GA Buzzy is gone.

toomanycats

Member Since 2020
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-83-pmps-81-0-5u-2-63-carbing-tonight.228553/

:D:coffee:

The smiley is smiling, but I am exhausted. Up every hour. Where's the coffee?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Editing to post the same thing here as I did in comments:


The vet found a large mass on Buzzy's liver extending into his stomach. I ultimately decided to say goodbye tonight.
I have no idea if I made the right choice. In some ways, I feel like I rushed it... he was still so alert... he ate a few kibble today, he played a little...yesterday, he was totally normal...maybe I rushed into this.
But, he was also clearly in pain and had been for some time. I hadn't put two and two together - but he'd been running from me at night not bc he didn't want to go down in the basement, but bc it hurt when I picked him up to put him there.
There was no treatment for this, and he would only have been in progressively more pain.

He crawled onto my lap at the vet's when I sat on the floor with him, and I sincerely hope that was him telling me it was OK to say goodbye.
Explaining this to my almost-4-year-old is possibly the hardest part.
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear you had a rough night! Do you have any freeze dried treats? Salmon or chicken? Crush some and sprinkle over the food..

Hope you'll have a better night tonight!
 
Sorry to hear you had a rough night! Do you have any freeze dried treats? Salmon or chicken? Crush some and sprinkle over the food..

Hope you'll have a better night tonight!

I have chicken, which he's allergic to & also won't eat anyways, so...
It's ok - I finally got him to eat. Mostly it involves a lot of me lying on the floor next to him and mixing up the food with my fingers repeatedly -.-
 
Hm. He's turning his nose up at food at +4. His number is fine, but he's being weird. Whatever. I'm just picking it up for now.
Wonder if the Karo in it last night "spoiled" him and now he doesn't like it or something today. Whatever. Cats.
He ate a big breakfast ,so hes' not starving
 
Buzzy isn't eating. This isn't like him. And his blood sugar being in the 100s at just +6.5 is odd too.
He lay there and let me test him without flinching. When I offered food, he started licking his mouth & got up and left.
IDK what to think or do.
I was able to get him to eat a good amount this morning, but this is NOT like him at all - I even offered him a couple Dr. Elsey's kibble, and he won't eat that.
 
I'm guessing pancreatitis would be the thing people might suggest...but idk what to do
 
Hang in there. I am by far no expert, but his #s are great (even the low 100s) if he's not throwing up and being totally lethargic, I wouldn't jump to conclusions. I've read where kitty's appetites change and they are not so hungry when their #s stay in the "normal" range.

Many hugs & kudos to you for managing all you have on your plate. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm realizing...he also has been growling when I pick him up...and I'm wondering if it's bc his stomach hurts
 
Lip licking and not eating is a sign of nausea. You could be right on your guess of pancreatitis. Has he had it before?

Not diagnosed, no. He's never been diagnosed with anything related to any of these symptoms in the past (except the diabetes when he was losing weight rapidly, etc.).

Edit to add: he's had intermittent vomiting in the past, but never to a point where we really looked into it. He is not vomiting now, for what that's worth.

Picky appetite has been a thing since the diabetes diagnosis for sure, but this seems worse than normal - though, to be fair, he HAS eaten today...so it's not like zero food.

Do I give insulin tonight if he still won't eat?? ugh
 
hmm...well I just offered a couple pieces of dr elsey's kibble, and he ate those right away. (And is perking up his ears -- although not actually getting up/moving -- at just the sound of the bag)
So maybe I'm just overreacting...
He shouldn't be eating those, of course - not only bc kibble but bc he's allergic to the stupid chicken, but...it's my best test -- if this cat turns his nose up at kibble, he's very sick

Edit: to be clear, he CAN move...he was in my bed most of the morning but then came downstairs and went down to the basement. And he was playing w/ the string I waved around a bit ago.

Edit again: it's just he hasn't eaten anything but those couple pieces of kibble since this morning, which is NOT normal...and now would typically be a "begging for food" time
 
Last edited:
It’s always good to give at least half a dose. Cats who cannot eat because they are getting anesthesia get a half dose. Insulin does more than combat the carbs from food. Often if they aren’t feeling well, numbers go up too, which gives you a little wiggle room. When Neko wasn’t feeling like eating, I think I only reduced her dose once, and that’s because I knew she was angling for a reducie.
 
He's at the vet.
I know something is wrong. I'm not going to be able to afford to do much...and I don't know - like I said, he ate a couple kibbles, he ate this AM, he played a little...maybe I'm overreacting, but I do also know my cat. Something is wrong.
Will update when they call me (I had to drop him off; they aren't allowing people inside).

Edit: he'll be there during insulin time, so he'll either miss this dose or have it late & I'll have to adjust.
 
Update: Getting an abdominal ultrasound. No bloodwork right now since his bloodwork in Jan/Feb looked really good. I opted to go ultrasound instead of x-ray bc I'm afraid an x-ray would miss something & we'd just end up needing an ultrasound anyways. So they are doing that now.

Vet also wants me to try him on 0.25u at this point, and I'm amenable to giving that a try - though open to any feedback from anyone else. Can always increase back if needed, right?
 
Thank you @Briere Fur Mom

I've updated my title, but yeah...

