But Carl....*@)$&%^

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
The more I raise the higher he goes...
his amps was 468!!!!!!!!
I think I am going to drop this morning and see what happens
I really dont know what to do with this mess!
 
Morning Denise.
Just what you needed on top of the high AMPS..fur shot. Not happy to read about Shakes BG this morning, or levels since the FSL debacle. Just offering some support that this too shall pass. Frustrating but going to be ultimately rewarding when those levels start dropping.
 
~O) Morning breakfast club :-D

I’m frustrated too Denise, but we have had some action around 3.8. I was just ready to raise Asher to 4 last night and then he had a very low 200s pmps and a run in the blues overnight, dipping down into green. I haven’t had much sleep since I was nervous and up testing since he dropped so quickly around +3...but when I have a chance today, I’ll update the spreadsheet. I am anxious to get back to where we thought we were, but maybe we have to be more patient and let a dose settle in? What IS frustrating is after such a great night, today we had an amps of 350 :cry:

The other interesting thing is I tested all 3 meters last night when Asher went low. The FS was not even 30 points under the AT when Asher was around the 80s. The Relion was in the middle of the two.

Also I have my vet appointment on Thurs late afternoon, so I’ll post what I find there. We are going to test all three meters against the vet’s benchtop testing machine and they are going to run the fruc test too.

I’ll post more detail later once I can get back to the computer. Have to go help Mom today.

Good luck, we will get there! cat(2)_steam
 
Poopy and I are just popping on to let you know our fingers and paws are crossed for you and Shakes,

(And, Shakes? Quit stepping on momma beans dancing shoes! Get with the rythym, dear. :-D )
 
I forget, is Shakes a Hoover kitty and only eats before shots, or do you free feed? Snacks mid day? Just wondering if a tweak in his eating may change things for the better for you guys.
 
Sorry, I was late for breakfast this morning! I slept in for the first time in a long time....
For the next ten days or so, I will be switching clubs. I will be working noon till 8PM or not working at all, so I will be hanging out with the "Night Owl Club"!

So, Denise, I wake up, have some coffee, log on, and the first thing I see is "But Carl....*@)$%^", and all I can think is "damn, what did I do this time?????" :lol:

Last night was 3.8 if I remember correctly? And a fur shot this morning, crap. Help me recap.....when you noticed that the meter was giving you bogus numbers, it was off by about 100 points? (Assuming my memory is not completely shot to hell)
So look back at a couple weeks ago when you were getting all those nice yellows when shooting in the 3.4 - 3.6 range. And ignore the numbers on the SS, and think of them as 100 points higher. All those yellows would be pinks, right?

So, if those numbers had been pinks, what would you have done with the doses? You would have been getting pink preshots and any of those yellows in the mid-cycle would have been pink too. A couple of those PMPS numbers would probably have been reds. You would have raised the dose, wouldn't you? As long as you weren't seeing inverse curves or abnormal long durations, the logic would have been "raise the dose"?

The way I see it, and I'm just thinking out loud here, is you can do one of two things....
Either think "hey all these numbers have just been one long continuous and chronic rebound, so I need to drop the dose way down" or
"All this time Shakes has been higher than I thought, so I need to kick the dose up some"

I would suggest a BAM dose. But in either direction. See if you can get his attention either way.
Either drop it down to 3.0, or go up to 4.0. Stick with that dose for 2 days, get preshots and nadirs, and see what the numbers show you. I think it has to be a dose he isn't used to. Either way, up or down, would be a dose he isn't "used to".

But, either way, absolutely no fur shots! ;-)

One other thing that sticks out to me... Right around Christmas, you had a couple days with greens, (which I don't understand why those days were really good days) but other than those days, it looks like you have been getting about a 50% drop or so on good days. Don't really know what that means, just found it to be the "norm" until recently when he's been looking sort of flatter.
 
What's a BAM dose? Is that an acronym, or is it just what it sounds like: bam!?
(BTW, I can't help but imagine that this is the kind of dose Emeril Lagasse gives to his cat...)
 
