Bubba 10.10.16 Day 3 OTJ Trial AM 105,PM =77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Bubba 10.9.16


The roller coaster continues! I am going to pretend that with meter variance this is an 80 or because I didn't feed him fast enough and he was disgruntled that I had to go down in the basement and get another case of his rabbit that he got a bit stressed.

Work with me here, Bubba and stay green. :D
 
Don't panic Bobbie! It's still a normal number even though it isn't green! Take a look at Boomer's ss....there are a lot of blue AMBGs there when he is OTJ. But the +3s are really good :D
 
Stay green, dude!!!! My next task on this board is to peep in on everyone and see what they feed. I think diet is such an important part of their health... there's no doubt about that. I've also been told that rabbit is a very "cleansing, healing" meat for them to eat...
Have a great day guys!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Love that you are tracking mouse snacks on his SS! :joyful: Now I'm curious what they'll do to his BG.

You can do it Bubba.
Yeah, I am curious too, so I tested him 3 hours after he came inside at 11.45 (+5.75) to see where his BG's were and he was still 104. I only saw him eat 1 mouse but who knows......... Tomorrow if he's a blue pre shot and I not letting him outside until after I get a +3 or +4 otherwise I don't know if he is able to come down on his own. I knew this would be a problem letting him outside doing the OTJ trial........
 
Just thinking out loud...
Didn't Bubba become constipated when he was let outside right after his first OTJ trial... his numbers rose a little and you had to increase his Miralax dose... and then his numbers came back down? Or am I thinking of another kitty?
 
Just thinking out loud...
Didn't Bubba become constipated when he was let outside right after his first OTJ trial... his numbers rose a little and you had to increase his Miralax dose... and then his numbers came back down? Or am I thinking of another kitty?
I think you are right and it was the beginning of the trial and he had spiked to 153 but, at that time I wasn't letting him back outside yet. I waited till the trial was over and then let him out. Right now, he is getting 1/4tsp of miralax twice a day. Hope today is a fluke and he will come back down to greens.

Here's a question: with last night's 73 for PM number, if he went lower through the night, could he bounce off his own insulin production?
 
I think bouncing off one's own insulin is pretty rare, but not unheard of. Trix actually used to bounce of her own insulin - she would even bounce over 200, and they take major dives a few hours after eating. If you look back at her 2014 SS, mainly summer-ish, you'll see some of it. However, after she had a course of antibiotics the following spring, her bouncing stopped...I don't know if that was a coincidence, or if the underlying infection (that really wasn't causing visible symptoms) was causing the bounciness. She is an odd OTJer....
 
I think bouncing off one's own insulin is pretty rare, but not unheard of. Trix actually used to bounce of her own insulin - she would even bounce over 200, and they take major dives a few hours after eating. If you look back at her 2014 SS, mainly summer-ish, you'll see some of it. However, after she had a course of antibiotics the following spring, her bouncing stopped...I don't know if that was a coincidence, or if the underlying infection (that really wasn't causing visible symptoms) was causing the bounciness. She is an odd OTJer....
Amy, actually , before I asked that question about bouncing off natural insulin production, I was just looking at her SS and was amazed at the higher numbers she had in 2014 and 2015 and no shots and then she just started coming down. Why was that?
 
Come on, Bubba, gotta keep those numbers down! Day 3 Cheerleader wants some green to cheer about, lol!
cheerleader 5.jpeg
 
Here's a question: with last night's 73 for PM number, if he went lower through the night, could he bounce off his own insulin production?
It's possible, but not probable. What I mean is it's unlikely, but on rare... very rare occasions we have seen it happen. I've been here over 10 years and I've only seen it happen twice in all that time. Riggs was the first: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15S8r8jgDEAToxAYH9ItjBC621BioKTE9VMwxvQEJKtc/pub. Riggs was shot as needed... could be as soon as +6. You have to scroll all the way down to February 2009 to watch him bounce without insulin on board. Amy's Trixie was the second: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...-DhLCnT76g7jRYBEY/pub?hl=en&hl=en&output=html.

ETA: Amy just posted. LOL! It took me so long because I couldn't find the link to Riggs' ss.
 
It's possible, but not probable. What I mean is it's unlikely, but on rare... very rare occasions we have seen it happen. I've been here over 10 years and I've only seen it happen twice in all that time. Riggs was the first: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15S8r8jgDEAToxAYH9ItjBC621BioKTE9VMwxvQEJKtc/pub. Riggs was shot as needed... could be as soon as +6. You have to scroll all the way down to February 2009 to watch him bounce without insulin on board. Amy's Trixie was the second: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...-DhLCnT76g7jRYBEY/pub?hl=en&hl=en&output=html.

