? CAESAR

Jerida and Caesar

Member Since 2016
Been couple years since I last posted. My Caesar is now 16 yrs old. He has been OTJ for 4 yrs. This past week he got very sick, wasn't eating and just laying around. Took him to the Vet. All blood work was good except his sugar. It was 404. They started him back on insulin 1 unit a day. Well it turned out he was constipated, they gave him antibiotic and enema. He was a new cat. He started eating again and acting his normal self, but his sugars are still all over the place. I was hoping he would regulate on his owe. The first day I gave insulin +5 he was 64 and the second day +6 47. it has been a long time so I need a refresher course. I work now so it will be hard to do TR. Also trying to learn to navigate the forum sight again. So where do I begin.:eek:
 
Hi and welcome back. I’m sorry Caesar seems to have fallen out of remission.
Can you tell us what type of insulin you are giving?
Also what type of meter? Human or pet?

I can see the SS but no data yet.
Are you getting a Preshot before the dose?
Dropping to 47 at +5 Indicates it is too much insulin and he has earned a reduction down to 0.75 unit
It is possible he might go back to normal numbers on his own if the high BG was caused by the constipation.

ETA I just realised you are posting in the Lantus forum so I suppose you are using Lantus :rolleyes:

At the top of the page is the start low how slow method which you may be interested in.
 
Last edited:
I'm using a human meter I gave him 0.50 unit at 6:00am amps 392 +3 158 +5 60 fed LC food I'm having trouble with the spreadsheet I can't find where its located on the forum :( Been 4 years since I've done this..so trying to navigate the site and learn things again. I'm off the weekend so going to try and keep a good record of his bgs thank you for responding :bighug:
 
I'm using a human meter I gave him 0.50 unit at 6:00am amps 392 +3 158 +5 60 fed LC food I'm having trouble with the spreadsheet I can't find where its located on the forum :( Been 4 years since I've done this..so trying to navigate the site and learn things again. I'm off the weekend so going to try and keep a good record of his bgs thank you for responding :bighug:
I'm sorry you are back but hopefully it's a short stint :bighug: Here's the link to spreadsheet instructions. And, to get dosing advice from the more experienced folks (not me ;)), they will ask you which dosing method you will follow - I would refresh yourself with them here.
 
I'm using a human meter I gave him 0.50 unit at 6:00am amps 392 +3 158 +5 60 fed LC food I'm having trouble with the spreadsheet I can't find where its located on the forum :( Been 4 years since I've done this..so trying to navigate the site and learn things again. I'm off the weekend so going to try and keep a good record of his bgs thank you for responding :bighug:

Hi, here are the instructions to set-up a spreadsheet - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Is the spreasheet linked in your Signature not one you have set-up now to record his BGs?
 
I just set it up but I don't know how to find it I will try to set it up again... my other question is when and how much do I feed him I know before shots and if he goes low but how often in between how much
 
Hi! Just popped by to say Hello!

Hopefully, Caesar might just need a little help back to remission :D I am a returning member myself (different kitty though).
 
Hello I sure hope we can get him back on track. I'm just thankful the forum is still here and helping kitties. I just got to get back in the groove of things been a while. Trying to set up my spreadsheet.
 
For your food question, aside from the preshot meals, from what I can tell is that every cat is different. Many use auto feeders for regular LC meals and then give extra snacks if needed or a bit of MC or HC to guide the cycle. Some people try to stop feeding after Nadir to get longer duration, while others do not. Is Caesar underweight, on target or.... fluffy :)? You would want to know how much food daily your cat needs and try to spread it out on your desired timing.

Cosmo isn’t a good example because of a special diet to treat Megacolon (not good for diabetes :()
 
He is only 9lbs has lost weight since not eating. Of course now he wants to eat all the time. I feel he needs to eat to gain some weight back so I give him several small meals He was 11lbs I set up my spread sheet I forget how to get to it.:confused:
 
I'm sorry Caesar is back on insulin. I hope it will be a short time. You should be able to go to google.com and click on the 9 dots in the top right corner and choose drive to get to the SS. Without seeing his numbers it is hard to give advice, but I'd say he needs a dose reduction since he hit 47.
 
I did my spread sheet don't have a lot of info yet....I just need to get a time of day that works for me to be able to check his blood sugars I work Mon through fri 8am to 12pm and fri 7am to 11am off weekends so not sure what time to give shot:eek:
 
What time do you get up in the morning? And what time do you have to leave home for work on your work days? Ideally you'd shoot at a time that you could get a +2 before you head out the door, but that might mean a really early morning. Hopefully you don't work too far from home and could be back home around nadir time. Do you have an autofeeder?
 
I don't have an auto feeder :( I get up at 6:45am leave by 7:45am I usually can be home by 12:20pm Been thinking about doing 12:30 am and 12:30pm I'd have to get up in the night but he's worth it.
 
Back
Top