? C.C. should I shoot???? help

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetNJ

Member Since 2016
CC is due for her morning insulin at 8 am.

Her preshot readings are always in the 300's... to my surpise this morning it said 180. Usually she gets 3 u...

do you think I should do a reduced shot?
she's eating now... should I test again after she eats?
wait an hour and see what her numbers are?
 
Hi Janet, beautiful blue this AM! Usually when we get a low PS, we stall, don't feed and recheck in 20 min to see if they are rising without the influence of food. Did you shoot?
 
didn't shoot yet. she did eat some low carb food.... ok let me check again....
 
Last edited:
I called the vet for her advice, but she's not in until after 9am.... for now we are just holding off until we get some word one way or another. I'm so very excited to have this problem. :))) so nice to see a blue number finally! I was hoping for a blue post shot, even more exciting to see it PRE shot.

Her numbers really shot up after eating... she's clearly very carb sensitive. wow. I feel guilty about all the handfuls of Temptations I've given her over the years. I had no idea.

**know better, do better**
 
Yes, exciting to see your first blue! Since we don't know how low she went last night, you may want to reduce the dose a bit. She may also bounce into higher numbers since she's not used to seeing blues, so don't let that worry you. I have to go, will tag @Alexi as she's familiar with Vetsulin.
 
Yes, exciting to see your first blue! Since we don't know how low she went last night, you may want to reduce the dose a bit. She may also bounce into higher numbers since she's not used to seeing blues, so don't let that worry you. I have to go, will tag @Alexi as she's familiar with Vetsulin.
thanks! I was thinking of maybe doing 1 unit? (she usually gets 3)
 
Good call on the stall and reduced shot only when you knew she could handle it. She is in steady numbers and don't be surprised if she is a bit higher this evening but I would suggest lowering her dose this evening, can you post your PMPS number. I am in a different time zone and been at work all day hence the delay and may not be around for your PMPS, if she holds steady or only slightly up on her usual numbers maybe try a reduction to 2.5 units. Has anything changed that may have accounted for the low number this morning?
 
What did your vet advise?
I didn't talk to her until later in the day, but she agreed with what I did... I delayed a few hours until I thought it was safe and then shot a reduced amount. She said I probably at that point could have done the full dose but it was ok to do the lower amount to be safe. :) I'm going to pick up a fresh vile of it tonight.
 
Good call on the stall and reduced shot only when you knew she could handle it. She is in steady numbers and don't be surprised if she is a bit higher this evening but I would suggest lowering her dose this evening, can you post your PMPS number. I am in a different time zone and been at work all day hence the delay and may not be around for your PMPS, if she holds steady or only slightly up on her usual numbers maybe try a reduction to 2.5 units. Has anything changed that may have accounted for the low number this morning?
The PMPS number won't be for another 4 1/2 hours, but i'll definitly post it. I can't think of any reason for the suddenly lower number this morning. It was nice to see after all that red and purple though. haha
 
ok - but bear in mind that the PMPS will be at +10 so she may still have some insulin on board by that point, can you make sure you check a pre-bed reading and I'll have a look when I get up. I will be at 1 am on your PMPS so not around but post the numbers anyway as some experienced members should be around if you get an odd number and need some help.
 
ok - but bear in mind that the PMPS will be at +10 so she may still have some insulin on board by that point, can you make sure you check a pre-bed reading and I'll have a look when I get up. I will be at 1 am on your PMPS so not around but post the numbers anyway as some experienced members should be around if you get an odd number and need some help.
I will be up around 1AM Pacific time (I live on West Cost). I have to check Callie's BG. I will check the board at that time.
 
The PMPS number won't be for another 4 1/2 hours, but i'll definitly post it. I can't think of any reason for the suddenly lower number this morning. It was nice to see after all that red and purple though. haha
I see you gave the 3 units rather than 2.5, will be interested to see what she does in the morning, she may need to come down.
 
I see you gave the 3 units rather than 2.5, will be interested to see what she does in the morning, she may need to come down.
I would check her blood at +4&+5to see how low she gets. I would keep checking until the numbers start to go up. I have found it helps to set the alarm on my cellphone so I don't sleep through important times at night.
 
I would check her blood at +4&+5to see how low she gets. I would keep checking until the numbers start to go up. I have found it helps to set the alarm on my cellphone so I don't sleep through important times at night.
I'm sorry I didn't see this post last night. She's 287 this morning. Which is what I would expect. That 180 was an anomaly. I can test throughout the day most of today.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top