BUBBLES in syringe...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweetmelissa444

Member Since 2013
How do I get bubbles out of the syringe when I put Squeak's PZI insulin in? I've tapped it and clicked it with my finger nail and nothing. It ALWAYS has an air bubble in it. Will this hurt Squeak? I take him back to the vet for his first BG on insulin. I've tried at home - he has a different agenda. He smells that rice sock and is GONE. We had a few bad experiences at first and he wants NO part of it. Thanks!
 
That don't really hurt anything -you just waste a little insulin and aren't sure about the dose. Since you aren't inserting the needle into a vein, no harm done.

There are discussions all over the site (just search bubbles in syringe) that suggest the best type of needles to avoid bubbles and how to get rid of them. Here is one idea:
. . . It involves working the plunger back and forth 3 or 4 times, then pushing it in forcefully and holding it in (this gets all the air out of the syringe). Next, still holding the plunger all the way in, insert it into the insulin pen. Now you can relax your hold on the plunger. Slowly draw out about a unit more than you need, remove the syringe from the pen, and slowly twist the plunger until you reach your dose. The most important step is pushing the air out of the syringe before you insert it into the insulin.

Note they are using Lantus so they talk about a pen. You would do the same with a vial.

Have you considered the kitty burrito? We used it with Oliver at first and after he realized he would always get a treat, he didn't need it anymore. We lightly wrapped him in a towel with only his head sticking out. We had him next to the arm of the sofa so we could lightly push him into the arm, but you can also have him between your legs. If he doesn't like the rice sack, you can use a prescription bottle filled with very warm water. It has no smell.

Weren't you the one near Lisa (Bookworm)? Has she contacted you about helping?
 
Thanks Sue; I'll try the burrito method but with Squeak being a little wildman, he may NOT go for confinement. Just in his cat cage, he goes ballistic but it's worth a try. And, I need a 25+gauge lancet. I got 35+and I think they are too slender. I didn't want to hurt him, and now I'm getting NO blood so it's not helping anyone.

No, I have not talked to anyone, not even Lisa (bookworm.) Is she near me? Thanks, Sue. Lisa & Squeak
 
Yes, 35 are way too skinny. 25-27 would be much better.

Lisa lives about an hour from you but said she would be willing to come help. (She was on a trip last week.) I sent her a private message.

Please be careful with the BG levels the vet gets. That are likely to be higher than those at home. If Squeak is a madman in the crate, he is probably very stressed at the vet and stress raises bg levels, sometimes over 100 points higher than at home. If that is the case, the vet may want to raise the dose, but we will urge you to try the testing at home for longer before raising the dose.
 
You may find it helpful to do some behavior training outside of the testing stuff.

Decide on a behavior you want to encourage - something small, like "Up" when you want him to get up on something or "Down" if you want him off something.

Find a reward he likes a lot - sometimes it is food, but it could be a particular toy, or being brushed, and so on.

Training sessions should be short and frequent. Cats learn well with repetition.

Lead him into doing the behavior you want to reward, say the command which goes with it, and give the reward.
Ex. You want him to jump up on something, say "Up", lead him with the reward to jump up, and reward.

You might work on Up and Down, Come, or any other behavior you want to encourage.

Eventually, you might add "Test" with small steps shaping the behavior slowly.
At first, that may mean you just massage the head and ears, and treat.
Then you might add in holding a specific ear and treat.
Add in putting on some Neosporin ointment with pain relief and treat.
Wiping off the Neosporin and treat.
Testing and treat.

Meanwhile, check the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature link for some additional tactics for assessing him. Ketone testing in particular, is important, as high ketones may indicate diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA), a complication of diabetes which can be costly to treat and is potentially fatal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top