Donna & Buddha
Member Since 2009
I am just going nuts trying to figure out Buddha's correct dose of ProZinc. His numbers are up and down the charts and I am so frustrated. Take a look at his spreadsheet.
My instinct is telling me that he's getting too much insulin, that maybe a 1.5u shot tonight might work. But I am so tired of guessing and poking and testing and angsting.
A generic question, increasing a dose of ProZinc (or a long action insulin like PZI) does what? Increases the steepness of the curve, the depth of the curve, the duration of the curve, all or some of the above?
Assuming that Buddha's lowest bg was 136 today, and in hind sight I suspect that it wasn't, then I want to decrease his dose. But if 136 WAS his lowest bg and I want to increase the duration of the insulin, then is that what an increased dose would achieve?
I tried twice to get the pmps number, and came up with HI both times. But we struggled a bit, and I had to get the towel out.
I just don't get it.
My instinct is telling me that he's getting too much insulin, that maybe a 1.5u shot tonight might work. But I am so tired of guessing and poking and testing and angsting.
A generic question, increasing a dose of ProZinc (or a long action insulin like PZI) does what? Increases the steepness of the curve, the depth of the curve, the duration of the curve, all or some of the above?
Assuming that Buddha's lowest bg was 136 today, and in hind sight I suspect that it wasn't, then I want to decrease his dose. But if 136 WAS his lowest bg and I want to increase the duration of the insulin, then is that what an increased dose would achieve?
I tried twice to get the pmps number, and came up with HI both times. But we struggled a bit, and I had to get the towel out.
I just don't get it.