The vet found a large mass on Buzzy's liver extending into his stomach. I ultimately decided to say goodbye tonight.
I have no idea if I made the right choice. In some ways, I feel like I rushed it... he was still so alert... he ate a few kibble today, he played a little...yesterday, he was totally normal...maybe I rushed into this.
But, he was also clearly in pain and had been for some time. I hadn't put two and two together - but he'd been running from me at night not bc he didn't want to go down in the basement, but bc it hurt when I picked him up to put him there.
There was no treatment for this, and he would only have been in progressively more pain.

He crawled onto my lap at the vet's when I sat on the floor with him, and I sincerely hope that was him telling me it was OK to say goodbye.
Explaining this to my almost-4-year-old is possibly the hardest part.
 
Thank you @Briere Fur Mom

I've updated my title, but yeah...

The vet found a large mass on Buzzy's liver extending into his stomach. I ultimately decided to say goodbye tonight.
I have no idea if I made the right choice. In some ways, I feel like I rushed it... he was still so alert... he ate a few kibble today, he played a little...yesterday, he was totally normal...maybe I rushed into this.
But, he was also clearly in pain and had been for some time. I hadn't put two and two together - but he'd been running from me at night not bc he didn't want to go down in the basement, but bc it hurt when I picked him up to put him there.
There was no treatment for this, and he would only have been in progressively more pain.

He crawled onto my lap at the vet's when I sat on the floor with him, and I sincerely hope that was him telling me it was OK to say goodbye.
Explaining this to my almost-4-year-old is possibly the hardest part.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
There's always doubt when forced to make a tough decision such as this. You did the right thing Lisa. As tough as it is to see now, you will reflect and know you made the right decision for Buzzy. He couldn't tell you. He showed you the only way he knew how. You, being the wonderfully devoted CG understood. You gave him a precious life and a very peaceful ending. I can not imagine your pain sweetie. It will pass in time.
You have beautiful memories that will always be with you and your family. Buzzy has permanently marked your heart. He will always be there.:bighug:
Prayers for you and your family in this very solemn time.
 
I just read your post on FB...I'm so very very sorry to read this...just heartbreaking. I've been there too...and you did the right thing for that poor boy. I would not have wanted to see him in pain either. His behavior was definitely telling you that he wasn't himself. You did everything you could...my heart aches for you this evening...I'm sending hugs and to let you know to take comfort in the fact that he's no longer in pain and is chasing those butterflies in the meadows now. Rest easy dear Buzzy...fly free sweet baby. cat_wings>ocat_wings>o
 
Thanks, all. I'm beyond a wreck tonight. And Luna is acting differently (not unexpected)...and my daughter is very confused...and it's all too much
Buzzy's been with me my entire adult life. It's just a lot.
 
I am so sorry for your loss Lisa.

Fly free sweet Buzzy :rb_icon:
29424.jpg
:rb_icon:
 

Attachments

  • 29424.jpg
    29424.jpg
    2.9 KB · Views: 205
I'm so sorry. You did the most loving thing you could do in making sure he didn't suffer. Fly free sweet Buzzy. Sending prayers for you and your family. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry for your loss...I am learning these little guys hide their pain really well...
He’s happy and free now in the biggest most mouse filled basement there is on the other side of the bridge. He loved you so much and wanted you to know he was ready!
cat_wings>o:rb_icon:
 
Dear Lisa,
You gave Buzzy a wonderful life and a farewell gift of love. Fly free, dear Buzzy, on your beautiful new golden wings. You are much loved. cat_wings>o

Sending deepest sympathy,

Ella & Edward, Rusty (GA) and Stu (GA)
 
I am so sorry to read of your loss. My Thomas died from a growth on his liver just a year ago and at the same age as Buzzy.

This type of illness creeps in slowly, with no outward signs until it has reached a progressed stage. You could not have foreseen this, especially while focused on managing his diabetes, and you absolutely made the right choice to let Buzzy go when you did.

My heart goes out to you at this very hard time.
 
Last edited:
I did not know Buzzy before today, but do know the sorrow you are feeling now. You gave your beloved companion the gift of a gentle goodbye and he felt the love there in your lap... may these words comfort you as you go on without him by your side, but always in your heart.
 

Attachments

  • 8CCFD596-362C-43A8-B375-29CB684FA217.jpeg
    8CCFD596-362C-43A8-B375-29CB684FA217.jpeg
    111.2 KB · Views: 171
Last edited:
I am so deeply sorry for your loss. It is never easy. It sounds like you gave him your best throughout his life though and that he lived a good one by being with you. Letting go is part of that love.
 
I am so so sorry for you loss of Buzzy. I know how hard that decision is but you did the right thing for Buzzy, he’s not longer in pain and he can rest peacefully now. I’m thinking of youcat_wings>o
 
Deepest sympathy for your loss. Buzzy was so fortunate to have you to make sure he was given peace in the face of such a painful illness. No more suffering for your sweet Buzzy :rb_icon:cat_wings>o
 
Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.
All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.
You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.
Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together....
 
I'm so sorry to hear of losing Buzzy. Those darn little furballs weasel their way into our hearts and then when we have to say good bye it is devastating. It was the last kind thing you could do for him. :bighug:
 
Back
Top