Eric,
yes, a BAM dose is just what it sounds like. A dose that is higher (usually) than normal. Sometimes it is used in order to see if elevating a dose would be useful. It is a dose that is still safe, but the intent is to try to force the nadir into the green numbers usually, without going too far down. We always recommend that if you do something like that, it takes place on a day where you can be there the whole time to monitor and test BG, like you would if you were running a full curve (every two hours).

Perhaps that is where Emeril came up with his signature phrase? :lol:
 
Thanks, Carl! That's good to know.

One other question: what is an inverse curve? I think I know what it means, but I want to be sure we're speaking the same language.
 
Sorry Carl, didnt mean to scare you but I wanted to get your attention
I guess it worked :mrgreen: ;-)
so I wish I had read what you posted but I was so worried I came home, took his blood
fed and shot him up then came here...ok so he was 423 tonight,
so he does bring himself down but obviuosly not enough
I went with 3.6 tonight and will see what happens tomorrow morning
I will stick with 3.8 until I know I will be home then I will raise (I think)
and do a bam dose

Everyone thank you so much for your advise and support!
 
Denise, I didn't want to answer you on Lantus cause they would probably think I had lost my mind. This @#&*^%@ dance is not getting any better and to top it off Callie is showing signs of kidney troubles so I have been trying to find something with lower phosporous that they could all eat. I have not found anything else acceptable that everyone else will eat, there's always at least one cat that won't eat the new food! They all liked BG beef but I had gotten the samll cans to try. I went back & got the larger cans but when I opened them they smelled like VOMIT! I had opened 2 cans & they both were that way! It was horrible, now I'm afraid of it. I have a headache! angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat
 
Oh Barbara :sad: so sorry. How bout putting a little catnip on a food they won’t eat? or some chicken broth? Those two tricks got Alby to eat the wet food when Asher was dx’ed and I got rid of all the dry food. Alby was seriously addicted to dry food but he came around in about a week with those two things.

I feel bad we are all having such a lousy time of it lately. We were in the 300’s most of the day today here. Ugh! :sad:
 
Hi BArbara,
I know how you feel,
I am so sorry about Callie, Ihope she is ok...
good luck with the food, I know my DH always gags when he opens a can or even just smells
it, no matter what it is....kinda makes me laugh! :mrgreen:
 
ericbakes said:
Thanks, Carl! That's good to know.

One other question: what is an inverse curve? I think I know what it means, but I want to be sure we're speaking the same language.

Eric,
An inverse curve would be one where instead of a smiley shape, the curve is shaped like a frown. Numbers in the middle are higher than the AMPS and PMPS.
 
donnahc said:
Oh Barbara :sad: so sorry. How bout putting a little catnip on a food they won’t eat? or some chicken broth? Those two tricks got Alby to eat the wet food when Asher was dx’ed and I got rid of all the dry food. Alby was seriously addicted to dry food but he came around in about a week with those two things.

I feel bad we are all having such a lousy time of it lately. We were in the 300’s most of the day today here. Ugh! :sad:

Thanks for the suggestion Donna. I had no idea you could put catnip on food! I have tried Forti Flora & today I found some freeze dried shrimp (made me think of Carl :lol:) while they seemed really interested in that horrible smell only one of them wanted to eat those. :lol: I have some Bonito flakes I'm gonna try also. It's just exhausting....can you tell I'm having a bad night!

I have no idea why Thumper started off so well but now is back to Pro Zinc numbers! Can we all have a pity party! :YMSIGH:
 
Denise,

Hoping that things settle down for Shakes soon! I know you are frustrated. Hang in there! Wish i could offer advice, but i don't know enough about anything yet. Just know i support you and think about you and shakes every day.

Lori
 
Its so maddening when you give a fur shot, especially when they are already high.
Just remember what you tell all of us...remember to breathe!
Tomorrow's another day.
Hoping things will start "shaking out" for Shakes soon and you have good luck.
And remember, hes probably been in the higher numbers than you thought for awhile and hes been feeling really well. jumping on the couch and stuff he couldn't do before, remember that.
Some days the sugar dance is a waltz and some days its a rhumba, Dancin' with the FD kitties! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top