Buddy's Mom needs help part 10

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Kris & Teasel I need your great dosing advice, Buddy ran in the yellow all day with a dose of 5.6u, I just took PMPS and he is at 67. I am feeding him right now, do you have any dosing suggestions.
 
@Kris & Teasel I need your great dosing advice, Buddy ran in the yellow all day with a dose of 5.6u, I just took PMPS and he is at 67. I am feeding him right now, do you have any dosing suggestions.
Why that little monkey!! Did you test again to make sure it wasn't a wonky strip, Teresa? I was going to say stall without feeding and retest but I see you've already fed him. Here's what I did a couple of times when Teasel threw me a low PS: I fed him, waited 45 minutes, retested and then gave him a lower dose. It wasn't a lot lower, maybe 0.2 u or so. Why not try that with Buddy. Test in 45 minutes and post here. Once we see what that BG is, we can think about what dose to give.
 
Why that little monkey!! Did you test again to make sure it wasn't a wonky strip, Teresa? I was going to say stall without feeding and retest but I see you've already fed him. Here's what I did a couple of times when Teasel threw me a low PS: I fed him, waited 45 minutes, retested and then gave him a lower dose. It wasn't a lot lower, maybe 0.2 u or so. Why not try that with Buddy. Test in 45 minutes and post here. Once we see what that BG is, we can think about what dose to give.
This is what I always do, you have told me to do this before. I was afraid to give him the same dose, so you think maybe 5.4u
 
This is what I always do, you have told me to do this before. I was afraid to give him the same dose, so you think maybe 5.4u
Wait until you have that next test after 45 minutes. Depending on what that number is and taking into account his recent surprises, some thought has to go into the dose you give tonight. I'd like to see the 45 minute test first.
 
Wait until you have that next test after 45 minutes. Depending on what that number is and taking into account his recent surprises, some thought has to go into the dose you give tonight. I'd like to see the 45 minute test first.
I gave Buddy his regular wet food and he was not wanting to eat, so I mixed some HC FF grilled with gravy in his food, to get him to eat. He was picking out the FF and eating only it, his test might be high because of that and if it is low I can give him some EVO dry food.
 
I gave Buddy his regular wet food and he was not wanting to eat, so I mixed some HC FF grilled with gravy in his food, to get him to eat. He was picking out the FF and eating only it, his test might be high because of that and if it is low I can give him some EVO dry food.
Buddy has to eat so his dosing has to work around that. Let's see what the next test number is. :)
 
Buddy has to eat so his dosing has to work around that. Let's see what the next test number is. :)
Buddy came back wanting to eat some more at 8:04, I did a test at that time and he was at 137, he ate until 8:07. Do you want me to wait 45 min from 8:07 or 7:40 which is the 1st time he stopped eating. Sorry, to be such a pest on a Saturday night.
 
Buddy came back wanting to eat some more at 8:04, I did a test at that time and he was at 137, he ate until 8:07. Do you want me to wait 45 min from 8:07 or 7:40 which is the 1st time he stopped eating. Sorry, to be such a pest on a Saturday night.
I would time it from when he stopped eating last. How late will that put him from his usual shot time? That 137 isn't very high but let's see where his next test puts him.
 
I would time it from when he stopped eating last. How late will that put him from his usual shot time? That 137 isn't very high but let's see where his next test puts him.
His shot time varies from 7:00 to sometimes 8:30, it just depends on what is going on with him. He is letting stinkers, which is unusual for him, hope he is not getting sick. He ate a lot of HC FF grilled with gravy, so he should be high. Wonder why this happens at the end of either AMPS OR PMPS, not in the middle. It is always at shot time.
I would time it from when he stopped eating last. How late will that put him from his usual shot time? That 137 isn't very high but let's see where his next test puts him.
Buddy is at 225, I will not be able to stay up late with him tonight. I am to be at church early in the morning, of course if I have an emergency here that is different.
 
His shot time varies from 7:00 to sometimes 8:30, it just depends on what is going on with him. He is letting stinkers, which is unusual for him, hope he is not getting sick. He ate a lot of HC FF grilled with gravy, so he should be high. Wonder why this happens at the end of either AMPS OR PMPS, not in the middle. It is always at shot time.

