Buddy Surfing Blue - any suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SusanM

Member Since 2017
Buddy Catz seems to be doing ok on .5U Lantus 2x day (self-reduced from prescribed 1U due to lower BG levels). Have home tested since diagnosis; he started in the 300's or so on human meter (Relion Confirm); I switched to Alphatrack due to wide discrepancy between vet meter and my meter in a side by side test. Buddy also appears to have gained back most of the weight lost during the time we were chasing various diagnoses, before confirmed DB and treatment began in February 2017. He is now chubby. Diet changed from various "expensive" canned formulas and Solid Gold Kibble, to primarily Fancy Feast (low carb but high fat), other brands of lower carb/lower fat/higher protein canned foods and small amounts of Evo - 2 other civvies - rescued ferals- are still "into" dry as well as wet foods, and Buddy has been happy with little/no dry. Have just been "winging it" on the feedings time and amounts. Maybe overfeeding (?) . Other symptoms (loose stools and frequent vomiting that were ascribed to IBD) have gotten much better on changed diet, etc. and he is currently off all steroids.
So, the question becomes - what is the next step in getting Buddy Green? Or, is it ok to be Blue?
His diabetes is not being monitored by Vet - he has had no further labs done, and his regular vet (who prescribed Lantus) is moving on this month. Not sure who in the practise will inherit his case.
Yes, I "should" grab a few more evening BG levels.
 
Hello and welcome. Some green is good, though the AT reads a little higher so more blue is OK. Has your vet suggested what numbers to use for the normal range on the AT? And most importantly, what is your goal for Buddy Catz? Are you aiming for regulation or trying for remission?

Do you have a dosing method you are following? With dry food in the picture it would be the Start Slow Go Slow method here. SLGS says to hold the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 150. Of course, getting those PM spot checks will help tell you if he's going any lower on this dose. ;)
 
Hello and welcome. Some green is good, though the AT reads a little higher so more blue is OK. Has your vet suggested what numbers to use for the normal range on the AT? And most importantly, what is your goal for Buddy Catz? Are you aiming for regulation or trying for remission?

Do you have a dosing method you are following? With dry food in the picture it would be the Start Slow Go Slow method here. SLGS says to hold the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 150. Of course, getting those PM spot checks will help tell you if he's going any lower on this dose. ;)

Hi, Wendy&Neko- Regarding "normal" BG's on the AT per my Vet, not really - one of the techs mentioned 80-110 was considered normal, and the Vet said - after I asked - to withold the dose if the BG was 105 or below. As with any meter, I can do 2 consecutive tests on the same drop of blood and get 2 different readings. Kinda frustrating.
Goal is really aiming for remission - Buddy manifested symptoms while on Prednisolone for IBD issues (Nov or Dec 2016 he began Pred) and I brought him into Vet in Feb 2017 after he started losing weight, drinking a lot and peeing a lot and requested a BG test. He was high. So we started Lantus. Now he is acting pretty normal in the drinking/peeing/appetite arena - though he does sleep more than maybe he should. And - he is totally over the ear pokes and shots - his love bites are drawing blood now :-(
So that's the story of Buddy - yes, remission would be best, as I - like many others- do not have anyone else who can test/shoot; my husband barely remembers to give him a noon feeding when I'm at work. Testing/shooting are out of the question.
PM spot checks are somewhat confined to around +4 or so. His spreadsheet has some AM spot checks, though I do understand that BG can go much lower in PM/overnight.
Thanks for your Response!
 
I had a second cat, Neko's buddy, on pred for IBD. I did test him regularly as going diabetic was definitely a concern.

Many people buy autofeeder she to help with those extra meals. The Prtsafe5 is a popular one.

A +4'is a good time for a spot check. It should tell you whether it's an active cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top