Teresa & KitKat
Member Since 2017
I started this thread for help in dosing Buddy Cat
He has been wanting to eat every time I take a BG reading, but he has been eating FF classic and YA. I was surprised when his numbers did not change on 2.6U. If no change tonight and tomorrow, will change to 2.8 on Monday. Hopefully, he will continue wanting to eat.Give 2.6 u again tonight and tomorrow then go up to 2.8 u on Monday AM I think. You leave to go to church on Sundays so that's not a good day to raise the dose. Is Buddy eating well and feeling OK?
Feast or Famine.Good news that he wants to eat!![]()
On Sunday afternoon and later in the evening Buddy was bouncing. I decided to go ahead and up his dose to 2.8, per the advice of Kris. I think Kris is helping a lot of us newbies.Looking good so far, Teresa. I vote for trying 2.8 u tomorrow.
Hi Teresa,@Kris & Teasel , When you get a chance look at Buddy today @+6. This is the 1st time at +6, since his dose has been 2.6U that it was this low. I believe that he was lower this morning than he has been being.
On Sunday afternoon and later in the evening Buddy was bouncing. I decided to go ahead and up his dose to 2.8, per the advice of Kris. I think Kris is helping a lot of us newbies.
What is normal or average BG for felines.Hi Teresa,
Don't worry about that red at +6 last night. It's a bounce from that nice blue yesterday. I agree with Rachel - this morning's PS is great after that red. Let's see what the 2.8 u will do.![]()
A diabetic that's well controlled on an insulin like ProZinc should have PSs in the low to mid 200s and a nadir in the low 100s or high double digits. Kitties in remission or non-diabetics will have significantly lower BGs.What is normal or average BG for felines.
I will definitely keep this in mind and if it happens I will be trying to get in touch with you to see what to do next.Well, look at that string of yellows, Teresa! Some of the pros on the Lantus forum say that a string of yellows can be a warning that kitty is going to go into lower BGs. I don't know if this is true all the time but it might be good to keep this in the back of your mind.
I suggest you keep this dose for a couple of cycles. Try to get some mid cycle and before bed tests to see how low he goes - if he's not bouncing, that is.I will definitely keep this in mind and if it happens I will be trying to get in touch with you to see what to do next.
I see the pink this AM.
I will keep this dose for at least 6 cycles.I suggest you keep this dose for a couple of cycles. Try to get some mid cycle and before bed tests to see how low he goes - if he's not bouncing, that is.
He is so picky about what he eats, now he is eating FF Chunky and some YA. I think the chunky has 1 or 2 more carbs than FF Classic. I know there is another dry food on the list and I need to find out what it is so he can try it. Buddy got sick with pancreatitis while he was eating Friskies pate, since then he does not like pate style cat food. He had ate nothing but Purina OM for several years, he would have nothing to do with wet food. One of the other cats was eating a FF grilled, we gave him a taste of it and he loved it. He was eating the FF grilled when he got sick, so now I give it to him when his numbers get low. Rachel mentioned about FortiFlora so I got some to sprinkle on Buddy's food when he was acting picky and it has helped. I have been worried about his numbers creeping back into the 300's. I don't know if the YA, FF chunky or FortiFlora would make a big difference. For a while I could tell he had lost weight but I think he has picked it back up.I like the increased number of yellow PSs, Teresa. He's bouncing a bit in the middle but that's OK. Is he eating and feeling well?
Thank you.I believe the other dry food is Evo.
I will see if I can find any of these at the stores. I really appreciate it.Did you ever try any of the Friskies ones I use for Maury? He's not a big pate boy, either. Also, saw these that might be appetizing to Buddy:
Meow Mix - Pate Toppers
9% - Chicken w/ Shreds of Chicken
8% - Salmon w/ Flakes of Tuna
I don't think I can get those Friskies types here in Canada. Mind you, I'm lucky because Teasel eats anything. At least he cuts me some slack on that front!I will see if I can find any of these at the stores. I really appreciate it.
