Butters & Lyla
Member Since 2020
Hi,
Thank you for all of your help already. Please know that I am trying so hard to test Butters' BG as much as I can but mostly her ears still do not want to give up blood.
When I was home today, I jabbed her ears almost every hour. I only got enough for an AMPS, which was 191. Given the slightly low number, I went ahead and shot a slightly lower dose of 1.25U Caninsulin.
I finally got enough blood for another test at +7, and BG was 97. Low, but not hypo low, right? However, about 30 minutes later, Butters started acting weird. She was making a really weird calling out sound that I hadn't heard before, and vomited a little bit of liquid twice. She was wandering around in a strange way. My first thought was, is this a possible hypo episode?
I panicked a bit and rather than try to test her again, I just immediately fed her about 1.5 tsp honey, 1 tbsp high carb wet and 3 grams high carb dry. I tested her shortly after at +8 and she was 106. Then I managed to do another BG at +8.25 and she was and she was at 139, so on the upswing.
Do you think I jumped the gun here? Or did I do the right thing. Also is there anything else I need to be doing?
Thank you.
Thank you for all of your help already. Please know that I am trying so hard to test Butters' BG as much as I can but mostly her ears still do not want to give up blood.
When I was home today, I jabbed her ears almost every hour. I only got enough for an AMPS, which was 191. Given the slightly low number, I went ahead and shot a slightly lower dose of 1.25U Caninsulin.
I finally got enough blood for another test at +7, and BG was 97. Low, but not hypo low, right? However, about 30 minutes later, Butters started acting weird. She was making a really weird calling out sound that I hadn't heard before, and vomited a little bit of liquid twice. She was wandering around in a strange way. My first thought was, is this a possible hypo episode?
I panicked a bit and rather than try to test her again, I just immediately fed her about 1.5 tsp honey, 1 tbsp high carb wet and 3 grams high carb dry. I tested her shortly after at +8 and she was 106. Then I managed to do another BG at +8.25 and she was and she was at 139, so on the upswing.
Do you think I jumped the gun here? Or did I do the right thing. Also is there anything else I need to be doing?
Thank you.