Teresa & KitKat
Member Since 2017
I just took Buddy's number at 1 hr. and it is 96. How to proceed.
Thanks for the new thread. I said in your other thread to retest in an hour but don't give any food. You need to see if he's holding or on the way up on his own.I just took Buddy's number at 1 hr. and it is 96. How to proceed.
OKThanks for the new thread. I said in your other thread to retest in an hour but don't give any food. You need to see if he's holding or on the way up on his own.
I took another test @ 3:30 he was @94 and wanting to eat. What would you suggest I feed him RC wet, FF classic, FF grilled w/gravy or should I wait to feed him.
OK, now I'm confused about the 144 on your SS. Was that before the 94 just now? If the 94 is the most recent number you need to withhold food so we can see how he manages on his own, even if he's telling you he's hungry. We need that data.I took another test @ 3:30 he was @94 and wanting to eat. What would you suggest I feed him RC wet, FF classic, FF grilled w/gravy or should I wait to feed him.
I am losing my mind he is @144. SorryOK, now I'm confused about the 144 on your SS. Was that before the 94 just now? If the 94 is the most recent number you need to withhold food so we can see how he manages on his own, even if he's telling you he's hungry. We need that data.
OK. Then for sure don't feed him any more until his supper. You can also give his ears a break until PMPS. I'll watch for it - around 7:30, right? That's when I'm doing my guy's routine too so I might be away from the computer for a bit but can generally check by 8 PM.I am losing my mind he is @144. Sorry
Do you think it would be safe for me to run out for about an 1 hourOK. Then for sure don't feed him any more until his supper. You can also give his ears a break until PMPS. I'll watch for it - around 7:30, right? That's when I'm doing my guy's routine too so I might be away from the computer for a bit but can generally check by 8 PM.
Yes, I think he'll be fine.Do you think it would be safe for me to run out for about an 1 hour
His # is 393. Isn't that crazy. I must have feed him too much the 2nd time. Do you know of anybody else having the same kind of problems we are having with ProZinc. What unit do you think we should do tonight.Waiting to see how he's doing at PMPS.
That's a bounce from the low greens you had today, not from the food. It was very similar on 01/24 at the PM test. The dose for tonight has to be based on what happened this afternoon, not on this high bounce number. If you give 0.5 u again, you'll probably see pink and yellow tomorrow and then the same low greens on Saturday. The safest thing to do is to reduce tonight to 0.25 u. You'll still see bounce numbers tomorrow most likely. The data on Saturday will probably tell the story about the true effect of this low dose.His # is 393. Isn't that crazy. I must have feed him too much the 2nd time. Do you know of anybody else having the same kind of problems we are having with ProZinc. What unit do you think we should do tonight.
Yes, I appreciate all of your help. This is all new to me. Does having the low numbers like Bud's cause any permanent damage to him. I hope you will still be able to help me, since you know so much about what is going on with Buddy. Going to dose Buddy .25That's a bounce from the low greens you had today, not from the food. It was very similar on 01/24 at the PM test. The dose for tonight has to be based on what happened this afternoon, not on this high bounce number. If you give 0.5 u again, you'll probably see pink and yellow tomorrow and then the same low greens on Saturday. The safest thing to do is to reduce tonight to 0.25 u. You'll still see bounce numbers tomorrow most likely. The data on Saturday will probably tell the story about the true effect of this low dose.
Every time Buddy goes into low numbers he depletes some of the glucose stored as glycogen in his liver because he mobilizes it into his bloodstream to prop up the low BG. That leaves him extra insulin sensitive in the days following because his reserves are depleted - ie., he'll react more strongly to small doses. He's had several brushes with low numbers the last ten days. You need to test, log data, look for these patterns and lower his dose as needed. All these greens are actually a very good sign.
Are you OK with this plan?
