Buca testing at 54BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bucasmom

Member
I am out of town and DH just called bc he tested Buca at 58 +7. Is that good? He's been on 1u for 7 days now. If he's still testing that low come pmps tonight should I still keep the dose consistent at 1u? Never seen these low numbers and DH says he's acting completely normal so he's not going into hypo.

*i haven't updated the SS because I am out of town and DH is looking after things :) *
 
58 is not a hypo number. Is Buca's nadir usually at +6? If so, it should be fine; DH should test in 30 minutes to be sure it's rising.

What insulin are you on? If it's Lantus, are you doing tight regulation or SLGS? Those all factor into dosing. I use Lantus TR; that protocol calls for a reduction if you get a number under 50, but SLGS or other insulins have different guidelines. However, see where Buca is at at preshot. We generally don't recommend that you shoot a number under 200 at this point.

I have to go run errands, but once we know what insulin you're using, I'm sure someone can jump in with more info!
 
Thanks for your reply :)

Yes he is on Lantus 1u bid. But only for a week so far.... I'm not sure exactly what his nadir is yet bc he's sortof been all over the place this week... I was thinking we'd do slgs but now it seems Buca's numbers have forced us into TR which is fine.

DH is at work and will test when he gets home at pmps and if he's below 200 we won't shoot. Tomorrow I'm running a curve so hopefully I'll get a better idea of where he's at.
 
That sounds good. Do drop in on the Lantus TR forum and check out the stickies on top of the page; they have TONS of awesome info. If you want some eyes on the curve, you can post over there as well, everyone is super-helpful and will help you with dosing. My cat is a bit of a weirdo when it comes to dose, so I'm not great at dose advice, but there are tons of knowledgeable people who can help you with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top