I have 5 cats and every one of them is picky. Buddy got some food aversions from being sick with pancreatitis.I don't think I can get those Friskies types here in Canada. Mind you, I'm lucky because Teasel eats anything. At least he cuts me some slack on that front!![]()
Buddy's original dose was 3U. I am hoping this is the right dose for him. Sorry, that you are dealing with back pain and a dead hot water tank. Both of these issues cause a big problem.Hi Teresa,
I think the increase is warranted. You had some greens around 3 u early on. You also had green at lower doses but he might be a little resistant after being in yellow and pink a lot. The only way to know is to increase carefully to see what happens.
I haven't been on quite as much for a couple of days and yesterday I had to deal with a dead hot water tank here at home.
I have been getting more pink since Buddy's dose went to 2.8u. Buddy does need some blues and greens, but the greens scare me. As always I appreciate your reply.Ugh! A dead hot water tank would NOT be good!
Teresa, I know Kris already said it, but I just want to second that! Those slow and steady increases seem to be working, judging by the yellows you've been getting lately but you still want to go lower...hopefully you'll get some blues and greens soon!
I was wondering about bouncing, when I looked back on his SS his numbers seem to be lower when he was taking a dose in the 2u's. I was sure his numbers would drop when he went to 3u. I will be gone in the mornings for a few days, so I will stay at 3u until I can be here. I also think he has been eating too much. If he is still staying high-ish and flat, the 1st day that I will be here most of the day he will be changed to 3.25u. When dosing is done in small increments it doesn't seem like a big deal. How do you get blood for testing, do you prick Teasel's ear or use a lancet device. Buddy's ears are pretty red from me using a lancet device to get blood for testing.Hi Teresa,
Buddy is staying high-ish and flat. I'd try 3.25 u tomorrow AM. He might have some insulin resistance going on. It's possible that it's just bouncing and his dose is too high. Hard to say.
I don't use the trigger device for ear pricking. I put the lancet into it to make a holder that's easier to hold and then I free hand the poke. I find it easier to aim this way.I was wondering about bouncing, when I looked back on his SS his numbers seem to be lower when he was taking a dose in the 2u's. I was sure his numbers would drop when he went to 3u. I will be gone in the mornings for a few days, so I will stay at 3u until I can be here. I also think he has been eating too much. If he is still staying high-ish and flat, the 1st day that I will be here most of the day he will be changed to 3.25u. When dosing is done in small increments it doesn't seem like a big deal. How do you get blood for testing, do you prick Teasel's ear or use a lancet device. Buddy's ears are pretty red from me using a lancet device to get blood for testing.
He has been eating FF Chunky, the carbs in it are 4 and the carbs in pate are 2 or 3. Everything else is pretty much the same as the pate, got the info from Dr. Lisa Pierson's charts. He does eat a small amount of YA, think I will hold this.I don't use the trigger device for ear pricking. I put the lancet into it to make a holder that's easier to hold and then I free hand the poke. I find it easier to aim this way.
Re numbers: if he's eating quite bit and it's medium to high in carbs that could explain the highs. I think you give him YS dry too, right? Some people find it affects BG even though it's low in carbs. I know you feed Fancy Feast - pate types only?
The FF sounds fine, Teresa. Try withholding the YA for a bit to see if it makes a difference.He has been eating FF Chunky, the carbs in it are 4 and the carbs in pate are 2 or 3. Everything else is pretty much the same as the pate, got the info from Dr. Lisa Pierson's charts. He does eat a small amount of YA, think I will hold this.
I started him this morning on 3.2U, because I will be home all day and he started the day in the 300's. Yesterday he did not have any YA and I cut back some on the FF chunky, but his numbers were still high. We will see what happens with this dose, if his numbers do not go down we will move on to a higher dose. What would make Buddy become insulin resistant.Hi Teresa,
Yes, you're in a puzzling spot dose wise. The blue from a couple of nights ago tells me that the insulin is working. The drops from pink to yellow the last several days say the same thing. The numbers aren't flat. I think it's a case of being insulin resistant rather than the dose being too high and causing bouncing. If you put these numbers on a graph they'd give you a "smile" shaped curve that is typical of ProZinc. However, the number range is too high suggesting a dose that's too low for where he is at this point in time. My suggestion is to give 3.2 u for 3 cycles, not 3 days, and then try 3.4 u. If it's resistance, sitting at an ineffective dose too long only makes it worse. You have to work around your own schedule though.
