BUD AMPS 503!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
My thought is that maybe the .4 last nite was not quite enough. But I'm not sure that warrants changing the dose this morning. I would stick with .6 just because you know it will give you a shootable pmps. I didn't check your ss...I'll go look to see how .8 affects bud.

Edit: you've shot .75 on you similarly high numbers before and Bud was just barely shootable at his pmps. I don't think I'd go any higher than a fat .6 or .7. But that's just my opinion, and I'm not usually in the business of dose advising.
 
I was afraid you would see higher numbers from the steep drop she got yesterday, her liver panicked and dumped sugar to protect her.

I would stick with .6u for this morning. The bounce will clear in a few cycles and then I would drop back to .4u or .5u to get a more gentle curve and get her PS's even again.
 
Oooh- I like robin's answer better. I hadn't considered that steep drop yesterday as being the cause of his high amps, but it makes perfect sense now. I should've remembered that- I was told many times never to shoot a bounce cuz it'll clear on it's own.
 
I'm not sure it was too high, because she ( do i remember you saying that bud is a girl?) didn't drop too low...she just dropped so steeply that it made her liver panic. So a slightly lower dose like robin suggested will make for a gentler curve which may help her liver not to panic.
 
If I understand this correctly, you would be lowering the dose, not because of the absolute numbers you got, but because the speed of the drop creates problems--the resulting zoom upward. So you want to slow down the rateof the drop.
 
I hope you're correct, Judy, cuz that's the way I understand it.

Yes, Claudia... Bud's a girl! Daughter found her when she was 7 and said "Bud" was her 'buddy'... so, she was Buddy and then Bud Bud ... we actually call her Bud Bud..
 
Sorry, SHE. lol I do know Bud's a girl, but with that name it's hard for me to remember! I should tho, I once had a female cat named Steve. I was an obstinate child...
 
thanks for the reminder about LC for hypo. I sometimes get panicked :roll: and tend to bring out the big guns.
 
Constipation can elevate BG numbers and cause them to be wonky.

See item d)
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 223#p77223

Lactulose [Rx and my preferred] or Mirilax [OTC - and most others prefer] are the answers for that problem if you got it.

Though I have not personally seen a cat with gas have wonky numbers from it I could imagine that could cause pain too. Back when I was a kid on the farm there was this barn kitten that had a big stiff tummy and when you lightly squeezed it it would release it's flatulence. I'm guessing this was because as I remember it was fed milk. Anyway the stiff tummy made me think of that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top