Kris & Teasel
Member Since 2016
In keeping with the guideline of 3 cycles at a dose, I'd increase to 5.2 u tomorrow morning.,
, gave him 5u, @AMPS he was at 274, 4hr 307,9hr 291, I need to update SS. I think he may need an increase.
In keeping with the guideline of 3 cycles at a dose, I'd increase to 5.2 u tomorrow morning.,
, gave him 5u, @AMPS he was at 274, 4hr 307,9hr 291, I need to update SS. I think he may need an increase.
Looking at my post, it seems I was in a hurry. I always trust your judgement, tomorrow morning I will start with 5.2. Don't know the reason for this, I do not see a drastic change in numbers until Buddy has had 2 or 3 doses of 6.2U then way down he goes. Then I start trying to raise his numbers and the whole thing starts all over again.In keeping with the guideline of 3 cycles at a dose, I'd increase to 5.2 u tomorrow morning.
This tells me that his good dose is up near 6 u. Approaching it slowly is safer.Looking at my post, it seems I was in a hurry. I always trust your judgement, tomorrow morning I will start with 5.2. Don't know the reason for this, I do not see a drastic change in numbers until Buddy has had 2 or 3 doses of 6.2U then way down he goes. Then I start trying to raise his numbers and the whole thing starts all over again.
I just looked at Teasel's SS, don't know for sure how to read, except the units of Lantus being used are going down and he has some real pretty blue's and green's.This tells me that his good dose is up near 6 u. Approaching it slowly is safer.
That's what it says, Teresa!I just looked at Teasel's SS, don't know for sure how to read, except the units of Lantus being used are going down and he has some real pretty blue's and green's.
You could do that Teresa but I'm a fan of 3 cycles at a dose unless the bottom drops out.@Kris & Teasel PMPS Buddy @300, he has not ate much today. What do you think of raising his dose to 5.4 tonight.
I did give Buddy 5.4u, but I will not raise his dose again until he has completed 3 cycles or until the bottom drops out.You could do that Teresa but I'm a fan of 3 cycles at a dose unless the bottom drops out.
I have been looking when ever I go out for food for Buddy, some of it costs more than his Royal Canin prescription diet wet food. I still have not found FF roasted here in any of the stores. Now I will be on the hunt for this one too. Haven't been on line very much today, I am going to scoot over to your house to see how Maury is doing.Hi Teresa! I wanted to share another food I got for Maury to try with his iffy appetite. This one is listed as 9% carb on the Food Chart and when I opened it I said to myself "I think this could be one Buddy may like!"
Purina One True Instinct Turkey in Gravy. Got it from a grocery store
![]()
Indeed, Kris! I'm very thankful for Teresa's insight's so I try to re-pay by new food suggestions for BuddyIt's great that you've been able to help Yong with her kitty's pancreatitis.
I just logged in to FDMB and I have already gave him 5.4U, but I will give him 5.6 U at PMPS. I have been trying to read some of the sticky's, especially about Lantus. One that I read (don't know if on Lantus forum) It is not the lack of food that causes DKA, but not enough insulin.Hi Teresa,
It's great that you've been able to help Yong with her kitty's pancreatitis.Will you go up to 5.6 u this AM? How's Buddy feeling/eating?
It's actually a combination of things, Teresa - not enough food, too low a dose of insulin so numbers stay high, dehydration and another infection or inflammation going on. It's rarely just one factor.I just logged in to FDMB and I have already gave him 5.4U, but I will give him 5.6 U at PMPS. I have been trying to read some of the sticky's, especially about Lantus. One that I read (don't know if on Lantus forum) It is not the lack of food that causes DKA, but not enough insulin.
One thing I wanted to tell you before tomorrow, if your vet does not have after hrs. or week-end hrs., you might ask for meds (Cerenia & Bupe) to have at home in case Maury would get sick and you could not get in touch with her. Enough to tide you over until you can get in to see the vet. Buddy's old vet would always do this for him.Indeed, Kris! I'm very thankful for Teresa's insight's so I try to re-pay by new food suggestions for Buddy![]()
This is something I want no part of.It's actually a combination of things, Teresa - not enough food, too low a dose of insulin so numbers stay high, dehydration and another infection or inflammation going on. It's rarely just one factor.
