apollonia-artemisia
Active Member
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cadmiums-bg-crosspost-trace-ketones-detected.271265/
Made a new thread as the previous one was getting rather long. Here is where I will be posting his info, so everyone is up to date and kept in the loop with how he's doing. I think I'll just edit this main post to have his readings for multiple days, instead of having them in the replies.
12/02/2022
AMPS: 427, 0.75U, whole can w water added. Dr J approved of this dose change as well
+2: half can, ketones - negative
+3: 325
+5.5: 309
+6.5: 335
PMPS: 474, 0.75U, whole can, ketones - trace, he took a longer nap today from his bad knee acting up so he didnt have as much water, which i think might be why they returned. He has fully regained back the weight he lost before starting his treatment, and is now 11.8 pounds!
+3: 184, we are on hypo watch. making sure he finishes his dinner + half can.
+4: 163
+5: 212
12/03/2022
AMPS: 407, 0.75U, whole can
+2: half can
+2.5: ketones - negative
+3.5: 233, encouraged him to eat by hand feeding and he finished his food!
+5: 237
snack at approximately +8
+10: 488, I suspect a bounce
PMPS: 474, 0.75U, whole can
+1: 339, we got a diver again. I'm trying to figure out the best way to preserve the rest of his 15% can after I give him a spoonful
approx +2: gave spoonful of 15% food, followed by half can of normal low carb food as snack
+3: 280
+4: 241
12/04/2022
AMPS: 480
, 0.75U, whole can
+1.5: 401
(play session)
+2: 405, half can
+3: 266, helped him finish his can
+4: 250, gave snack
[out of the house working at event, roommate was checking on him]
+9: 483, my guess was due to roommate being unable to check glucose he didn't know that Cadmium got pretty low OR the snacks I gave him before leaving didn't slow his dive enough, and he bounced.
PMPS: 437, 0.75U, whole can. reviewing insulin handling guides in case it is user error on my part
(play session)
+1: 443
+2: half can
+3: 370
+6: 365
12/05/2022
AMPS: 480, 0.75U, whole can
+2: half can
+3: 388
(play session, trying to have him finish his food)
+5: 358
+6: 382
PMPS: 397, 0.75U, whole can, constipation. Was able to assist by stimulation (thanks Kitten Lady!) Going to need to get some pumpkin puree and laxatives for him.
+2: 382, I am out of bonito flakes for his treats so testing is stressing him out.
+3: ketones- negative! half can given a bit late as I was wanting to see if we needed it or not and he was still finishing his full can earlier.
12/06/2022
AMPS: 467, 0.75 U, whole can
Last night he was also showing signs of his ear infection returning, he is prone to having yeast infections of his ears. Has been for years, usually flares when he eats something grain based! Thats why he was on a grain free diet before his diagnosis. Started his antibiotic ointment regimen last night, applying it x2 a day for 7-10 days.
+3.5: 287, even with multiple attempts!
+7: 460, ketones- negative
+8.5: HI. Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic toothpaste (poultry flavor) has dextrose in it. I do NOT recommend this for diabetic cats. Discovered this after the fact.
PMPS: 426, 0.75U, whole can
I have never been happier to see a number in the 400s.
+1: ketones- negative!
+2: half can
+3: 251!!
+4.5: 241!!
12/07/2022
AMPS: 438, 0.75U, whole can
+3: half can
+4: 230
+6: 381
PMPS: 429, 0.75U, whole can, ketones- negative
+1.5: 295
+2: half can
+3: 166, ketones- negative, zoomies! He got a snack of a couple of pre cooked frozen shrimp that I thawed under running water, enjoyed them a lot.
+6: 306
12/08/2022
AMPS: 494 (I did break a bowl shortly before AMPS so might be influenced by stress), 0.75F to test if he needs his dose adjusted, whole can
VOMITED 15 MINUTES AFTER DOSE, still has appetite, advice appreciate- he has eaten a couple of shrimp as a snack
+1: gave new can, been getting him to eat it by slowly handfeeding him
+4: 241, partner is out to get supplies to help w constipation
+6: 367, ketones- negative. we now have supplies to assist with constipation, gave miralax as one of my vets instructed at beginning of dx as he seemed to be in pain.
+8.5: 435
+10: 393
PMPS: 390, 0.75U, whole can, ketones- negative. Was able to have a bowel movement without much straining too!!
