I went to bed early last night so I could take Buddy to a early appointment with his vet. He does have a UTI, he said he saw red cells & white cells. I know the white cells deal with infection but I wonder about the red. If you do not have to spend any more time or do any more work, then I would like to see the 3 articles. If you have to do anything else, I will just use what you have already given me. You have already done way toooooo much!!!!lol ok. I was going to ask if you wanted the rest. I was still analyzing 3 articles![]()
You at a very smart lady. I was so happy that Yong was there and she helped me so much.Sorry I was teaching a class tonight...just got back to a computer. Glad you and Yong got it all sorted!
A friend of mine is all about naturopathic pet care and she suggested the chromium and selenium for Sam too. Lazy me never went and found it, but I also have a book that lists it. Might be worth checking out!
Me tooooooooo!!!!I was also away! Had an open source software meetup...glad Yong was here!
Me tooooooooooooooo!!!!!I've been away from my computer and am just reading now. That's a terrific PS, Teresa! I'm glad Yong was here to help. He should be safe with 2.5 u.![]()
I took Buddy to the vet this a.m. and he has a UTI.Big bounce this AM. It'll pass ...
Hi Teresa,I took Buddy to the vet this a.m. and he has a UTI.
.He gave Buddy a convenia injection. He told me what he was going to do, so I asked him if he thought that was the best antibiotic for what Buddy had. He said he did not want to give him pills because they contain sugar. Buddy is very easy to pill and I have always heard each kind of antibiotic is for a different things. Buddy had a convenia shot today and 5u of insulin.Hi Teresa,
The red cells can be from bladder inflammation caused by the infection. Is Buddy going to be on antibiotics?
The issue with Convenia is that if a kitty doesn't tolerate it well it's in there for several days. Teasel has had pill form antibiotics since he was diagnosed and my vet didn't mention sugar as being a problem. The pills are very small. Yes, there are antibiotics that work better for some infections than others. That's why urine will sometimes be cultured (more costly and urine sample has to be sent out) to see what specific bacteria grow and then a specific antibiotic will be prescribed. Often, though, vets will just give a general antibiotic without that and hope that it does the trick..He gave Buddy a convenia injection. He told me what he was going to do, so I asked him if he thought that was the best antibiotic for what Buddy had. He said he did not want to give him pills because they contain sugar. Buddy is very easy to pill and I have always heard each kind of antibiotic is for a different things. Buddy had a convenia shot today and 5u of insulin.
I know that is true and Buddy will take a pill like it is candy. Buddy has had to take a lot of pills for pancreatitis, he is always more than willing to take a pill.The issue with Convenia is that if a kitty doesn't tolerate it well it's in there for several days. Teasel has had pill form antibiotics since he was diagnosed and my vet didn't mention sugar as being a problem. The pills are very small. Yes, there are antibiotics that work better for some infections than others. That's why urine will sometimes be cultured (more costly and urine sample has to be sent out) to see what specific bacteria grow and then a specific antibiotic will be prescribed. Often, though, vets will just give a general antibiotic without that and hope that it does the trick.
Buddy has taken Covenia before with no problems and I hope he has no problems this time. However, I did not feel this was the best thing for a UTI.Oh I'm so sorry to hear that Buddy isn't feeling well! Convenia isn't really the best antibiotic for a UTI, but it might work...as Kris said, the issue is that it can't get out of the kitty if they don't tolerate it well. Hopefully it will help Buddy!

He had convenia last month for a UTI and here he is with either the same or a new UTI. Covenia injections are alright if you cannot pill your pet, but I can pill Buddy with no problems. If there is a next time I will ask him for an antibiotic in pill form for a UTI.Well if the convenia doesn't work, at least you know you can pill him!![]()
I always use an old pink housecoat of mine and lay it on a table to give Buddy pills, shots or to test him and when ever I put that house coat on the table he will jump up to get on the house coat. If I am pilling 1 of the other cats, Buddy will try to get up on the table also.What a good boy he is!![]()
Maybe it's worth paying for a urine culture to be done to make sure the right antibiotic is being given and you can ask for it in pill form.He had convenia last month for a UTI and here he is with either the same or a new UTI. Covenia injections are alright if you cannot pill your pet, but I can pill Buddy with no problems. If there is a next time I will ask him for an antibiotic in pill form for a UTI.

