? Bubba's curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debbie Do

Member
Would someone please visit Bubba's sheet and look at today's curve? Preshots are high but he drops pretty low, so I'm not sure what to do going forward.

When he did this at the vet a few months ago, she bumped him up to 5. His preshots dropped to the 100's and his nadir was in the 50's. Of course, this was before I found you guys, I wasn't testing, just blindly shooting the poor cat.

His Prozinc has been open for 30 days.

Thanks!!!
 
Not a bad looking curve. Slow move down to a nice nadir - not too low - and then slowly back up. ProZinc curves look like smiles and he had a great smile! As long as your preshots are in the 300s, the dose looks good to me. If his preshot would be in the 200s, I'd lower the dose.

I think, considering the high carb food he is getting, that things look as good as possible.
 
I removed his kibble snacks 'cause seemed like he was going up after I let him snack on it a couple of days. He last had kibble Friday evening, about 15 grams. He's mostly wet under 5 carbs, he just doesn't eat much of it. :( This morning he had about 1 1/2 cans Tiki, and only ate 1 can this evening. He baffles me.

What concerns me is the preshots. They still seem high to me, particularly since my meter reads lower than an AT. Am I not trying to achieve under 200?
 
Today's amps was nice. Yes, it'd be nice if they were always in the yellows. The other thing to consider that you want him to be under the renal threshold, which we think is in the 250s, so his kidneys can heal. He is below that threshold most of the cycle.

Does he still eat CITK? I can't remember it's carb count. Glad his kibble is gone. Does he like PureBites or Bonito flakes? Both are low carb treats and can be used to "dress" wet food, which reluctant eaters sometimes like.
 
The CITK is mostly 5 and below, I think, and all are under 10. He likes PureBites chicken, and I recently bought a can of freeze dried chicken from an emergency food supplier, which he also likes and it's more economical. He's such a prima donna cat. What he scarfs down one day, he turns up his nose the next; gives me a look of "Really, human?" I digress...

He was under 200 this morning so I didn't shoot him, and mid day was over 300, then evening was back in the 200's. It's always in the back of my mind that this meter read so much lower than the lab test, that I'm really keeping him in numbers that are too high. When he's just under 200 my glucometer, should I still shoot 3 units, or give a lower dose?

Thank you for talking to me about Bubba. I really appreciate it. :)
 
The curve looks good. A perfect smile, not too low at nadir. If he is near 200, stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If he is over 200, then shoot - maybe a little less than the cycle before
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top