+1: 385, even with him finishing most of his dinner and me needing to take multiple attempts to get enough of a sample
+2: 370
+3: 245, half can
+4: 225
+6: 321
12/09/2022
AMPS: 439, 1U, ketones- negative, whole can. I decided to bump up the dose after all, because I believe he is starting to show signs of neuropathy and to follow the regimen of SLGS. Vet approved of increase. Received dose 30 minutes late as I overslept this morning.
+2: 305, half can
+3: dasuquin
+4.5: 219, encouraged him to keep eating his half can.
+6: 251
+8: 381, partner attempted to test his glucose multiple times and was unable to get a reading. I attempted a few times myself and was able to get one.
+10: 400
PMPS: 417, 1U, whole can
+2.5: 262, making sure he finishes his dinner
+3: 221, preparing his half can now. If he continues a rapid drop like this from topical steroid use being discounted, I might apply his ear ointment so he won't have a hypo while I'm asleep and unable to help.
+4: 173
+5: 161
+6: 220
12/10/2022
AMPS: 421, 1U, whole can
+3: half can, 286
+5: 250
PMPS: 405, 1U, whole can, ketones- negative
[Due to really needing some rest to finish recovering from being sick, my partner will be doing tests for Cadmium's nadir and giving him his half can. This post won't be updated until later, as I will be asleep!]
+4.5: 183
+6: 193
12/11/2022
AMPS: 416, 1U, whole can
Did not give half can for AM cycle as he hasn't been finishing those, still has good appetite and eats other portions fine. Cutting back on testing (unless needed for ruling out/monitoring hypos) until I can perform a curve in two weeks post steroid exposure.
+6: 257
PMPS: 405, 1U, whole can
+2: half can
+3: 205
+5: 198
12/12/2022
AMPS: 510, 1U, whole can. ketones- negative
+6: 229
PMPS: 468, 1F unit, whole can. Gave slightly bumped unit to try and break the 400s pattern, but he is still having a curve to his values so hopefully it will not set off any bounces.
+1: 442
+2: 339
+3: half can
+4: 195
12/13/2022
AMPS: 393, 1U, whole can
+7.5: 328
Play session, has started jumping vertically to try and reach his toy!! He hasn't done that in years! Activity level vastly improved.
PMPS: 483 (avg of 3 readings), 1F unit, whole can. Gave fattened dose as it seemed to really help him last night, he had a lot of energy to burn.
+2: 300
+3: half can
+4.5: 162
+5.5: 155
After tonights readings I will be starting a new thread, as this one is getting rather long.
Link to new thread
Made a new thread as the previous one was getting rather long. Here is where I will be posting his info, so everyone is up to date and kept in the loop with how he's doing. I think I'll just edit this main post to have his readings for multiple days, instead of having them in the replies.
12/02/2022
AMPS: 427, 0.75U, whole can w water added. Dr J approved of this dose change as well
+2: half can, ketones - negative
+3: 325
+5.5: 309
+6.5: 335
PMPS: 474, 0.75U, whole can, ketones - trace, he took a longer nap today from his bad knee acting up so he didnt have as much water, which i think might be why they returned. He has fully regained back the weight he lost before starting his treatment, and is now 11.8 pounds!
+3: 184, we are on hypo watch. making sure he finishes his dinner + half can.
+4: 163
+5: 212
12/03/2022
AMPS: 407, 0.75U, whole can
+2: half can
+2.5: ketones - negative
+3.5: 233, encouraged him to eat by hand feeding and he finished his food!
+5: 237
snack at approximately +8
+10: 488, I suspect a bounce
PMPS: 474, 0.75U, whole can
+1: 339, we got a diver again. I'm trying to figure out the best way to preserve the rest of his 15% can after I give him a spoonful
approx +2: gave spoonful of 15% food, followed by half can of normal low carb food as snack
+3: 280
+4: 241
12/04/2022
AMPS: 480

+1.5: 401
(play session)
+2: 405, half can
+3: 266, helped him finish his can
+4: 250, gave snack
[out of the house working at event, roommate was checking on him]
+9: 483, my guess was due to roommate being unable to check glucose he didn't know that Cadmium got pretty low OR the snacks I gave him before leaving didn't slow his dive enough, and he bounced.
PMPS: 437, 0.75U, whole can. reviewing insulin handling guides in case it is user error on my part
(play session)
+1: 443
+2: half can
+3: 370
+6: 365
12/05/2022
AMPS: 480, 0.75U, whole can
+2: half can
+3: 388
(play session, trying to have him finish his food)
+5: 358
+6: 382
PMPS: 397, 0.75U, whole can, constipation. Was able to assist by stimulation (thanks Kitten Lady!) Going to need to get some pumpkin puree and laxatives for him.