ETA: Amy just posted. LOL! It took me so long because I couldn't find the link to Riggs' ss.
How about that. Well, I am grabbing for straws to explain today's blue run. I'll see how this goes for the next few days. Thanks for responding and giving me those links to look at. :bighug:
 
Amy, actually , before I asked that question about bouncing off natural insulin production, I was just looking at her SS and was amazed at the higher numbers she had in 2014 and 2015 and no shots and then she just started coming down. Why was that?
She could bounce and dive like crazy...and she really wasn't much of a bouncer when she was ON insulin. The only theory I have behind her stopping the bouncing is that she had some sort of long-term low-grade infection that was causing it. In the spring of 2015 (already OTJ but bouncy for almost a year), she had her usual post-vetty p-titis flare and that time, the vet suggested we try Zenequin because they were finding about 50% of p-titis cases actually were caused by bacteria. On top of that, she had a very mild UTI that was asymptomatic and only showed in her culture...it was so mild that it didn't show until the third day of the culture! So she was on a second AB for that, too. All tolled, she was on ABs for about a month, maybe a bit longer, and it was during that time that her bouncing started to settle down.
 
Bubba 10.9.16


The roller coaster continues! I am going to pretend that with meter variance this is an 80 or because I didn't feed him fast enough and he was disgruntled that I had to go down in the basement and get another case of his rabbit that he got a bit stressed.

Work with me here, Bubba and stay green. :D
He's doing great, Bubba.

I saw a frame labeled "mouse". Did he catch one? Eat it?
 
She could bounce and dive like crazy...and she really wasn't much of a bouncer when she was ON insulin. The only theory I have behind her stopping the bouncing is that she had some sort of long-term low-grade infection that was causing it. In the spring of 2015 (already OTJ but bouncy for almost a year), she had her usual post-vetty p-titis flare and that time, the vet suggested we try Zenequin because they were finding about 50% of p-titis cases actually were caused by bacteria. On top of that, she had a very mild UTI that was asymptomatic and only showed in her culture...it was so mild that it didn't show until the third day of the culture! So she was on a second AB for that, too. All tolled, she was on ABs for about a month, maybe a bit longer, and it was during that time that her bouncing started to settle down.
When I was looking at her SS I wasn't getting why you weren't freaking out with all those blue pre shot numbers; now it makes sense . Are you still using the Relion Confirm meter?
 
When I was looking at her SS I wasn't getting why you weren't freaking out with all those blue pre shot numbers; now it makes sense . Are you still using the Relion Confirm meter?
Oh, I was freaking out for quite some time. It was a very rough time period in Trix's FD. The only reason I suddenly stopped her insulin was because she got very, very sick with a really bad case of p-titis. At first she was running pretty low numbers and her appy was really bad, so I stopped shooting, thinking it was going to be a temporary insulin break. Then as the p-titis started to settle, her "PS" numbers were going up, but her appy was still poor, and then I'd see her numbers plummet despite eating (I was assist feeding her, so she was getting food). Her appy was pretty rough for quite some time - I assist fed her for something like 4 months. And her BGs would always dive into normal numbers a few hours after eating no matter where she started. I was asking if I should go back to shooting on a daily basis for quite some time, but we just held her without juice after Jill said she felt Trix was bouncing off her own insulin...shooting just seemed to risky. She was actually off insulin for a couple months before I had the courage to really declare her OTJ. She is an enigma, that's for sure.

I've been using an Arkray Vital for quite sometime...I can't remember when I retired the Confirm, but if I remember correctly, I only used it for a short time.
 
Oh, I was freaking out for quite some time. It was a very rough time period in Trix's FD. The only reason I suddenly stopped her insulin was because she got very, very sick with a really bad case of p-titis. At first she was running pretty low numbers and her appy was really bad, so I stopped shooting, thinking it was going to be a temporary insulin break. Then as the p-titis started to settle, her "PS" numbers were going up, but her appy was still poor, and then I'd see her numbers plummet despite eating (I was assist feeding her, so she was getting food). Her appy was pretty rough for quite some time - I assist fed her for something like 4 months. And her BGs would always dive into normal numbers a few hours after eating no matter where she started. I was asking if I should go back to shooting on a daily basis for quite some time, but we just held her without juice after Jill said she felt Trix was bouncing off her own insulin...shooting just seemed to risky. She was actually off insulin for a couple months before I had the courage to really declare her OTJ. She is an enigma, that's for sure.

I've been using an Arkray Vital for quite sometime...I can't remember when I retired the Confirm, but if I remember correctly, I only used it for a short time.
Thanks so much Amy for explaining it all to me. I remember when I first arrived at Lantus, someone saying something about Trixie "unconventional OTJ" but I just didn't know how it all went down. Wow, those were some rough times you had for quite a while. I am so glad that Trixie is the "poster child" for good BG's ;)
 
Beautiful PM #! Yay Bubba!
This Trial stuff is not for the weak at heart..........You know the little lecture I gave you about "trends" , "not looking at one number or one day"? Well, that went out the back door mid cycle today when Mr. Mouse Lips hadn't seen a green all day. GEEZ.......

They can do it again, Asrael!
 
Last edited:
Bubba's certainly going to work this trial his way, Bobbie. You know, ECID. And he's normal. (Well, number wise, anyway.;))

Here's hoping he cooperates with your way on this trial a little bit, too.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top