Bubbles First AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
I finally got an AMPS. I was running very late. I fed her. Mixed halfcan FF Classic with halfcan FF Medley, and I let her start eating and I managed to get blood without a fight. :cool: But now I am wondering...her BG was 271 and I was 4 hours late with the insulin...so now I am thinking I have to be very careful as I transition her to Classic. Should I lower the dose for the next shot? Or wait a a few days? Now I have to get a PMPS tonite. I hope she cooperates. And because I was so late with this shot, how many hours til the next? I need to get her back on schedule. I screwed up being so late this morning. :oops: Why is she still peeing so much ? :? I really appreciate all your help. nailbite_smile
 
You could give the shot at +11 if she is sure rising and over 200. I would change her to Clssssics and try .5 for a few cycles. If that's not enough, increase. She is responding well to the insulin. I always prefer starting lower and adding as needed
 
Thanks for the advice. My fingers are crossed for cooperation with the testing. I am off this weekend, so I can keep a closer eye on her. My vet wants to test her some time next week. Wait til he sees what I have been up to... :lol:
 
greenae said:
Thanks for the advice. My fingers are crossed for cooperation with the testing. I am off this weekend, so I can keep a closer eye on her. My vet wants to test her some time next week. Wait til he sees what I have been up to... :lol:

It does get easier. My surgar-kitty was diagnosed in February and I thought I was going to lose my mind.....UNTIL...I found FDMB. Awesome members helped me soooo much.

I have to LOL at your comment about your vet
"Wait til he sees what I have been up to..."
My vet told me to dose 1.5 unit 2X and not to worry about testing....after they kept RumpelT overnight for a curve...sure her numbers were high at the vet....Stressed Out. My kitty 'hypo'd at that dose!!! Thank goodness I was already on FDMB and had important info from here. During the hypo incident, members were right with me until Rumpelteazer was okay. I had called vet....was not in...left message with tech...vet did not call me back until the next day (WTH) !!! I will do my own curves Ms. Veterinarian! RumpelT has not been to the vet since March....I was only getting my U-40 syringes from them....I have recently purchased U-100's from my local CVS and use the conversion chart...half the price :-D RumpelT is due for a check up soon and if I may quote you....Wail til (she) sees what I have been up to (LOL).

FDMB members have given me guidelines for dosing along the way and I have been able to logically figure out what to dose depending on numbers. We are at very low doses now. Since you are new to the sugardance....lower doses will eventually be doable...keep your ss up to date so that FDMB members can see what is going on and be able to help you with questions better.

I am not advising you to not go to your vet next week or make extreme adjustments to dosing....just want to let you know that FDMB is the best place to be for help and tell you my vet experience tail (tale).
 
For sure Bubbles was VERY stressed at the vet when she had blood drawn and was diagnosed! She's only been to the vet 4 times in 15 years :shock: In defense of my vet, (I just switched to him after my previous vet ticked me off regarding unnecessary tests and vaccines for my dogs), he is backing me up with this 100%, just wants one follow-up Chemistry and CBC. He hasn't charged me yet for PZI or syringes for the first month. He is beloved in my area for his understanding and under-charging. What's really funny is that I told him that no way would I be doing BG's or changing her food. Complete Reversal! :o
And solely because of all the assistance I have received from all of you. We are up for this challenge. Another question...can I just purchase U-100 syringes? Do I need a prescription? He is switching us to a PZI that uses U-100.
 
Sure sounds like you have a wonderful vet. :-D The follow-up you describe is a good thing. If you can, show him the numbers you have, but let him know that you are using a 'human' meter. Vets usually use the AlphaTrak and the numbers differ compared to human meters. Next time I go to my vet..I will indicate that the 'ranges' not exact numbers are what we should be looking at.

Usually ProZinc (if that is the one being prescribed) uses U-40 syringes...did vet specifically say to use U-100's?

I live in PA and bought my U-100's at CVS....did not need a script, but they keep them at the pharmacy. I am not sure how your state (NY?) works. If you call the CVS pharmacy and ask, they will tell you. I switched to the U-100's because RumpelT is on very low doses now and it is easier to measure them + my CVS is very local and open 24/7. If you use the U100's with ProZinc make sure you use the conversion chart ...there is a link on FDMB...can't remember where right now, but will post it to you when I find it :smile:

Feel free to take a look at Rumpelteazer's ss to see how she has come along. NOTE: Don't dose according to what I have been doing...just take a peek to see how it is set up.

Yikes...I work night-shift....better get my butt downstairs and do litter boxes :roll: and get myself fed/showered/etc and ready for the daily 7:30PM PMPS / feeding / shot hoopla so I can get a few hours sleep. Gotta run...might get a chance to post back to you later.

BTW....my civvie JaRule is a calico too. Bubbles is a cutie. cat_pet_icon
 
There is U100 BCP compounded ProZinc that you use w/o the conversion chart. We have no one presently using it, but members in the past have. As Misty said, if you use U40 PZI with the U100 needles, yoi need to use the conversion chart. Be sure to check with the vet whether your PZI is U100 or U40.
 
Woohoo!
I got a 101 at +6! And Bubbles got a lil FF Classic as a treat.
My Vet is switching PZI to the one that uses U-100 syringes. So we may be switching when I run out of this "regular" PZI. I am thinking of lowering her dose as I check her numbers because we started the transition from FF Medley to Classic. I am giving her halfcan of each today. PMPS will be later tonite because I shot her so late this am. Keeping an eye on her, for sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top