I am much more concerned that he had a 66 for a preshot, than the 140 or the 30s in mid cycle. Or even that you shot those numbers. Live and learn, he didn't crash on the dose, but the next cycle is where the real results showed up.
A +12 preshot that low on a cat which has not had steady cycles is a huge red flag to lower dose. The "shoot low to stay low" needs to have the addendum: should only be done for cats who have steady numbers, all other cats use caution.
At least you have enough data to know you should not shoot that low until he has steadier cycles! That's why I say live and learn.
So where do you go with dose now? These doses (1.1, 1.2, etc) are Gandalf's doses. I am dealing with odd cycles with him right now myself. He had a 50 at a PMPS recently. I dropped dose considerably more than you guys are suggesting because again, you want to have room to move up when things settle.
I dropped his dose 30% from 1.3U to .9, then another 16%, from .9U to .75U, when he dropped from 319 to 127 on .9U in 4.5 hours. I based that on how I know his cycles usually play out and that was unusual.
In Buddy's case 1U is probably the highest dose you should use right now. I know you hate to see pink numbers and yes, they might stick around for a while at 1U. But what happens if the dose is a tad too high is the insulin builds up shed and eventually it fills up and spills over, which results in 66 at preshot. Unless you want to continue playing that game, the dose needs to be considerably lower than 1.2U or this will happen again.
At this point you're not working toward OTJ, you're just trying to find a good dose. In my opinion, too much emphasis is placed on OTJ and not enough on how to find the right dose FIRST. The Tilly protocol reads as if you should keep raising the dose till you see 40 or below. Yes, that will get cats there who have the possibility to go OTJ, but the better way is to create euglycemia - getting and keeping the BG levels to normal levels for as much of the cycle as possible.
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Euglycemia
Yes, that's demands tight regulation for those who wish to debate that, but it's what works.
Sorry to place a soapbox in your thread. If something I wrote doesn't make sense please ask for clarification.