Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member Since 2012
Good morning!

It's amps time and buca is sitting at 229! Which is great... but if I give him the full 1u of Lantus is that still ok? He's been on it since Saturday and I don't want him to go too low and I know I've read a lot about Lantus and how you typically won't get a hypo and I know what to do if that ever does happen, it's just that I have to leave for work in an hour and am unsure if the full dose will bring him down too low, because his numbers typically drop right after the shot. I've updated his spreadsheet as best I can between work :? Hope it makes sense...

should I shoot the 1u or go down a bit this morning?


*UPDATE* Gave the full 1u. After a couple hours he's still hangin out at 234. I'll keep updating the SS throughout the day as I can during lunch and break at work :)
 
Re: Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose

For instance... on Monday he went from amps590 to 265 +5. So I'm worried that the full 1u will possibly put his numbers way too low since it came down over 300 points on Monday
 
Re: Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose

229 is still a diabetic number, although lower than what you have been seeing. Yes, give the normal 1 unit of Lantus.

A hypo number is generally 60 or below.

Looks like Lantus is working for your cat :smile: I think you still have a little ways to go until you reach the dose that regulated blood glucose levels.
 
Re: Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose

squeem3 said:
229 is still a diabetic number, although lower than what you have been seeing. Yes, give the normal 1 unit of Lantus.

A hypo number is generally 60 or below.

Looks like Lantus is working for your cat :smile: I think you still have a little ways to go until you reach the dose that regulated blood glucose levels.

Thanks! I did give him the full 1u dose. I have a break in about an hour and I only live down the street from my work so I'm going to check on him and test him to see where he's at. :smile:
 
Re: Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose

In future, if you need a quick answer on a question about dosing, you might want to post on the Lantus TR forum http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. Even if you aren't following the TR protocol, there tend to be more Lantus dosing experts there.

And great news about how well Buca is responding to the insulin.
 
Re: Buca's lowest AMPS BG yet! Do I stick with the same dose

With Lantus, we don't make dosing changes based on the pre-shot numbers, but on the nadir, or lowest point of the cycle. For most cats that's around 6 hours after the shot, though it's important to test often enough to know when that is for your cat...ECID, and my cat, for example, does not follow the typical curve. But that's ok; I know his curve now. The exception is that if you've only been at this a few days, we don't usually recommend shooting the full dose if the preshot is under 200.

I recommend checking out the Lantus tight regulation forum. At the top of the page are several "sticky" topics that talk about dose adjustments, etc. It's great info for you; you can decide whether you're going to follow the tight regulation protocol or the "start low go slow" after reading both options. I never thought I'd be able to follow TR because you will end up giving insulin to much lower numbers, but by the time Mikey was having those numbers, i was ready and everyone was super supportive of us! If you decide you want to follow the more relaxed Lantus dosing, that's also good, and that forum has great info as well. TR usually has more people online at a given time.

Usually (ECID!) Lantus will produce a gentler curve as the numbers get lower. So you may see the preshot numbers get lower, but the nadirs stay similar...this is good and means you are on the right track. Once you have held the initial dose for 5-7 days total, it will be time to take a look at your numbers and work on the dose; closer to two weeks if you're going with SLGS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top