Buddy's dental,plse send good vibes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
he is at the vet now, waiting to have his dental. i am worried because this morning at +11 his BG was 75.
It's b/c he didnt eat in 10 hours. At +12 (an hour ago), he was 94. vet that he is good to go and will admin. a glucose IV if he drops,
(he's nver gone down after heading up). i would be more cofortable if he was 150 or 200, but I trust the vet to stop if anything happens.
Please send him your good thoughts- we would really appreciate it! Thanks.
 
Sending 'good and safe dental' vibes to buddy!

He probably won't drop more. Did you skip his shot this am? Sounds like they are monitoring it and will stay on top of it if it starts to drop.
 
No A.m. shot....vet just called to reccomend she pull out all his teeth!!!
she said b/c he's 16.5 y.o. he wont have any more dentals, and his teeth are infected...so i agreed.
Has anyone had this experience,and if so, how did they cope without teeth? i hope i did the right thing by agreeing.
 
Yikes. That's a scary way to make that decision. Had he already lost a bunch of teeth? Did she say if he had Feline odontoclastic resorptive lesions (FORLs)? Those can be hard to manage without a full extraction.

Make sure they give you pain meds for him for several days - buprenex (buprenorphine) is good. As is tramadol (I have not used it, but it was suggested for Jeddie by the surgeon, but oncologist Rx'd the buprenex).

Many cats do ok with full extractions. With a wet food diet, you don't have much to worry about eating-wise. If you give treats like chicken, I think you will have to shred it into small pieces. You might check (search) posts on health about full extractions.
 
Vet said could only see leisons with xray. Just came home and he's all Bup'ed out, swaggering and with a bloody mouth. very scary.
 
How scarey for you and Buddy! Yeouch. How many teeth did he have out? Did they give you enough Buprenex for at least 3 days?

Sending feel better Buddy vibes your way... cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
thanks Laura-he had 9 teeth pulled, the rest were taken out last time , 3 years ago. Enough pain meds-we're both still freaked out.
he hasnt eaten in 17 hours. hope he eats soon b/c i gave a .50u shot (reduced).
 
Poor (((Buddy))). Klinger had 8 teeth removed a few years ago. I'm pretty sure he ate when we got him home - I remember being surprised that he would want to eat. He was a little wobbly too. We had to block off the basement stairs. Klinger's sending him good healing and eating vibes. Glad everything went well.
 
Buddy is slightly better today, bleeding has stopped. Taking Bup very 8 hours. Not eating very much at all, except for tuna juice.
Problem now is whether or not to give AB's. Vet said she got "at least 97% of infection" maybe all, but cannot tell from xray,.
Dr Lisa wrote not to give Ab as preventative, only for present infection.
Pharmacy didn't have liquid AB- i have pills which i can't give him b/c he won't let me near his mouth.
Anyway,I think i'm comfortable with no Ab's, except just read about blood poisining possibilty. Any suggestions regarding ab's?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top