That is a good idea.Maybe it's worth paying for a urine culture to be done to make sure the right antibiotic is being given and you can ask for it in pill form.
Of all the cats that I've ever called mine, Buddy is the best when it comes to taking meds. He started out taking meds for pancreatitis and he always wanted to take his meds. I have always felt that he knew taking his meds made him feel betterI'm so sorry to hear that Buddy isn't feeling well. I think you have a good plan to ask for pills if this happens again. Hopefully this time will clear it for him and you won't have to worry about it! I wish my kitties were that easy to pill!
Thank you.Healing vines for Buddy!![]()
![]()
Djamila was right, I should have given 5u. In a moment of being unsure, I gave him 4.4.Sorry I was not able to be on earlier, again >_<. Glad Djamila was here. You had given 4.2U and 4.6U on similar PM numbers so I agree with Djamila that 5.0U probably would've been ok with your usual monitoring. Buddy isn't heavily impacted by 0.2U differences.![]()
Every day is a new day, Teresa. How is he feeling withe the antibiotic?Djamila was right, I should have given 5u. In a moment of being unsure, I gave him 4.4.
I did raise Buddy's dose this morning. I should have given the 5u on Saturday PMPS, but instead I gave him 4.4.Looks fine, Teresa. You probably could have given 5 u. I know you know this: as the antibiotic takes effect his numbers might come down a bit.
I saw that.I did raise Buddy's dose this morning. I should have given the 5u on Saturday PMPS, but instead I gave him 4.4.
Djamila was right, I should have given 5u. In a moment of being unsure, I gave him 4.4.
On Saturday his stools were loose, loose enough that it was all over his hair in the back and got on a lot of different things. His loose stools have stopped and he seems to be feeling better. Knock on wood.Every day is a new day, Teresa. How is he feeling withe the antibiotic?
You were right and on Sunday morning his numbers were a little high. I am sure this will happen again, with me in a panic over what to do about his dose.It's really hard to shoot a full dose on those low numbers. We've all been there! Now you have more data to help the next time.
You were right and on Sunday morning his numbers were a little high. I am sure this will happen again, with me in a panic over what to do about his dose.
The doctor told me on Saturday to give him a full packet of FortiFlora everyday and if that did not take care of it he would start him on Metronidazola. The FortiFlora did take care of it (thank goodness) that could have been bad waiting to see if it would work.On Saturday his stools were loose, loose enough that it was all over his hair in the back and got on a lot of different things. His loose stools have stopped and he seems to be feeling better. Knock on wood.
Hi Teresa,@Kris & Teasel @Djamila @Yong
I just took Buddy's BG he is at 175, I am going to wait 20 min. and take again. I don't think 5.2u would be right dose unless he comes up a lot. I need your input.
Yes, test again in 20 minutes and post. You can do it a 3rd time but sometimes the BG stays the same or falls slightly because of lack of food.I just took again he was at 174, I will post yesterday. Other cat sick yesterday and last night. I will wait again another 20 min.
OK. Here's what I've done with Teasel in the past: feed him, wait about 45 minutes and test him again. Based on that BG, a dose can be worked out.@Kris & Teasel @Yong @Djamila
3rd try he is at 162. He is making all kinds of noise, wanting to eat.
@Kris & Teasel Sounds like a plan, I really appreciate you being there. I might see what you think about a dose after feedingOK. Here's what I've done with Teasel in the past: feed him, wait about 45 minutes and test him again. Based on that BG, a dose can be worked out.
@Kris & Teasel Buddy is now at 353, what would you suggest for a dose.When you have time, enter all these BG test numbers in the comments section of your SS so you have them for future reference. Eventually, once a dose is decided on, you should change the AMPS number on the SS to the one you actually shot at 45 minutes late.