Buddy 11/5 AMPS 338

It looks like Buddy could use an increase. This dose has been held for 15 days and nothing lower than 111. However, he has had some nice blues in the PM and wondering if he went lower the PM cycle of 11/3 and is bouncing up in the AM . Maybe some later night test on the nights he is low blues could help to see if he is going lower.
 
Thanks, @Bobbie And Bubba.

Yeah, this morning I resigned myself to another increase. I'm just so worried about him dropping while I'm away since I'm gone so much. I'm also considering reducing the amount of food I'm giving him. Several members recommended that I might increase his food because he always acts like he is starving. I added another can of Friskies and the only change I see is a lot more poop. That cat poops 5-6 times a day; it's awful. Even with the added food, his "starvation" has not changed and he hasn't gained an ounce. I feel like I should hold the dose until after I remove the food, right? I thought I would reduce the food this weekend and then change his dose the following weekend.

Curious to hear your thoughts on that plan.
 
Has his thyroid levels been checked lately? Maybe an increase in his thyroid meds is needed. They can be regulated at one vet visit and by the next appointment, an increase could be necessary.

How's his weight? Is he losing weight or maintaining? How much does he weigh? Is he still eating 13 oz. /day? That is a lot of food, Bubba gets about 5 oz. a day and he weighs 18 lbs.

Sorry for all the questions, must trying to help you brainstorm.
 
Has his thyroid levels been checked lately? Maybe an increase in his thyroid meds is needed. They can be regulated at one vet visit and by the next appointment, an increase could be necessary.

How's his weight? Is he losing weight or maintaining? How much does he weigh? Is he still eating 13 oz. /day? That is a lot of food, Bubba gets about 5 oz. a day and he weighs 18 lbs.

Sorry for all the questions, must trying to help you brainstorm.

No apologies needed, they are good questions and I need all the help I can get. Thyroid was checked about 10 days ago and it was fine.

He actually eats 17 ounces (2 cans of Friskies and 2 cans of FF) a day!! Crazy, right?? He hovers around the 8.5 pound mark. He's maintained that weight for months - regardless of how much food he gets. Even with the increase in food - no weight game but a lot more poop, and I mean a LOT. I feel like it just passes right through him. That's why I feel like I need to take the extra can of Friskies I added back out of his daily regimen. I don't see any benefit from it other than letting him have a few extra minutes of inhaling food but he goes right back to scavenging for food.

I can't believe Bubba only gets 5 ounces a day. I think Buddy would eat his own leg off (and maybe mine too). I do often wonder if I am completely overfeeding him, further driving his numbers up. I just don't know what to think or what to do next. :(
 
Wow...... that is a lot of food........besides uncontrolled diabetes and thyroid issues, the other thing I can think of to make him so hungry would be if he had tapeworms. That is what happens to Bubba when he has them. But, he also gets diarrhea and throws up and twice now his throw up had the tapeworm in it which is how I knew. Has he had a fecal test done recently? All it takes is for them to ingest an infected flea or to eat an infected rodent.

Another thing if you haven't all ready, check for ketones. Bubba could have eaten non stop when he had them. He was only in the mid 200's when he was throwing ketones. But, he was losing weight too. It's worth a check.

I am hoping some others will weigh in.
 
Back
Top