They can become resistant for any number of reasons including infection or some other health issue. One of the simplest is "glucose toxicity" meaning the negative effect on cells that being in high numbers for too long can have. They lose responsiveness to insulin such that a dose that gave good/better results previously won't work as well/at all anymore. The way to deal with that is to carefully raise the dose until you get some good numbers showing up. Once that happens they can become more sensitive to insulin again and possibly need a reduced dose.I started him this morning on 3.2U, because I will be home all day and he started the day in the 300's. Yesterday he did not have any YA and I cut back some on the FF chunky, but his numbers were still high. We will see what happens with this dose, if his numbers do not go down we will move on to a higher dose. What would make Buddy become insulin resistant.
At AMPS+3, Buddy's BG # 202. This is 1 of his lowest numbers at +3. I hope this u of insulin works well for Buddy, maybe this will help his pancreas.They can become resistant for any number of reasons including infection or some other health issue. One of the simplest is "glucose toxicity" meaning the negative effect on cells that being in high numbers for too long can have. They lose responsiveness to insulin such that a dose that gave good/better results previously won't work as well/at all anymore. The way to deal with that is to carefully raise the dose until you get some good numbers showing up. Once that happens they can become more sensitive to insulin again and possibly need a reduced dose.
Looking good, Teresa! It's a fairly big drop from the AMPS so it's possible that he might bounce later. Time will tell ...At AMPS+3, Buddy's BG # 202. This is 1 of his lowest numbers at +3. I hope this u of insulin works well for Buddy, maybe this will help his pancreas.


That's really not bad at all, Teresa. Try not to let one number get you down. It's a moderate bounce from the blues. Let's see how he does on this dose tomorrow.I think being happy about the blues was a little premature. At PMPS Buddy's # 361. I can't figure out what happened, I tried to check him early to see if he was going real low, but that did not seem to be the case. If he was headed real low I would have feed him some to stop a bounce.
Buddy was high again this morning @331 AMPS +5 @280. Don't know if his food is the problem, he has been eating FF Chunky Chicken Feast it has 47 % Protein, 50% Fat, 4% Carbs and 88 calories. I try to keep Buddy at 1 1/2 per each shot, but I must admit sometimes he is still hungry and I give him more. How much do the rest of you feed your cats, the carbs, fat and calories. Buddy is not fond of pate cat food, I thought I had hit the jackpot when I found the FF chunky.Even if he was at 338 again, the 361 is within the 20% variation. Wouldn't that mean 338 could essentially be between 270 - 405? That is kind of more depressingSorry.
That's really not that high, Teresa. Keep this dose tonight and if he doesn't go any lower than those recent blues, increase to 3.4 u tomorrow AM. You have to keep up the dose pressure (carefully) to get him responding more.Buddy was high again this morning @331 AMPS +5 @280. Don't know if his food is the problem, he has been eating FF Chunky Chicken Feast it has 47 % Protein, 50% Fat, 4% Carbs and 88 calories. I try to keep Buddy at 1 1/2 per each shot, but I must admit sometimes he is still hungry and I give him more. How much do the rest of you feed your cats, the carbs, fat and calories. Buddy is not fond of pate cat food, I thought I had hit the jackpot when I found the FF chunky.
I have been in and out today, when I was in earlier I took a reading and I gave him some FF chunky ( which I am beginning to wonder about). When I came back this last time his reading was 331. I have 2 reli-on meters, I went and took a reading with the other 1 it was 295, I went back to the meter I had been using and it was 277. This was with in 2 -3 span, what is his blood sugar. How much canned food do you feed a day, or does that matter. Do I need to count calories, if we need to stay below 10 carbs I wonder if that means our cats can eat 2 1/2 cans each meal if the canned food has 4 carbs.That's really not that high, Teresa. Keep this dose tonight and if he doesn't go any lower than those recent blues, increase to 3.4 u tomorrow AM. You have to keep up the dose pressure (carefully) to get him responding more.