? Buddy 11/15 AMPS 297, PMPS 136 - Dosing advice

Kelly and Buddy

Member Since 2018
Post from a few days ago where he had a weirdly low AMPS: 11/12

Again, I am BAFFLED at this low reading. He NEVER has low PMPS numbers!!

I'm going to stall until about 6:30 but I am concerned about giving his normal dose with this low of a number since he is notorious for dropping much lower at night (at times dropping 150-200 points).

Thoughts from the experts?? @Bobbie And Bubba @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Sue and Luci and anyone else who wants to weigh in.

Poor thing, he's looking at me like "Hey, where's my food? You are supposed to feed me by now!!!"
 
Last edited:
Kelly, I am just seeing this. It's about 1 1/4 hours since you posted and looks like you are didn't shoot.

Keep in mind that we have a saying around here, "shoot low to stay low". It's how Lantus works. When they are in lower numbers the cycles are usually nice and flat. And that said, you haven't shot a number that low before. It would be so nice if he could throw you one on the weekend or another PM that you can monitor and someone is around to hang with you.
 
Kelly, I am just seeing this. It's about 1 1/4 hours since you posted and looks like you are didn't shoot.

Keep in mind that we have a saying around here, "shoot low to stay low". It's how Lantus works. When they are in lower numbers the cycles are usually nice and flat. And that said, you haven't shot a number that low before. It would be so nice if he could throw you one on the weekend or another PM that you can monitor and someone is around to hang with you.

I know, Bobbie, I thought the exact same thing...why couldn't this have happened TOMORROW (Friday) night??? I did shoot him one evening (back in August) when he was at a lowish number (162) and he was only getting .25 units. He dropped to 47 which is why I'm so worried about doing it tonight (with the lack of power situation) or days when I have to work.

I'm already dreading testing him again at 9:00. He'll probably be in yellow. :( But maybe he'll surprise me with another low number tomorrow night.
 
I'm guessing by now you fed him. SS says no shot.

You must work during the day time.

Yes, unfortunately, I leave each day by 7:45 and typically don't get home until sometime between 4:45 and 5:30. It has made this journey even more stressful and frustrating because I constantly worry about Buddy, especially after any dose increase.
 
Post from a few days ago where he had a weirdly low AMPS: 11/12

Again, I am BAFFLED at this low reading. He NEVER has low PMPS numbers!!

I'm going to stall until about 6:30 but I am concerned about giving his normal dose with this low of a number since he is notorious for dropping much lower at night (at times dropping 150-200 points).

Thoughts from the experts?? @Bobbie And Bubba @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Sue and Luci and anyone else who wants to weigh in.

Poor thing, he's looking at me like "Hey, where's my food? You are supposed to feed me by now!!!"

I'm sorry I didn't reply - we've been on the road for the past two days - I was so exhausted last night when we finally got in...barely got Luci squared away for evening...

I know it's frightening to shoot those lower numbers...especially when you can't monitor closely - hopefully you'll get another opportunity to work with those lower numbers soon...and get a feel for how he responds...take your time...no need to rush...
 
Back
Top