Buddy is at 225, I will not be able to stay up late with him tonight. I am to be at church early in the morning, of course if I have an emergency here that is different.
OK. He's high enough to dose. What about 4 or 5 u? Make sure you update your SS to show the actual PS number and make a note of how late your shot was. Try for a +2 test to see where he's heading.

Could it be the gravy from the FF that's causing his gas?
 
OK. He's high enough to dose. What about 4 or 5 u? Make sure you update your SS to show the actual PS number and make a note of how late your shot was. Try for a +2 test to see where he's heading.

Could it be the gravy from the FF that's causing his gas?
He had gas when he started eating the FF, In the morning will you be on FDMB, I will probably be in doubt as what dose to give him and I am to be at church before 10:oo a.m. I don't know which to do because I do not understand this.
 
He had gas when he started eating the FF, In the morning will you be on FDMB, I will probably be in doubt as what dose to give him and I am to be at church before 10:eek:o a.m. I don't know which to do because I do not understand this.
I'm usually on around 8 AM, Teresa, after I've taken care of my three kitties. Yes, this is a scary time. Buddy has become more responsive to insulin in a somewhat hit or miss fashion. It's a good sign but the only way to deal with it is by testing and adjusting the dose. And asking here, of course!

I'll make it easy for you: go with 4 u so you don't have to worry tonight. I'd still get that +2 test, though.
 
I checked Buddy at 6:00 & 7:00, don't know if I will be able to leave the house to go to church, I feel like I need to be here to monitor Buddy. I put info on Buddy's SS.
 
Hi Teresa,
I've read the notes on your SS. I think that BG at 6 AM was good considering his dose had been dropped to 4 u last night. You could either give 4 u again this AM or drop it to 3 u for an extra margin because you want to go to church. What do you think of that plan?
 
Hi Teresa,
I've read the notes on your SS. I think that BG at 6 AM was good considering his dose had been dropped to 4 u last night. You could either give 4 u again this AM or drop it to 3 u for an extra margin because you want to go to church. What do you think of that plan?
Do you think it would be safe for me to go to church.
 
I always think your plan's are wonderful, I am going to test him right now. I want to know what you think of his numbers,
 
I always think your plan's are wonderful, I am going to test him right now. I want to know what you think of his numbers,
I think his numbers aren't bad considering the amount of dose tinkering you've had to do because of the curve balls he's thrown. His good dose for now is probably in and around 5+ u but you'll have to inch your way there carefully, from 4 u to 4.2 u to 4.4 u, etc. The old "rule" of hold the dose for only 3 cycles if it doesn't get you out of yellow still applies.

Bumping Buddy's dose up to the 6 u range seems to have reduced some of his insulin resistance. That can mean his responses will be inconsistent. The way through this is to keep up the systematic careful increases even when you see the lower yellows and some blues appearing. There might be times when he gives you a green, even lime green, but those are "blips" you have to get past. They're unnerving but you can't let them halt your dosing routine. You have the stall without food and retest technique as well as the feed, wait 45 minutes and shoot technique. It's scary when they move into a more responsive phase like this but you have to go with it. Eventually, you should get to a stage where he has more blues and dark green on his SS. That's what you want.

For Buddy, you'll always have to dose around his eating issues. It's more important that he eat consistently than eating as low carb as possible. :)
 
If I am home I feel like I can handle him with your help, but I am always afraid to leave him.
I know what that anxiety feels like, Teresa. My kitty is very unpredictable too. It's been better recently but he will still do unexpected things. All I can do is fill up my SS with data, study and learn from it, dose him as well as I can to keep him in good numbers but not too close to the edge and then cross my fingers. I'm lucky in that he's a really good eater so that's something I can count on.

Things have slowly improved since I put him on Lantus back in February. Have a look at my SS sometime to compare the extremes in January when he was still on ProZinc to where he is now on Lantus (at a similar dose range to ProZinc). One thing to note, though, is that I switched to a human meter (finally!) in early June and that has shifted all his numbers lower. He's still doing better and is more predictable on Lantus.