I have done nothing to be re-paid for, but I do appreciate the food suggestions.Indeed, Kris! I'm very thankful for Teresa's insight's so I try to re-pay by new food suggestions for Buddy![]()
Yes! It's to be avoided at all costs. Teasel had a bout of it over a year ago. He was a very sick kitty and getting him well involved a very $$$$ stay in the ICU at my vet clinic.This is something I want no part of.
Oh my gosh. I hope you never have to deal with this again and I hope I do not have to deal with this either.Yes! It's to be avoided at all costs. Teasel had a bout of it over a year ago. He was a very sick kitty and getting him well involved a very $$$$ stay in the ICU at my vet clinic.
I just picked up some Bupe last Saturday so I still have 3 left. Planning on asking for more Cerenia thoughOne thing I wanted to tell you before tomorrow, if your vet does not have after hrs. or week-end hrs., you might ask for meds (Cerenia & Bupe) to have at home in case Maury would get sick and you could not get in touch with her. Enough to tide you over until you can get in to see the vet. Buddy's old vet would always do this for him.
I'd try 5.8 u, Teresa. The action previously began when you were over 6 u so you're getting to "pay attention" territory. You want those blues and greens, though. It's also important to learn how to deal with them when they happen. I suggest getting a +2 or+3 test whenever you raise a dose and/or get close to a dose that gave you much lower numbers before. Is he eating well?@Kris & Teasel Buddy at AMPS is 333, do you think he needs to stay at 5.6U or could he be raised to 5.8u.
He is eating fine at this time, but you never know about Buddy. I know this is where things start to change, I must admit it has been nice sleeping through the night without getting up to check Buddy. Don't know why yesterday he got at 332 and it does not want to go down. So glad you are here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I'd try 5.8 u, Teresa. The action previously began when you were over 6 u so you're getting to "pay attention" territory. You want those blues and greens, though. It's also important to learn how to deal with them when they happen. I suggest getting a +2 or+3 test whenever you raise a dose and/or get close to a dose that gave you much lower numbers before. Is he eating well?
Glad to help, Teresa!He is eating fine at this time, but you never know about Buddy. I know this is where things start to change, I must admit it has been nice sleeping through the night without getting up to check Buddy. Don't know why yesterday he got at 332 and it does not want to go down. So glad you are here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I bought some yesterday at PetValu, it was awful looking and Buddy would not eat it. Maybe there was something wrong with that can, I bought 2 more so I will check them out too. Most of the food I find cost more than his prescription food and he likes it. I am trying to find something less expensive, the one you mentioned was only .69 . Do you have problems getting Sam to eat.If you find the Winner Winner Chicken Dinner, let me know where. I've been looking for that one and can only find it online. I dont' really want to buy 24 cans until I know if my fussy eater will like it.
Found it yesterday at PetValu for .69. Buddy would not eat it, I must say I do not blame him, I wouldn't ate it either. Maybe something wrong with that can.Oh and I want to try Iams Winner Winner with Chicken Dinner when I find it, it's flaked and the name makes me smile![]()
I will see if I can find those around here. Still have not found FF roasted.Glad you've been able to catch on some sleep, Teresa. Have 2 more food suggestions, Nature's Recipe Grain Free in Broth. Maury liked the Indoor flavour (2% carb) and Blue Buffalo Healthy Gourmet Flaked Chicken (MC at 13%). Both are non-pate
![]()
Heyyy there is a PetValu near my parent's house, just got it a couple years agoFound it yesterday at PetValu for .69. Buddy would not eat it, I must say I do not blame him, I wouldn't ate it either. Maybe something wrong with that can.
