tomorrow or stop it altogether. But she is not due for her dose until 6pm tomorrow.

How fast will the drug leave her body? She went downhill fast when she started it....will she come out of it as fast as it took affect? God I hope so.

I am going to bed. I so hope I find her alive in the morning. I want to put her in my bedroom....but just in case she does wake up to use the box(doubtful)...I want her to be able to find it.

I think I might also call the pharmacy and ask about the drug and if there is anything I should be doing.

Thanks ladies for all your help and support. I really need it. Not so much a great NYE for me at all. I sent all my kids to friend's to have fun so I don't upset them with my depression. :(
 
I know. I was just at the ER today. I'm trying to go by what the vet said....that is just a reaction to the meds and she will come out of it when the body adjusts....or we change the meds. I'm thinking changing/eliminating meds will take place Friday when I am to go back to the vet....unless Calley miraculously does a big improvement tomorrow and starts eating/drinking and I don't need to take her.

I seriously can't afford another ER charge. So the money is weighing heavily on me too. I had to spend the money I had saved to take the girls to the movies today, on the vet bill. So I am disappointing my children and not helping my sweet Calley, at the same time.

Praying for better days ahead.
 
Max has been on amlodipine for about 1 1/2 years I think. He sleeps way too much and I do think his dose might be tootoo high. I intend to ask about lowering. With Calley going blind I do think her BP is high but she needs a lower dose or different med. They should not charge you again at the ER since it is for the same issue.
 
Continued prayers from us. I do wonder for both Calley and Max if amlodipine is the wrong med for them, rather than the dose being too high. It does seem that some people can have this sort of reaction, so I'm sure it's possible for the same thing to happen to our sweet kitties.
 
Kris --

Please don't abruptly stop the amlodipine. If what you and Amy have read indicates that tapering is indicated, there's a reason it should be tapered. There are some BP meds that if you stop them cold turkey can cause a spike in BP.
 
I won't stop it all together tonight. I agree.....not safe. But I will reduce for sure. Calley made it through the night and still just seems to be in a sleeping stooper. I won't say coma....as she is responsive when picked up and will make some noises and stretch a bit...but she barely opens her eyes. Her AM PS was 213....so I gave her half unit insulin like the vet suggested. So between the lantus and amlodipine....she is getting a tad bit of liquid into her. I will go look for some baby foods(another post)....hopefully to get her to eat something.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top