? Buddy PMPS 106 shoot or hold?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SusanM

Member Since 2017
Buddy has been holding around the blue/green levels lately. On .5U Lantus - today, he vomited early in am and thusly, AM BG was 143 which is higher than his norm. Using Alphatrack, Today's measurements were: PMPS- 143; +4= 95, +7= 97 and PMPS= 106. To shoot or not to shoot? Dose due w/in 1/2 hour...
 
Thanks for answering - I might shoot short tonight (his vet who just moved out of town - said once to hold the dose if he is 105 or below). As far as eating - Buddy doesn't let a little stomach upset get it his way :-) Since morning, he has had 1 can Fancy Feast liver/chicken; evening meal was 2 oz Tiki chicken and he will be fed again around 10pm. He was diagnosed with IBD last winter, and may be having a flare as he is off Budesonide for a month now. I will be able to test around +4 and have plenty of gravy foods.
 
I assume you are following SLGS, since he is still getting some dry? You should be able to shoot anything above 90 if you were using a human meter. With an AT, it's hard to say what the cut-off would be. If it were my cat, I would shoot and and get a +2 to see where he is headed. Keep in mind that giving a BCS doesn't really affect that cycle, as the depot will make up the difference and the cat will get pretty much the same amount of insulin.
 
He's actually off the dry now - the only one who is! I think he enjoys being fed wet food at least 4x per day. Thanks for your input - guess I'll give him his dose now. Then I can get 2 tests in before my sleep-time (Buddy is wayyyyy over getting poked).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top