No, the low numbers won't hurt him. What can be harmful is a full blown hypo where they lose consciousness, seizure, etc. Buddy has been fine through all of it because you gave him food and kept him from going too low. It was probably harder on you.Yes, I appreciate all of your help. This is all new to me. Does having the low numbers like Bud's cause any permanent damage to him. I hope you will still be able to help me, since you know so much about what is going on with Buddy. Going to dose Buddy .25
Thank youNo, the low numbers won't hurt him. What can be harmful is a full blown hypo where they lose consciousness, seizure, etc. Buddy has been fine through all of it because you gave him food and kept him from going too low. It was probably harder on you.
I'm pleased to help. I'll be out tomorrow from about +2 to +5 or so. I'm in the rest of the day but will be busy from +8 to + 11. I can check in periodically at my computer. I think tomorrow will be a quieter day.
Thank you
I gave Buddy .25 @8:00, so far today Buddy is eating FF classic.
As I said last night, you can expect pink and maybe yellow today. It'll be less stressful for you. I'm glad he's eating the FF classic.I gave Buddy .25 @8:00, so far today Buddy is eating FF classic.
I did, just posted new numbers. Will correct the dose. I just got in the mail Young Again 0 carb dry cat food, feel as I should post so I can see what other cat lovers say about this before giving to Buddy. Should have checked before ordering, in a day of desperation I ordered.I like that yellow on your SS. I think you mean 0.25 u for your AM dose.![]()
Many people have a lot of success with it. StephG here on this forum has startedI did, just posted new numbers. Will correct the dose. I just got in the mail Young Again 0 carb dry cat food, feel as I should post so I can see what other cat lovers say about this before giving to Buddy. Should have checked before ordering, in a day of desperation I ordered.
I may need to stay with .25u, is that 3days. I guess we will find out.Many people have a lot of success with it. StephG here on this forum has started
using it. @JanetNJ has really good things to say about it.
I like that string of yellows today!![]()
You'll stay at 0.25 u tonight and probably tomorrow morning. One dose at a time ...I may need to stay with .25u, is that 3days. I guess we will find out.
As kris said I use it and love it. Doesn't raise my cats numbers at all. I give wet morning and evening and leave Yaz out all the time to eat whenever she wants.I did, just posted new numbers. Will correct the dose. I just got in the mail Young Again 0 carb dry cat food, feel as I should post so I can see what other cat lovers say about this before giving to Buddy. Should have checked before ordering, in a day of desperation I ordered.
I ran test Bud@318, I was expecting it to be lower. I gave Buddy some Young Again Zero carb dry food several hrs. ago, wonder if that could have brought #up.You'll stay at 0.25 u tonight and probably tomorrow morning. One dose at a time ...
318 is less than the pmps you have been getting. It's the lowest pm number you've seen all week. Considering You gave a really small dose today and he ran yellows all day I'd say it's surprisingly low. I personally would do 0.5 when the preshots are in the 300's.I ran test Bud@318, I was expecting it to be lower. I gave Buddy some Young Again Zero carb dry food several hrs. ago, wonder if that could have brought #up.
I respectfully disagree with Janet on the size of dose for Buddy tonight. I think you should give 0.25 u once more to see if this is the end of a bounce. You can raise the dose tomorrow if he isn't showing signs of diving.I ran test Bud@318, I was expecting it to be lower. I gave Buddy some Young Again Zero carb dry food several hrs. ago, wonder if that could have brought #up.
It would be nice to sleep all night and not get up to do testing.Yeah I'd be inclined to 0.25 myself. Especially since it's a nighttime cycle, and you might want to get some sleep tonight.![]()
Hope you check in the morning to let me know what you think I should do.I respectfully disagree with Janet on the size of dose for Buddy tonight. I think you should give 0.25 u once more to see if this is the end of a bounce. You can raise the dose tomorrow if he isn't showing signs of diving.
Will do.Hope you check in the morning to let me know what you think I should do.
I never thought about that. Thank you.Hi Wolfey. I just wanted to comment that if you add the YA dry food you are changing one of the variables. If Buddy's BG goes up, how will you know whether it is the dose being too low or the change in food. You already had the variables of switching to low carb wet and the Pred wearing off. That has given you some active cycles. Unless Buddy refuses to eat the low carb wet you might want to see where he settles on this dose before making changes.
