I was also thinking of using a u40 syringe and raising him tomorrow to 4.5u. After several doses if numbers are not moving in the right direction, then go back to u100 and raise him to 4.6. What are your thoughts on this.I think either Saturday or Monday would be fine. You have enough data to be pretty confident that he'll still be in safe numbers with the increase, so I think you could go ahead with it on Saturday if you want....or wait until Monday if you're more comfortable.
For simplicity's sake I'd stick with the U100s and try 0.4 u increases if you feel that 0.2 u isn't doing much. I also agree that you can increase either on Saturday or Monday.I was also thinking of using a u40 syringe and raising him tomorrow to 4.5u. After several doses if numbers are not moving in the right direction, then go back to u100 and raise him to 4.6. What are your thoughts on this.
I would rather do small increases, 0.2u is enough at a time for me. I am going to see what kind of numbers I come up with today, I may increase tomorrow but no more than 0.2u.For simplicity's sake I'd stick with the U100s and try 0.4 u increases if you feel that 0.2 u isn't doing much. I also agree that you can increase either on Saturday or Monday.
I am glad you noticed. If I say anything about Bud's numbers it seems to jinx the outcome. Hope Teasel is continuing to improve.I like that pre shot last night. Keep up with the increases.![]()
Yes, Teasel seems to be fine today. His numbers have been very good too.I am glad you noticed. If I say anything about Bud's numbers it seems to jinx the outcome. Hope Teasel is continuing to improve.
Buddy seems to be the only kitty having problems with his numbers. It is time for Teasel to have good numbers, maybe the insulin change helped.Yes, Teasel seems to be fine today. His numbers have been very good too.
Thank you for noticing, but he has also some not so nice pinks.Getting some nice blue nadirs, Buddy!![]()
The blues are the evidence of what the dose can do, Teresa, whereas the pinks are mild bounces.Thank you for noticing, but he has also some not so nice pinks.
So does Maury, but like Kris said, the blues and greens they get to shows what the dose is doingThank you for noticing, but he has also some not so nice pinks.

The blues are the evidence of what the dose can do, Teresa, whereas the pinks are mild bounces.
So does Maury, but like Kris said, the blues and greens they get to shows what the dose is doing![]()
Buddy's numbers are not posted yet, but he went up to 4.8u this morning. I will be keeping a close eye on him.The blues are the evidence of what the dose can do, Teresa, whereas the pinks are mild bounces.
You'll get there!It would not hurt my feelings if all of Buddy's readings were blue. I think Buddy's pancreas needs a rest.
How long should I stay on a dose before upping it and that is if I don't see much of a change in Buddy's numbers. I have seen somewhere where it said to do 6 doses before changing. Since Buddy is insulin resistant, I have not always gave 6 doses before I upped his dose. Do you know anything about Vitamin E & Selenium helping to get over insulin resistance. I have looked for Vitamin E before and all I could find was gel capsules in a larger dose. I did not know we would get so many smiles.You'll get there!Those blues that poke through are good signs.much
For ProZinc you can increase after 3 cycles if the dose isn't effective. I think those cycles where you aren;t getting any blue are mild bounces.How long should I stay on a dose before upping it and that is if I don't see much of a change in Buddy's numbers. I have seen somewhere where it said to do 6 doses before changing. Since Buddy is insulin resistant, I have not always gave 6 doses before I upped his dose. Do you know anything about Vitamin E & Selenium helping to get over insulin resistance. I have looked for Vitamin E before and all I could find was gel capsules in a larger dose. I did not know we would get so many smiles.
Tonight at PMPS his reading was 311, at AMPS his reading was 361. He is eating the same as before, I must admit he does not get any exercise. At his next increase he will be at 5u, this is getting scary. I am afraid of all the damage this is doing to his body. I guess the only thing I can do is just keep up with the increases and hope we finally reach the right amount.For ProZinc you can increase after 3 cycles if the dose isn't effective. I think those cycles where you aren;t getting any blue are mild bounces.
. We're here with you and Buddy
. I think you're on the right patch with those sneek-peak blues I know he would be doing worse if he did not get the increases in insulin. Have you heard of giving Selenium and Vitamin E to help with insulin resistance. I like the smiley faces.He would be doing worse if you weren't doing anything, Teresa. We're here with you and Buddy
. I think you're on the right patch with those sneek-peak blues
![]()


. I'll get back to you I have never felt like you were straightforward blunt, sometimes people do not get that this is serious. If I am not on line, please go ahead and post. Thank you.I can do my thing tomorrow for you. I'll get back to you
. The smiley faces help me soften my words. I can be very straightforward blunt, usually with good intentions but can be hard to detect without them
![]()

