Buddy's Mom always needs help Part 11

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think he's just bouncing a little from the blues at night (but it's not a lot so you're probably in a good dose range! :)) I'm going to suggest we wait to see your PMPS before making a dose suggestion but hoping we can hold it :bighug:. PMPS time is about 3 1/2 hours away right?
PMPS is around 7:00 p.m., which is 20 min. away.
 
Hi Teresa! I think I'd suggest sticking with the 5.5u tonight. How are you feeling about the dose?
 
Hi Teresa! I think I'd suggest sticking with the 5.5u tonight. How are you feeling about the dose?
I did not think about him bouncing, I just noticed he had better numbers at a lower dose. I wanted other people's opinion because I had given Buddy a higher dose and his BG # had went up.
 
The numbers you were getting at 5.8 were looking pretty good. Those high ones on 7/17 during the PM cycle were a bounce. It can feel discouraging when we see high numbers like that, but it mean something good happened just before that.

If you want to work your way back towards the 5.8, you could try 5.6 tonight.
 
The numbers you were getting at 5.8 were looking pretty good. Those high ones on 7/17 during the PM cycle were a bounce. It can feel discouraging when we see high numbers like that, but it mean something good happened just before that.

If you want to work your way back towards the 5.8, you could try 5.6 tonight.
I would like to work my way back, right after 7/17 Buddy quit eating and I have been giving him an appetite stimulant to get him to eat. I thought he was feeling better, but at PMPS tonight he is not wanting to eat even with an appetite stimulant. Do you think that raising his dose would make a difference, he ate very little.
 
Hi Teresa,

You could try 5.6 u tonight. His best numbers so far have been at 5.8 u even though you had to steer him.
Kris, I have been giving Buddy an appetite stimulant to get him to eat, I thought he was feeling better, tonight at PMPS he is not wanting to eat. I gave him an appetite stimulant a few hrs ago and he only ate a small amount. Would that make a difference in raising his dose.
 
Does he keep eating if you leave the food out for him? Sometimes Sam only takes a bite or two at shot time, but I know that he'll eat more over the next couple of hours. Does Buddy do that? Or do you think it will be hard to get him to eat later?
 
Kris, I have been giving Buddy an appetite stimulant to get him to eat, I thought he was feeling better, tonight at PMPS he is not wanting to eat. I gave him an appetite stimulant a few hrs ago and he only ate a small amount. Would that make a difference in raising his dose.
ProZinc doesn't hit too fast, Teresa. Do you think he'll manage a tablespoon or two in the next two hours?
 
Does he keep eating if you leave the food out for him? Sometimes Sam only takes a bite or two at shot time, but I know that he'll eat more over the next couple of hours. Does Buddy do that? Or do you think it will be hard to get him to eat later?
I don't know, he has not been feeling well.
 
ProZinc doesn't hit too fast, Teresa. Do you think he'll manage a tablespoon or two in the next two hours?
Kris, I don't know. I have put Forti-Flora on his wet food and he still will not eat. I have been sitting in the floor and petting him, but all he has ate has been a few bites.
 
Kris, I don't know. I have put Forti-Flora on his wet food and he still will not eat. I have been sitting in the floor and petting him, but all he has ate has been a few bites.
Does he show signs of nausea or pain? If you're concerned that he won't eat much or at all thonight you can either skip his shot or give a reduced dose. That's always a guessing game - half his recent dose range?
 
ProZinc doesn't hit too fast, Teresa. Do you think he'll manage a tablespoon or two in the next two hours?
I just got him to take a few bites of FF, maybe he will eat some more of that. I am going to hold off and see if I can get him to eat some more. I will give him 5.6 if I can get him to eat if not I will give 5.5u
 
Do you have any Young Again Zero Mature yet? Maury would eat that right away with his pancreatitis. As long as he ate his YAZ I felt OK giving him his usual dose. I know it was no where near Buddy's dose but read somewhere that 2T of YAZ is almost equal to 3oz of high quality canned food. Oh here it is, post #12 Steph got an e-mail: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/young-again-zero.180721/#post-2001173
I got Buddy to eat some FF classic, he was having nothing to do with his regular food. I gave 5.6u.
 
I'd stick with 5.6 for a few cycles and let's see where it takes him. Just to help him settle in a little...you can always up to 5.8 after you've seen if this dose is effective or not.
Are you up before work on FDMB, that is so wonderful of you. Some of you ladies I don't know how you manage everything. Have a great day !!
 
