Bud 1/5 AMPS 314 0.4u

Status
Not open for further replies.

eeraby

Member Since 2010
1/4 PMPS 501 0.4u +5 213 +10 169

Rob & Harley said:
I may have already said this but Kitties can become very sensitive to the insulin after going low.

I would drop to .2u on a PS of 200 until she proves, with much higher bg's, that she needs more than that. .

Thanks for the warning and suggestion. The big drop from yesterday (AMPS 508 to +5 72)?
 
314 seems pretty good to me. Did you already shoot the .4? I look forward to seeing how she does with that today.
 
yes, I think it's good too. and the +10 169 The 314 was +13

I'm going to stick with 0.4 for shootable numbers for a few days, at least, even tho she may have high numbers for a few days.
 
Thanks, Claudia!

Don't know if you read it, but I got a new vet yesterday (viewtopic.php?f=24&t=33598) that we really like and seems willing to work with us. Very caring and very thorough. She analysed Bud's SS thoroughly. The 0.4 is her suggestion (as well as folks here :D ) and we're going to stick with it for shootable numbers for the next several day.
 
Cuz DH knew it was morning (ie, AM) and put it in there at FIVE am. Bless his heart. we're shooting @7s

SS is correct, now. and I overslept, so AMPS is +13

Poor Bud...
 
O yeas.... I got the new vet to call him whilst I was there so that she could ask him questions that I couldn't answer and he could ask her his directly. and she explained the 'program' we set up. Much better the info come from the vet than from me. DH has selective hearing loss around me. :lol:
 
My dh has that too. He blames it on his younger partying years. :lol: I missed that other thread yesterday completely. That is awesome that you found a vet you feel good about. How did you find her? Did you call around and ask a bunch of questions? Or did you just pick one and hope for the best and get lucky? I ask cuz I really feel that I need a new vet.
 
She's interested in internal medicine. She's young enough and experienced enough... and it's the next closest one to home to try. I liked the whole office staff, also. very 'warm' place.

I had a bit of a wait and watched several people come and go. All seemed very happy and the staff were interacting with them. Seemed there were a lot of folks with rescue and shelter dogs getting help. Seemed they'd all be going there for a long time.

Also, got only a brief, minimal eye brow raise in response to, "I've been getting help from *these people* on the internet.. " :lol:

They also do acupucture. I'd looked around for someone for acupuncture for Chloe (12yo canine with severe hip displaysia) before Bud was Dxd. With working 6 days/12 hours T'giving to Xmas and, with Bud, that got put on the back burner.

OT... Chloe isn't doing well. Had accidents last night and this morning without letting us know she needed to go out. She's very embarassed. We hug her and pat her and tell her it's OK, we don't mind. I think it's her time. We thought we'd have to help her move on T'giving of 09. But she keeps rallying ... and her mind is so alert and she will play as long as she's laying down. But, I see "the look" in her eyes sometimes when she looks at me, now...
 
Not keeping my mouth shut :-D if you don't see better #s by morning I would go up to 0.5u. The risk of waiting is that they can get stuck in higher #s and it's that much harder to get the #s back down. Often I've seen you have to raise the dose beyond what was working before to get any action. You can usually lower it back down then after a few cycles, but it is unnerving when it happens and you can't seem to get those good #s when you want them. I think it's good you are trying this to be sure you aren't overshooting, but just don't stay there too long if it isn't bringing the #s down! Just my 2c.
 
Gotcha!
AMPS 314 0.4u +5 333
PMPS 324 0.4u +5 167

She wrote in 'the plan': If consistently over 400, then call before changing dose. It will run a little high over the next couple of days and takes 4-7 days to reach maximun effect.

Got a call from Dr. Stephanie.. she couldn't get into Bud's SS.. got it figured out. The office called back to say she was in. :-D

All of Bud's blood work and urinanalysis was just fine. No sugar in urine, either.

I discussed being overly cautious and she said that this is only for the next few days... for the 0.2 units if 150-160. much safer does at this juncture. I agree. Same reason for lower dose if she's dropped below 100 any time during the day (0.2u if >200, 0.1 if <200 and call)

"if under 100 PS, don't shoot and call. If I can't get them, shoot 0.1u and feed. (I'd missed the 0.1u in my earlier post)

Thanks for opening your mouth :o
 
Give Chloe lots of hugs from us. You get such a good response to the insulin! Charlie (and me) is feeling a little jealous! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top