Cadmium fell to 43 for +3 reading, even after treats

Status
Not open for further replies.

apollonia-artemisia

Member Since 2022
He is still conscious but very groggy. When I pick him up he goes a bit limp. This morning his preshot was 116, and I drew up 0.25, but it was a fur shot. He came up to 52 when I showed him he had half of his breakfast still and was very hungry. He had treats before this reading happened, too. I have gravy food and high calories nutrition gel at the ready.

I have also called his vet. Waiting on a call back. He still reacts to his surroundings, and only has subtle changes in how he acts. He also might have some fungus growing on his claws, and his glands were impacted for a few days but seem to be doing better.

What do I do, aside from wait from a call back w the vet??
 
Are you really sure you gave a fur shot this AM? Please remember to reduce the dose this evening.

I would give your kitty some LC food. Ideally, he'll keep surfing along for a while in green numbers. Some PM tests would be helpful, as well.
 
Are you really sure you gave a fur shot this AM? Please remember to reduce the dose this evening.

I would give your kitty some LC food. Ideally, he'll keep surfing along for a while in green numbers. Some PM tests would be helpful, as well.
He got the second half of his LC breakfast after i saw that reading, he also got some dried chicken and a tube of churu.

The fur was crunchy and still smelled like fresh insulin, and I thought that evaporates rather quickly doesn't it? I only drew up to 0.25
 
Talked w vet, she was saying to monitor how he's doing and if his preshot returns to acting like it was, maybe a teeny dose. If it seems to be going low, I can skip that dose and see how he responds.
 
I don't know that I would have skipped the shot. If you're concerned that the pre-shot is too low, you have a couple of other options. You can stall -- don't feed Cadmium and wait 20 - 30 min and re-test. If numbers are heading up, it's often fine to shoot. You can also stall a bit longer and reevaluate. You can also shoot a smaller dose.
 
I don't know that I would have skipped the shot. If you're concerned that the pre-shot is too low, you have a couple of other options. You can stall -- don't feed Cadmium and wait 20 - 30 min and re-test. If numbers are heading up, it's often fine to shoot. You can also stall a bit longer and reevaluate. You can also shoot a smaller dose.
The dose he had yesterday was only 1/4 of a unit though, and my vet suggested it for the night to see how he responds just to be sure!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top