Last night (Sunday) I was having problems getting Buddy to eat, after a while I got him to eat FF classic. This morning he took a few bites so I thought he would eat more later so I went ahead and gave Buddy His shot. I was wrong he did not eat and I had given 5.6u. I went to look for Buddy and walked by his litter box, he had a massive blow out in his litter box, nothing but liquid. I took a reading of Buddy's BG and it had shot way up.
I took him to the doctor and he said, this time of year cats get a G.I. bug. He put Buddy on an antibiotic, I hope this helps.
 
Last night (Sunday) I was having problems getting Buddy to eat, after a while I got him to eat FF classic. This morning he took a few bites so I thought he would eat more later so I went ahead and gave Buddy His shot. I was wrong he did not eat and I had given 5.6u. I went to look for Buddy and walked by his litter box, he had a massive blow out in his litter box, nothing but liquid. I took a reading of Buddy's BG and it had shot way up.
I took him to the doctor and he said, this time of year cats get a G.I. bug. He put Buddy on an antibiotic, I hope this helps.
Poor Buddy and poor you! Very likely reason for that red.
 
Did both of your kitty's get sick.

No, just Sam. He's been on metronidazole for five days now and seems to be mostly feeling better. Just now he was grooming which he hasn't been doing much this week, so it's nice to see that he's getting back to his usual routines.

You have three cats with this!?!? Oh my goodness, Teresa! You have your hands full! Do you have to pill all three of them?
 
No, just Sam. He's been on metronidazole for five days now and seems to be mostly feeling better. Just now he was grooming which he hasn't been doing much this week, so it's nice to see that he's getting back to his usual routines.

You have three cats with this!?!? Oh my goodness, Teresa! You have your hands full! Do you have to pill all three of them?
Yes, plus Buddy has another liquid to take with his pills.
 
Oh my!!! Poor you AND poor kitties! I can't imagine dealing with 3 kitties all with this same thing. I hope they all feel better ASAP!
 
At this dose level there's not a big difference between 5.6 and 5.7 u, Teresa. Try 5.7 u. How is he feeling? Is he still having diarrhea?
He Is not eating well, he has terrible gas, he has not had a bowel movement this morning. If his AMPS # had not been so high I would have left him at 5.6u. Lately, I have seen so much about cats getting sick from not enough food and insulin, we sure do not need anything else to deal with.
 
He Is not eating well, he has terrible gas, he has not had a bowel movement this morning. If his AMPS # had not been so high I would have left him at 5.6u. Lately, I have seen so much about cats getting sick from not enough food and insulin, we sure do not need anything else to deal with.
He probably doesn't have any poop left in him today, Teresa. The antibiotic might add to his GI distress. Let him eat whatever he wants until he's feeling better.
 
The box of pens were in a silver padded envelope and outside of it was a one time use ice pack. I don't know how cold it was when it arrived as my Mum was here to sign for it and she immediately put the whole unopened package in the refrigerator :). Took about 4-5 days to arrive from Canada :)
 
Lantus does better at slightly warmer temperatures (eg. room temperature for a period of time) but can't be frozen.
What am I doing wrong when I give Buddy 5.6u he has been in the 300's. This morning I gave him 5.7u at 1.00 p.m. he was @278, at 5:15 p.m. he is @ 116. Now I need to raise him up so he can get a shot tonight, but what dose, one is not enough and the other is a little too much.

I ordered Lantus from Mark's Pharmacy today, 5 pens. I pd $10.00 extra for a insulated carrier because of the weather.
 
It sounds like a bounce was clearing so he gave you a low PMPS. When is his PM shot due? You can stall or feed and wait or give a lower dose.
 
It sounds like a bounce was clearing so he gave you a low PMPS. When is his PM shot due? You can stall or feed and wait or give a lower dose.
His PMPS shot is due at 8:00 p.m., I just happened to take a reading at 5:15 and he was at 116 so I feed him and waited for a while and checked him at 6:00 he was at 119 and at 6:52 he was at 115. I have been feeding him, he then would not eat, so I gave him some FF grilled.

Do you think the 300 readings were a bounce. So I wonder if the 5.6U or 5.7u is the best dose.
 
His PMPS shot is due at 8:00 p.m., I just happened to take a reading at 5:15 and he was at 116 so I feed him and waited for a while and checked him at 6:00 he was at 119 and at 6:52 he was at 115. I have been feeding him, he then would not eat, so I gave him some FF grilled.

Do you think the 300 readings were a bounce. So I wonder if the 5.6U or 5.7u is the best dose.
There really isn't a significant difference between 5.6 u and 5.7 u, Teresa. The bigger issue right now is what his PMPS will be and what you can do. How about waiting to get that number and posting it right away here? I'll be checking in.
 
At PMPS @161, he has ate 1 1/4 cans of FF grilled, he will not eat any more. About 1/4 cans he just ate. I do not understand why I cannot get this right. Hopefully, he will do better on Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top