Buddy stayed pretty even yesterday, for the 1st time. I am beginning to wonder if there was any insulin in the syringe because it was such a small amount and he did much better yesterday. Let me know what you think.Will do.![]()
He is not so anxious to eat today, most of the time he is starved, not today. He took a few bites then walked away. Maybe later. How much will this affect his dose.Buddy stayed pretty even yesterday, for the 1st time. I am beginning to wonder if there was any insulin in the syringe because it was such a small amount and he did much better yesterday. Let me know what you think.
My name is Teresa Wolfe, sorry I did not do that. For the last month I have been so worried about Buddy, I haven't known whether I was coming or going.Pati made a very good point about waiting before you try the YA. I like that the numbers were staying yellow. See how low his AMPS is today compared to yesterday? That's because he's finished bouncing. I'd give 0.25 u again and you'll likely see some blue today. It might feel like there's no insulin in the syringe but it's a very powerful hormone. A little goes a long way.
Would you mind telling me your first name?
Hi, Teresa. It feels friendlier being able to refer to you by name.My name is Teresa Wolfe, sorry I did not do that. For the last month I have been so worried about Buddy, I haven't known whether I was coming or going.
Since Bud has had this diabetes problem most of the time he is starving except for maybe 2 days he seemed to be nauseated. I gave him some meds for that and within an hr. he was eating. He does not seem to be nauseated, just does not want to eat. He would rather look out the window.Hi, Teresa. It feels friendlier being able to refer to you by name.
I'd give Buddy the 0.25 u regardless of him not wanting to eat too much right now. Is this his usual habit - eating well one day, less so the next?
So long as he doesn't seem nauseated, give him his 0.25 u. Offer a bit of food later. The insulin is important - he's made a lot of progress in a short time.Since Bud has had this diabetes problem most of the time he is starving except for maybe 2 days he seemed to be nauseated. I gave him some meds for that and within an hr. he was eating. He does not seem to be nauseated, just does not want to eat. He would rather look out the window.
Yes I gave Buddy the 0.25 dose this morning. He did not want much to eat, only ate about 1/4 can of FF classic. He would not eat any of the wet food when I tried to feed him. Took his # at 3hrs. it was 210. He wanted to eat but would not eat the FF wet, so I gave him some YA. Two hrs, later took reading, his # was 319. I am going to try and hold off on the YA for a while, hope I can stick to it.Did you give Buddy the 0.25 u dose? A test later at +3 would be useful to see if this will be an "active" cycle.
How much YA did you give him? It's very concentrated so the portion size can be tiny. That pink number sure does look like a food spike.Yes I gave Buddy the 0.25 dose this morning. He did not want much to eat, only ate about 1/4 can of FF classic. He would not eat any of the wet food when I tried to feed him. Took his # at 3hrs. it was 210. He wanted to eat but would not eat the FF wet, so I gave him some YA. Two hrs, later took reading, his # was 319. I am going to try and hold off on the YA for a while, hope I can stick to it.
I don't know how much I gave him. I put some in my hand and put it in his dry food bowl. I am hoping tonight he will eat his FF wet food, if he will I am going to hide the YA for a while. He has been crying around wanting to eat, it is so hard to ignore him.How much YA did you give him? It's very concentrated so the portion size can be tiny. That pink number sure does look like a food spike.
Thank you, you are right.Hi Wolfey. I just wanted to comment that if you add the YA dry food you are changing one of the variables. If Buddy's BG goes up, how will you know whether it is the dose being too low or the change in food. You already had the variables of switching to low carb wet and the Pred wearing off. That has given you some active cycles. Unless Buddy refuses to eat the low carb wet you might want to see where he settles on this dose before making changes.
I had to learn a lot about everything, 2 weeks ago I was having problems getting blood for testing. That sure does seem like a long time ago.You are doing a great job with Buddy. I love all the blues and greens on his spreadsheet. It is a mixed blessing when your kitty responds well right away to the insulin: the lower numbers are lovely and encouraging but you have to learn a lot fast about dosing and levels.
When do you sleep? Lol.I had to learn a lot about everything, 2 weeks ago I was having problems getting blood for testing. That sure does seem like a long time ago.