Bunny's numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

AJHJ

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone,

I just took Bunny's PMPS--it was 52 (I tested twice to confirm). He received 0.4u this morning on an AMPS of 280. Yikes. I was at work all day so not able to test during the cycle. When I walked in the door he greeted me, as usual, and was playful and affectionate (also as usual). I just gave him some of his normal LC food which he is eating happily. I'ts been almost 12 hours since his last injection. Should I give him any MC/HC food/gravy? I don't want to push his numbers up too high and don't know if I should be concerned. In general, his numbers have been really good lately and I've been very conservative with dosing. I'd love your thoughts and advice.

Thank you!
Angela
 
I'm sure one of our seasoned folks will reply soon. Good that you verified with a second BG test. My two cents: you obviously got very long duration on a very small dose so Mr. Bunny might be thinking of remission - his pancreas is waking up or at least sputtering.
 
I would continue to monitor and give little amounts of LC food as long as he stays in the 50+ range. If he'd drop, then give him some Higher carb. I agree with Kris that Mr. P is messing with the numbers. The 0.4 has looked fine until today and the cycle was longer than normal, so I think his pancreas is helping out.
 
Thank you, both! I was absolutely shocked when I saw such a low PMPS number. I will continue to monitor and make sure he's eating. I sure do hope it's MrP helping out. We'll see how the cycle progresses, but he hasn't been bouncing from low numbers lately. If I get another mid/hi yellow tomorrow I assume I should reduce to 0.2u. Perhaps 0.2u even if he's higher?
 
I think 0.2 would be a good idea. This is a encouraging but difficult phase. You never know when Mr. P will visit and he can really lower the levels. But when he isn't awake, the numbers can go back up. But it seems that dosing conservatively is wise until you see no evidence of his pancreas over a few cycles.
 
I know ECID but is it common for the pancreas to start working in phases? Meaning, does it tend to work for a little while then shut off again and so on until possibly supporting a remission? Just want to manage my expectations--I don't want to be overly optimistic that remission might be in the near future.
 
It does seem to work off and on: affecting the numbers for a few cycles and then seeming to "go back to sleep." We had some members who said they tried to get Mr. P to come visit by setting up the guest room, but he does seem to have a mind of his own. :D It definitely does not seem to be an On or Off switch - it's more like on for a while and off for awhile.

It is an encouraging sign, but yes, it can take a while. You might look at the remission thread above at the spreadsheets before remission.
 
Thanks, Sue. Very interesting to look at the remission spreadsheets. I am learning so much from this forum! It is really a remarkable place.

He was at 78 at +1. Not bad--especially after eating. I will remain cautiously optimistic yet realistic that this can take awhile.
 
Bunny was at 173 at AMPS. I can't stall and retest because I have an early meeting. I'm worried his levels will spike this afternoon but more afraid they'll drop too low while I'm away. Let's hope MrP helps out today!
 
Steph is in your same position today too. If Mr. P doesn't help out, you can always shoot a little earlier if you get home and he is high. Half an hour/hour is easy to switch back the following cycle, if needed.
 
134 at +11.5... I will test again right at dosing time... very hopeful it's still low blue! He hasn't had insulin on board since yesterday morning... fingers/toes/paws crossed!!
 
191 at AMPS... not sure what I should do... 0.2u? Skip? I won't be home to monitor today. Thoughts?
 
Went with 0.125u--to the extent I could estimate between the 0 and 0.5 lines. I think he at least got a drop or two.
 
That should be okay. Leave out some food if he needs it? You are in the chasing the number route to OTJ (anti jinx). He stays in lower ranges on his own (with the help of Mr. P) and then the pancreas "gets tired" and Bunny needs just a little boost from the insulin.
 
Up to you and if you can monitor. Probably time to establish a No Shoot number. Some people use 180+, some 150+. But always a tiny dose and with monitoring.
 
Thanks, Sue. Went with ~0.1u --basically I think he got a couple drops. I took your earlier advice and looked at several of the remission spreadsheets. Looks like a lot of people gave tiny doses when they were in blue on their way to OTJ. I will monitor closely tonight and set my no shoot number. I am going away for the weekend (leaving before PMPS). I have a trusted vet tech staying at my house and she will monitor him AMPS & PMPS (enter into spreadsheet) and inject, as per my specifications. I told her the No Shoot number was 180 but I think mine will be a bit lower.
 
Thanks, everyone! I'm really excited about his numbers.

Question for you... I need to provide dosing instructions for my cat sitter this weekend. I had prepared the following sliding scale:
<180: Do not dose
180-250: 0.125u
251-350: 0.2u
351-400: 0.4u
>400: 0.6u

Now, I'm thinking those doses might be too high and am thinking about the following:
<180: Do not dose
180-350: 0.125u
>351: 0.2u

What do the experts think?? The cat sitter will be posting in his SS and I can communicate with her about dosing recommendations throughout the weekend, if needed.

Thanks in advance!
Angela
 
I am conservative and always would err on that side. I'd figure you just want him in safe ranges while you are gone; you can get him back on track when you return.

How easy will it be for her to dose that 0.125? I'd worry that she'd get more in the syringe and create problems.

If he were mine (and I know he isn't :D) I think I'd tell her no shot under 200 and then make sure she knows how to dose a tiny amount.
 
Thanks, Sue. The cat sitter is a vet tech and we went over drawing very low levels. I will also try to leave a syringe filled with colored water so she knows what it looks like, just as an extra precaution. She'll only have the potential to inject 3 times, so agree, conservative is best. I will say nothing under 200 and 0.125 for anything over. Really appreciate your advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top