In the end, it has to come down to learning to trust your instincts.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Yong - we have to take a little time for ourselves. You can always leave food out if you have to leave and you're worried he might go too low.
 
I know what that anxiety feels like, Teresa. My kitty is very unpredictable too. It's been better recently but he will still do unexpected things. All I can do is fill up my SS with data, study and learn from it, dose him as well as I can to keep him in good numbers but not too close to the edge and then cross my fingers. I'm lucky in that he's a really good eater so that's something I can count on.

Things have slowly improved since I put him on Lantus back in February. Have a look at my SS sometime to compare the extremes in January when he was still on ProZinc to where he is now on Lantus (at a similar dose range to ProZinc). One thing to note, though is that I switched to a human meter (finally!) in early June and that has shifted all his numbers lower. He's still doing better and is more predictable on Lantus.

In the end, it has to come down to learning to trust your instincts.
I am going to try to see if his vet will write me a script for Lantus. Sometimes Buddy is a good eater too and then other times he is not. He is a little chubby.
 
Teresa, have you ever tried Fancy Feast Roasted/Chunky/Flaked varieties?. I'm pretty sure they're the right one's on Food chart list :smuggrin: but they are not pate. I only got the Roasted Chicken and Turkey flavours, may pick up 1 can of a fish occasionally, for Maury. Think you mentioned Buddy is also not a big pate lover
upload_2017-7-2_9-2-33.png
 
Teresa, have you ever tried Fancy Feast Roasted/Chunky/Flaked varieties?. I'm pretty sure they're the right one's on Food chart list :smuggrin: but they are not pate. I only got the Roasted Chicken and Turkey flavours, may pick up 1 can of a fish occasionally, for Maury. Think you mentioned Buddy is also not a big pate lover View attachment 29499
He ate FF chunky for a while, then would not eat it again.
 
We know how you feel, Teresa, but it is good to do something little for yourself, like church. You'll leave a snack out for him and he usually has his lower numbers around typical nadir time :)
Buddy seems lately to be low around AMPS or PMPS. I did leave food out for him and he ate. I did go to church, today we had the 1st of the month family breakfast where every family is to bring in a dish for breakfast. I was supposed to be there early and stay late, to help clean up. If I had been at home where I could have e-mailed Kris, then I would not have worried.
 
I'm thinking he might like Roasted since he likes the Grilled. Can just buy 1 and see how it goes :)
I looked today for the Roasted, the store I went to did not have any roasted, if they had any I would have bought some. I will keep looking when ever I go out.
 
It is worrisome wben we're not home with them! But I'm glad you went to church..I know how important that is to you. :bighug:
 
Buddy seems lately to be low around AMPS or PMPS. I did leave food out for him and he ate. I did go to church, today we had the 1st of the month family breakfast where every family is to bring in a dish for breakfast. I was supposed to be there early and stay late, to help clean up. If I had been at home where I could have e-mailed Kris, then I would not have worried.
I'm glad you went out to church, Teresa. It's really important that we have time to ourselves or we'll burn out from worry about these kitties. :bighug:
 
@Kris & Teasel AMPS Buddy's number was 326, can I give him a higher dose of insulin than this morning. What do you think should my starting U be.
I'd try 5 u, Teresa. The dose that gave you lime green was 5.6 u and that was on a lower PS. The pinks today are from the too-low doses last night and this AM. What do you think?
 
I'm glad you went out to church, Teresa. It's really important that we have time to ourselves or we'll burn out from worry about these kitties. :bighug:
I do not have much time to myself, 5 kitty's keep me busy. I have 2 others on medication and they have been for a long time. Since Buddy got sick at Christmas time, I do not care about going many places, besides I don't have any money.
 
I'd try 5 u, Teresa. The dose that gave you lime green was 5.6 u and that was on a lower PS. The pinks today are from the too-low doses last night and this AM. What do you think?
That is great, I would like for him to be on 3.6 u, but that is not going to work. So I will go with 5u, off to give injection.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top