+2: 382, I am out of bonito flakes for his treats so testing is stressing him out.
+3: ketones- negative! half can given a bit late as I was wanting to see if we needed it or not and he was still finishing his full can earlier.
12/06/2022
AMPS: 467, 0.75 U, whole can
Last night he was also showing signs of his ear infection returning, he is prone to having yeast infections of his ears. Has been for years, usually flares when he eats something grain based! Thats why he was on a grain free diet before his diagnosis. Started his antibiotic ointment regimen last night, applying it x2 a day for 7-10 days.
+3.5: 287, even with multiple attempts!
+7: 460, ketones- negative
+8.5: HI. Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic toothpaste (poultry flavor) has dextrose in it. I do NOT recommend this for diabetic cats. Discovered this after the fact.
PMPS: 426, 0.75U, whole can
I have never been happier to see a number in the 400s.
+1: ketones- negative!
+2: half can
+3: 251!!
+4.5: 241!!
12/07/2022
AMPS: 438, 0.75U, whole can
+3: half can
+4: 230
+6: 381
PMPS: 429, 0.75U, whole can, ketones- negative
+1.5: 295
+2: half can
+3: 166, ketones- negative, zoomies! He got a snack of a couple of pre cooked frozen shrimp that I thawed under running water, enjoyed them a lot.
+6: 306
12/08/2022
AMPS: 494 (I did break a bowl shortly before AMPS so might be influenced by stress), 0.75F to test if he needs his dose adjusted, whole can
VOMITED 15 MINUTES AFTER DOSE, still has appetite, advice appreciate- he has eaten a couple of shrimp as a snack
+1: gave new can, been getting him to eat it by slowly handfeeding him
+4: 241, partner is out to get supplies to help w constipation
+6: 367, ketones- negative. we now have supplies to assist with constipation, gave miralax as one of my vets instructed at beginning of dx as he seemed to be in pain.
+8.5: 435
+10: 393
PMPS: 390, 0.75U, whole can, ketones- negative. Was able to have a bowel movement without much straining too!!
+1: 385, even with him finishing most of his dinner and me needing to take multiple attempts to get enough of a sample
+2: 370
+3: 245, half can
+4: 225
+6: 321
12/09/2022
AMPS: 439, 1U, ketones- negative, whole can. I decided to bump up the dose after all, because I believe he is starting to show signs of neuropathy and to follow the regimen of SLGS. Vet approved of increase. Received dose 30 minutes late as I overslept this morning.
+2: 305, half can
+3: dasuquin
+4.5: 219, encouraged him to keep eating his half can.
+6: 251
+8: 381, partner attempted to test his glucose multiple times and was unable to get a reading. I attempted a few times myself and was able to get one.
+10: 400
PMPS: 417, 1U, whole can
+2.5: 262, making sure he finishes his dinner
+3: 221, preparing his half can now. If he continues a rapid drop like this from topical steroid use being discounted, I might apply his ear ointment so he won't have a hypo while I'm asleep and unable to help.
+4: 173
+5: 161
+6: 220
12/10/2022
AMPS: 421, 1U, whole can
+3: half can, 286
+5: 250
PMPS: 405, 1U, whole can, ketones- negative
[Due to really needing some rest to finish recovering from being sick, my partner will be doing tests for Cadmium's nadir and giving him his half can. This post won't be updated until later, as I will be asleep!]
+4.5: 183
+6: 193
12/11/2022
AMPS: 416, 1U, whole can
Did not give half can for AM cycle as he hasn't been finishing those, still has good appetite and eats other portions fine. Cutting back on testing (unless needed for ruling out/monitoring hypos) until I can perform a curve in two weeks post steroid exposure.
+6: 257
PMPS: 405, 1U, whole can
+2: half can
+3: 205
+5: 198
12/12/2022
AMPS: 510, 1U, whole can. ketones- negative
+6: 229
PMPS: 468, 1F unit, whole can. Gave slightly bumped unit to try and break the 400s pattern, but he is still having a curve to his values so hopefully it will not set off any bounces.
+1: 442
+2: 339
+3: half can
+4: 195
12/13/2022
AMPS: 393, 1U, whole can
+7.5: 328
Play session, has started jumping vertically to try and reach his toy!! He hasn't done that in years! Activity level vastly improved.
PMPS: 483 (avg of 3 readings), 1F unit, whole can. Gave fattened dose as it seemed to really help him last night, he had a lot of energy to burn.
+2: 300
+3: half can
+4.5: 162
+5.5: 155
After tonights readings I will be starting a new thread, as this one is getting rather long.
Link to new thread
Last edited: