Buddys dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Not looking good lately-went up slightly to a full 1u for tonights shot.Last time he had a bg45 on it and reduction (thin 1) did not stick,maybe this time i will keep him at 1 u if he goes down that low.need to do something different for my poor boy. :YMSIGH:
 
I replied on your other thread, but wanted to add that when the dose is close and there might be a little lower than expected numbers - like a 45 - it seems to work better to hold the dose and see if that will settle out.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
Not looking good lately-went up slightly to a full 1u for tonights shot.Last time he had a bg45 on it and reduction (thin 1) did not stick,maybe this time i will keep him at 1 u if he goes down that low.need to do something different for my poor boy. :YMSIGH:

Yes, a bit of a quandary... doing something different is what I think too. Not as bad as it looks though.

What happened, or seemed to, was this:

4/4: -- unusually low PS of 211, nadir 49, rebound to 411. Hair's breadth reduction which shouldn't have made any difference, but did.
4/5 and 4/6 -- possible reason to hope.. some blues, but this is the shed and/or Buddy trying to sustain what is just a little unsustainable.
4/7 -- shed exhausted, trouble starts again.

The 411 is clearly an inverse reflection of the 49 (Buddy didn't "mean" it) & didn't require a dose response.

Now, Buddy's a little bit stuck.. not bouncy, just high - repeating pink nadirs that should be dealt with. I think 1.0 was an ok dose, as has been suggested, and hopefully still is; but it may become the wrong dose if Buddy's systems allow it to be homeostasized into a high average glucose level. The longer you allow a good dose not to get respect from the glucose level, the more you devalue insulin. You can hold, yes, though that entails more risk -- I would disrupt. Try 1.1 -1.2. Even .8 will break the spell; in other words give a jolt -- high or low, you will shock the system. The book says go higher, and I go with that, but it doesn't mean you can't write your own chapter. Either way you get a second chance.

Ilkka
 
thanks for that clear elaboration Ilkka...Buddy did hit blue today,do you still think i should jolt his system with a slightly higher dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top