BUD 1/7 Nadirless....

Status
Not open for further replies.

eeraby

Member Since 2010
AMPS 184 0.3u
+3 152
+5 142
+6 146
+7 221

Too conservative on that 0.3u, I guess. :?

Yesterday: 1/6 346 PMPS +5 137 +10 109
 
Well, not nadirless, just not what you were hoping for. It is what I would have done with 184 as a preshot. So now you know, and that is valuable info. Maybe tomorrow a smidge higher than 0.3. It is so hard to be precise with those tiny doses; you are doing a great job, Beth.
 
Hi Beth,
Did she eat any time near the +7? From my experience, nadir's move around - one day it's +8 and the next it's +3.
You're doing a great job!
 
No, she didn't eat. Her plate was empty and she was staring at me like, "PLATE"S EMPTY ... i'm about to perish from lack of food."

Told her she had to wait 20 min. 23 min later, she came down and gave me a head butt.

Tested, then she had a little nosh.
 
Dr. Stepanie called and said the 0.3u AM was a good call.

For the weekend, we're going to shoot 0.3u AM and 0.2 PM (regardless of how high the PM #)

Thoughts/comments *always* welcomed!
 
.3 was not enough in this situation.

I want to EMPHASIZE how little changes of ProZinc make a seemingly big difference especially at the doses you are dealing with. I very much encourage you to think about .05 units increments and read my input about the desired drops from PS to PS in the ProZinc input & suggestions topic - a discussion about ProZinc and how it works & getting the most from it topic from the Sticky. :smile:

If you cannot see to measure that kind of increment then you are not alone and don't sweat it.
 
well we shoot and learn right? if it makes you feel any better i'd kill for those numbers your lamenting over :roll:
 
Wow, look at all those pretty #s you are getting since I last looked, yippee!!!! I would be aiming for something between 0.3 & 0.4, like a skinny .4. I don't understand the going down to 0.2? I can see where you might want to shave a little off the 0.4, but the 0.3 looks too low to me. Well anyhow, hopefully I'm wrong & you'll see awesome #s!!!! If not though, I wouldn't be shy about shooting a skinny .4.
 
I'll try to explain the 0.2..
History: We went to a new vet Tues the 4th because I thought Bud's tummy felt hard and she might have been constipated (wasn't; and we were looking for a new vet anyway). We (the folks on FDMB and I) had decided to shoot 0.6 for several cycles to see how it would go. It was going well until I shot the PM 194 with 0.4. the next AMPS was 508 and I shot 0.6u; +5 was 72 (86% drop). We were looking for a new vet and it just happened that these numbers occured at this visit.

I took Bud's SS in. She went over it IN DETAIL. Long story short, I really like Dr. Stephanie and she, as I, take a very cautious approach to dosage. So, we made a dosage plan, with set rules on doses depending on the numbers. At this point, we're trying to keep her from going too low in the greens (not hypo, necessarily, just into the greens). I realize there's some disagreement on that. We decided to stick with 0.4u every dose through the weekend with some exceptions. One of which was: If she drops below 100 at any time in cycle, Then IF PS is >200, give 0.2u and contact her Else <200 0.1u [EndIF EndIF ;-) ]

The 0.3 was my decision (help from folks here, tyvm!) as I couldn't contact the office. It was based on: 1/6 PMPS 346 0.4u, +4.5 137 ( a nice, but early, 60% drop), and +10 104. My thought (and Dr. Stephanie concurred) was that she'd gone significantly into the greens at nadir. Possibly dangerously low. As she was close to the >200 rule above at AMPS (184) and I would be home and awake with her, I shot more than 0.2u. 0.3u produced and 'OK' cycle and, with hindsight, 0.4 might have been better but I really want to stick as close to the plan Dr. Stephanie and I agreed on.

After discussing Bud's data and weekend dosing plans with Dr. Stephanie (she logs in to look at Bud's SS; what a great vet, eh?) yesterday afternoon, we came up with the 0.3u AM and 0.2u PM. The 0.2u PM is to ensure that she doesn't go hypo during the night.

Now, these dosages are not set in stone... no dose ever is (I've learned ;-)) .. it's mainly for Bud's protection during the night. And I totally agree.

We will re-evaluate Monday

Thoughts and comments always welcomed!
 
Ok, I get ya! I agree with the logic on evaluating the 0.4 dose on the PM cycle 1/6, and though I disagree on going lower than the 0.3, I think I understand where the advice is coming from. Thanks for explaining!!!

Personally, I would not be worried much about hypo (beyond the worry we pretty much ALL have ALL the time :lol: ), because you were shooting 0.6 earlier and you saw good nadirs, with no hypo #s. The only dose where I think you have seen nadirs that warrant a dose decrease (based on that factor, not saying the other dose decreases weren't warranted for other reasons) was the 0.75.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top