. It's the only place I've been able to find the beef liver Pure Bites. Guess next time I'm down there I'll stop by again.I bought some yesterday at PetValu, it was awful looking and Buddy would not eat it. Maybe there was something wrong with that can, I bought 2 more so I will check them out too. Most of the food I find cost more than his prescription food and he likes it. I am trying to find something less expensive, the one you mentioned was only .69 . Do you have problems getting Sam to eat.
What is the beef liver Pure Bites.Heyyy there is a PetValu near my parent's house, just got it a couple years ago. It's the only place I've been able to find the beef liver Pure Bites. Guess next time I'm down there I'll stop by again.
Buddy dose the same thing with food, some food he is crazy about for a while and then all of a sudden he will not eat it. The only wet food that Buddy used to eat was FF Liver & Chicken Grilled, now when he needs HC foods I feed him that.Sam has never not had an appetite, he just gets bored with food quickly and likes a lot of change. I usually have 4-5 different types of food at a time for him, and try to keep rotating in new things. He'll like a food for a few weeks, and then he doesn't want it any more. Sometimes he'll eat it again if I wait a few weeks and re-introduce it. Other times, he's just done with something and will never eat it again, even if he loved it for a few weeks.
I fed him the same high carb foods for years and years before his first round of diabetes, and he never got bored with it. I think the low carb foods just don't taste that good, so he wants something else.
No PetValu stores around here, so I'll keep looking. Let me know if the other cans are any better than the first one. If they're that bad, I'll just cross that one off the list.
I have never given Buddy pumpkin, I bought a can of pumpkin to have here if I needed it. What I have here is human food pumpkin.Teresa and Djamila,
Either of your boys like pumpkin? I have that one pouch of Soulistic Autumn Bounty just sitting on the shelf. Maury does not like that pumpkin. Would gladly send it to either of you
![]()
It's just a flavour that's hard to find in PureBites freeze dried treats. In my early research days I read something about beef liver being good for themWhat is the beef liver Pure Bites.

Well fiddle-sticks...Sam loves pumpkin, but that's too high carb for him. Even the Friskies made his numbers go up after a week or so. I know, I know, they aren't supposed to be that carb sensitive, but he really does give better numbers if I keep him under 5%.
When you gave Maury the pumpkin was it for a bowel issue. I had never heard of Pure Bites treats, will be looking, Buddy needs to have treats.Well fiddle-sticks...
. Some of the PureBites pieces are big so I break of pieces from those I wonder a lot of times is Buddy being picky or is he sick at his stomach. I printed the whole list of cat food to take with me when I go out, it is pretty big.It was just a new brand when he was being really picky but realized when I tried a couple times, and he refused, the flavours had pumpkin in common. Some of the PureBites pieces are big so I break of pieces from those
![]()
Rachel, I noticed Kris was not around, she is the one I bug all the time and most of the time she is on line. I am glad you replied, your thoughts are the same as mine. This same thing happened last Saturday @PMPS and some time the week before. Don't know why we cannot get it right, but we don't seem to be able to. Kris deserves a rest.Hey Theresa, not sure Kris is around right now. If I recall, you've done this before where you waited 40 min and then dosed. I'd say get a test at that point. Maybe then do a 5.6 for a yellow or 5.8 for a pink? Kris might be back by then, but I wanted to give you my thoughts just in case she's not!![]()
Kris deserves a rest.
Rachel, I have went up the dosing scale several times and then back down. I don't know what I would have done with Buddy if she had not been there. I feel bad because I cannot help, but get out your violin I will tell you a sad story about all I do here at home. I am going on with waiting, then taking another reading and giving a shot some where between 5.6U & 5.8UGive it time Teresa...as I scroll through Buddy's SS, I see that you're getting more and more yellow preshot numbers than ever. And you're heading up the dosing scale to break that insulin resistance...and today shows that you're getting there! I think you're getting close to the current ideal dose and when you hit it, you'll see better numbers!
That she does! She works hard here and does so much for everyone...we're grateful she's here and didn't leave when she switched to Lantus!