Buddys SS up and going 3rd part about dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm heading out the door in just a sec. As Pati said, you have options to stall for a little bit longer and see if he has risen. But stalling a hungry cat is difficult, and kind of nerve wracking for you I imagine! So if you skip, don't feel bad...we'll get him back on track.

I'll check back in on you in half and hourish when I get to work, though Kris might be around by then. :)
He is up to 137, have not feed him yet.
 
I would just feed and no shoot because you would have to stall a long time to get him to a shootable number. Then your schedule will be off.
 
You won't be causing him harm by deciding to no shoot. When I first had a number that was too low to shoot, Kris told me think of it as a fur shot. If you no shoot but collect data throughout the day, that will be good information for future decisions.
 
I agree with what Pati said - look at it as a fur shot and don't give any insulin this AM. Do some testing today, maybe every 3 hours? Without insulin he won't hypo. This would be good data to have though.

The recommended method for handling a low PS is:
  1. Know in advance what your "no shot" cut off BG is. We recommend 200 if you don't have much data. That can go lower once you have data/experience.
  2. Try the stall/retest technique: stall without feeding for 20 minutes and retest. If the BG is above your NS number, give a reduced dose (no hard and fast rule about how much - post for advice). Repeat this stall/retest in 20 min increments up to 60 min.
  3. If you don't have time to stall and BG isn't rock bottom, give a much reduced dose (30-50% of regular dose? less if you're anxious).
  4. No shot. This isn't the ideal option but it's the safest.
 
I agree with what Pati said - look at it as a fur shot and don't give any insulin this AM. Do some testing today, maybe every 3 hours? Without insulin he won't hypo. This would be good data to have though.

The recommended method for handling a low PS is:
  1. Know in advance what your "no shot" cut off BG is. We recommend 200 if you don't have much data. That can go lower once you have data/experience.
  2. Try the stall/retest technique: stall without feeding for 20 minutes and retest. If the BG is above your NS number, give a reduced dose (no hard and fast rule about how much - post for advice). Repeat this stall/retest in 20 min increments up to 60 min.
  3. If you don't have time to stall and BG isn't rock bottom, give a much reduced dose (30-50% of regular dose? less if you're anxious).
  4. No shot. This isn't the ideal option but it's the safest.
I have not giving him a shot, and he has ate. I guess I could take reading again, and maybe with your help decide on a reduced unit.
 
I have not giving him a shot, and he has ate. I guess I could take reading again, and maybe with your help decide on a reduced unit.
How far are you past his normal shot time, Teresa? There's quite a bit of timing flexibility with ProZinc but it's not unlimited. Test and post so we can see how he's doing.
 
[QUOTE="Kris & Teasel, post: 1894829, member: by I could just click on to Buddy's SS. I thought I had lost his SS,
so I started a conversation to you about losing Buddy's SS because I could not remember the ladies name who helped me with it. I was going to see if she could help me, but I just lost where I could click on it and pull it up. I can pull it up by typing it in, but if anyone knows how I can get it where I can just click on it please let me know.
 
Those pinks are no surprise after the lowered dose. However, you now have some data that tells you that feeding first and then giving about half the dose worked to keep him safe.
 
[QUOTE="Kris & Teasel, post: 1894829, member: by I could just click on to Buddy's SS. I thought I had lost his SS,
so I started a conversation to you about losing Buddy's SS because I could not remember the ladies name who helped me with it. I was going to see if she could help me, but I just lost where I could click on it and pull it up. I can pull it up by typing it in, but if anyone knows how I can get it where I can just click on it please let me know.
The tech person we usually get help from is @Marje and Gracie. I think you're referring to the editable version where you can enter data, right?
 
The tech person we usually get help from is @Marje and Gracie. I think you're referring to the editable version where you can enter data, right?
I can edit the version I pull up, but I have to type in Buddy's Spreadsheet. The way it was before it was on 1 of links at the top of the page and it said Buddy's Spreadsheet and all I had to do was click on it and it appeared on my screen. Now I have to type it in, that is doable until I can find out how to get it done the other way.
 
Those pinks are no surprise after the lowered dose. However, you now have some data that tells you that feeding first and then giving about half the dose worked to keep him safe.
Kris & Teasel,
Has anyone else had all these problems we have had. I am not talking about the surgery but everything else. Has it ever happened to you like it did to us this morning. What I meant was the really low number and then his BG was 594 1 evening. Then when I call the doctors they want to give him an outrageous amount of insulin.
 
I can edit the version I pull up, but I have to type in Buddy's Spreadsheet. The way it was before it was on 1 of links at the top of the page and it said Buddy's Spreadsheet and all I had to do was click on it and it appeared on my screen. Now I have to type it in, that is doable until I can find out how to get it done the other way.
Maybe wait to ask @Marje and Gracie?
 