Buddy on 2/3/2017 had the tail of his pancreas removed and surrounding tissue. I asked his vet if he thought this removal would make a difference in his insulin need, he told me he did not know. He is aware of what insulin Buddy takes because one of the other doctors at his clinic prescribed it for him at time of diagnosis. The only reason I have not called about this is because he will want me to bring him in for a curve. Maybe I do need to call just to see what his ideas are, but all the doctors always want him to take a huge amount of insulin. At one time one of the doctors jumped him from 3u to 5u of ProZinc while doing a curve, when he came his BG was 41. This was before the removal of his pancreas. I am at a loss here, tonight I am raising his dose to 5u. I must be out of the house today, or I would call the doctor. Hopefully, maybe Yong will find something.I'm really curious about the missing part of his pancreas and the impact of that. Yong, maybe you could do your research magic on that topic, too. What I've found about it is that depending on how much and which part was removed, it could mean that he is just fine and can still produce insulin on his own (with healing time), or it could also mean that he isn't going to produce any insulin on his own anymore. Which could indicate that he's going to need higher doses than some of the other kitties around here. I wonder if your vet could shed some light on that -- what exactly did he remove, and what does he expect the outcome to be from that? Knowing that might impact how he's dosed, and even which insulin would be best for him.
I was afraid that maybe he had a health issue going on that was causing his insulin resistance. His litter box is in the room with my computer and his urine smells really strong. So I thought maybe his doctor needed to check him out to see if everything else is alright, especially since we had the wetting on the floor for a while.Hi Teresa,
You're getting more yellow PSs overall and that's progress. There might not be a definite answer about the effect of Buddy's surgery on his insulin dose. I think your gradual increases will get somewhere eventually and you can't let the size of the dose worry you. He needs what he needs. Some of the high dose kitties here get 20+ units of insulin per dose.
Those could be signs of a UTI and that can raise BG. Maybe a vet check is a good idea.I was afraid that maybe he had a health issue going on that was causing his insulin resistance. His litter box is in the room with my computer and his urine smells really strong. So I thought maybe his doctor needed to check him out to see if everything else is alright, especially since we had the wetting on the floor for a while.

Thank you, he was diabetic before the pancreatectomy. I will check this out, I am taking him to see the vet tomorrow to make sure everything is alright.Initial findings: I have more
For partial pancreatectomy, can result (or cause) in a cat, dog, or human being mildly to moderately diabetic. Animals may be less likely to go into remission BUT it's still possible. More important to stay with low carb diets.
Initial findings for Supplements:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...icity-insulin-resistance-antioxidants.176712/
Looking good for supplements Vit E and Selenium![]()

Thank you, I thought all of you were gone for the night. I posted a new thread asking for help because I did not know what to doHey Teresa, I would not give 4.8U tonight. Might drop it down to 2.5U with your usual +3 and +6 tests.
Would that not be wonderful, I am going to give him 2.5 tonight. I am so glad you answered, I thought you had logged off for23 January AMPS and 6 February PMPS was the only time he's had a similar number but that was a while ago.
It's possible you found the breakthrough dose![]()
I understand we all have other things going on, I appreciate your help.Not gone for the night yet. Sorry I would've been on a little earlier but had to talk to the neighbour. I'm trapped on my back porch due to some construction and had to ask them to put my recycling down with theirs lol. I don't think it would have gone well if I tried to throw it![]()
. Wasn't able to find much on effects of partial pancreatectomy but here's what I have for that and the vitamin supplements:You have been a very busy lady, I really appreciate all of your help. You do not need to look any more, it will probably take me a year to check this all out.Also, more of what I did today. Wasn't able to find much on effects of partial pancreatectomy but here's what I have for that and the vitamin supplements:
"Canine and Feline Endocrinnology" by Edward C. Feldman
Most diabetic cats can be regulated with insulin doses (Lantus / Levemir / Prozinc: Intermediate / long-acting insulin's) between 0.5U and 3.0U BID.
In cats, insulin resistance is most commonly caused by severe obesity, chronic renal failure, chronic pancreatitis, stomatitis/oral infections, hyperadrenocorticism, and hypersomatotropism (acromegaly). Latter two have potential of the most severe insulin resistance.
Tests beyond physical exams: BCB, serum biochemical panel, lipase / fPLI serum T4 concentration, Insulin-Like Growth Factor - 1 (IGF-1), urinalysis and urine culture, and abdominal ultrasonography are next steps.
*Glucose targets should be set less tight, and the insulin dose chosen with the aim of avoiding hypoglycemia, very severe hyperglycemia, and DKA.
Selenium can facilitate in improving Hyperlipidemia (High cholesterol)
"A Feline Model of Experimentally Induced Islet Amyloidosis"
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1885761/
Margarethe Hoenig,* Gregory Hall,* Duncan Ferguson,* Katherine Jordan,†‡ Michael Henson,§ Kenneth Johnson,†‡ and Timothy O’Brien†
In reference to a partial pancreatectomy: The insulin release pattern was the first to change. First phase insulin release became delayed and smaller, whereas second phase became more exaggerated.
"The Journal of Metabolic Research Vol.1" Edited by Frederick Madison Allen
"Effect of selenium and vitamin E supplements on tissue lipids, peroxides, and fatty acid distribution in experimental diabetes."
Douillet C1, Bost M, Accominotti M, Borson-Chazot F, Ciavatti M.
In diabetic rat liver, a significant drop in triglycerides and phospholipids (P < 0.05) was observed; this was modulated by Se + vitamin E supplementation. Se + vitamin E supplementation also inhibited the decrease in 18:2n-6 and the increase in 22:6n-3 observed in liver of diabetic rats, changes which reflect altered glycemic control.
http://www.petcathealth.info/supplements-for-cat-diabetes/
“Combination of chromium, vitamin E, and selenium have proven benefits against feline diabetes. Chromium stimulates insulin action. Insulin must initially mingle with chromium in order to effectively release the tissues to glucose and the production of energy. There are experiments that show that insulin is nearly ineffective devoid of sufficient chromium to create energy. Processed cat dry food is typically deficient in chromium. Studies also reveal that chromium supplementation reduces blood sugar.
Vitamin E and selenium are valuable antioxidants that can help care for the blood vessels and other tissue from accelerated corrosion impairment caused by lofty blood sugar levels.”
Good forms are chromium nicotinate, chromium histidinate, chromium picolinate and glucose tolerance factor chromium (GTF).