Kris & Teasel,
Has anyone else had all these problems we have had. I am not talking about the surgery but everything else. Has it ever happened to you like it did to us this morning. What I meant was the really low number and then his BG was 594 1 evening. Then when I call the doctors they want to give him an outrageous amount of insulin.
My cat is a champion bouncer and has gone from low blue to red on occasion. It's his pattern and I don't panic. A very low number is far more dangerous than a single black number. You don't want your kitty to stay in high numbers all the time but the odd very high BG isn't an emergency.
 
I can edit the version I pull up, but I have to type in Buddy's Spreadsheet. The way it was before it was on 1 of links at the top of the page and it said Buddy's Spreadsheet and all I had to do was click on it and it appeared on my screen. Now I have to type it in, that is doable until I can find out how to get it done the other way.
What I had you do before is go to your google drive, open the SS, and save it as one of your favorites on your browse tool bar. I don't k ow if you are using a Mac or PC but there should be an option on either to save it as a favorite. That way, when you open your internet browser, it will be right there at the top and you can just click on it but you must be signed in to google for it to work. I just always stay signed in to google.

Let me know if that doesn't work.
 
B
My cat is a champion bouncer and has gone from low blue to red on occasion. It's his pattern and I don't panic. A very low number is far more dangerous than a single black number. You don't want your kitty to stay in high numbers all the time but the odd very high BG isn't an emergency.
Buddy took his shot late today, his usual time is around 7:30 a.m., but this morning he got his shot @9:20 a.m. I wondered if I gave his shot earlier than 12hrs. would cause Buddy a problem. I was thinking around 8 p.m., Then maybe in the morning moving him back some more. I would like to know have you ever gave a shot earlier than 12hrs., or do you think that is reasonable.
 
B
Buddy took his shot late today, his usual time is around 7:30 a.m., but this morning he got his shot @9:20 a.m. I wondered if I gave his shot earlier than 12hrs. would cause Buddy a problem. I was thinking around 8 p.m., Then maybe in the morning moving him back some more. I would like to know have you ever gave a shot earlier than 12hrs., or do you think that is reasonable.
I think that will work, Teresa. I've had to do similar a few times.
 
What I had you do before is go to your google drive, open the SS, and save it as one of your favorites on your browse tool bar. I don't k ow if you are using a Mac or PC but there should be an option on either to save it as a favorite. That way, when you open your internet browser, it will be right there at the top and you can just click on it but you must be signed in to google for it to work. I just always stay signed in to google.

Let me know if that doesn't work.
I did get it to work finally after sending messages saying I could not.
Thanks for the help again.
 
Marje ,

I think I am just stupid because I did not see an option to save. I can type in Buddy's Spreadsheet in the top bar and it pulls up his SS, but I do not see an option save. If you can do it for me [Removed personal information per request. _Moderator].
There isn't a save option...I was using that term loosely. And I'm not able to do it for you because it would be done on your computer or laptop, specifically, which I don't have access to.

I don't have my laptop on right now but try this:
Open the SS from within google drive
In the toolbar for your internet explorer, click on "tools" and select "save to my favorites" or something along that line that should then put a link for his SS in the toolbar. If you right click on it, you can rename it to "Buddy's SS".

Let me know if that doesn't work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
There isn't a save option...I was using that term loosely. And I'm not able to do it for you because it would be done on your computer or laptop, specifically, which I don't have access to.

I don't have my laptop on right now but try this:
Open the SS from within google drive
In the toolbar for your internet explorer, click on "tools" and select "save to my favorites" or something along that line that should then put a link for his SS in the toolbar. If you right click on it, you can rename it to "Buddy's SS".

Let me know if that doesn't work.
I did get it to work. Thank you
 
I took Buddy's PMPS and it was @290, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas what u would be right for Buddy. Most of the time his BG is higher, 4hrs ago it was 355 and now 4hrs later it is 290. I thought the closer to injection time the higher the number.
 
That is interesting that he's gone down some. I'd do a quick re-check to be sure the number was right and see if it's moved at all. Are you going to be around to check on him tonight?
 
I took Buddy's PMPS and it was @290, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas what u would be right for Buddy. Most of the time his BG is higher, 4hrs ago it was 355 and now 4hrs later it is 290. I thought the closer to injection time the higher the number.
Looks like he's been bouncing the last 2 days and it's beginning to stop. If you can monitor this evening you could try 3 u again. If that makes you uncomfortable, try 2.75 u.
 
That is interesting that he's gone down some. I'd do a quick re-check to be sure the number was right and see if it's moved at all. Are you going to be around to check on him tonight?
I will be here, hopefully sleeping some. I always set my clock and get up and check on him.
 
Hahaha I understand the hope of getting some sleep! I think Kris's suggestion is a good one. 3 units if you feel comfortable or 2.75 if you don't.
 
Looks like he's been bouncing the last 2 days and it's beginning to stop. If you can monitor this evening you could try 3 u again. If that makes you uncomfortable, try 2.75 u.
I had wondered all day about his numbers not coming down much and when I took a BG reading it was lower than anytime today. How can you tell he has been bouncing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top