I did answer you above about the dose, but I know that the posts can come fast and furious and it's very easy to miss things. Go ahead and stay with this dose for the moment. There's nothing to say it's too high, but as you get more tests in, it will become obvious to us if it is. I would not restart at 0.5u - that is extremely low and may leave Keiko in high numbers unnecessarily.
julie & punkin (ga) said:
the link I gave you to ADW has 0.5u markings. No syringes have anything smaller than that. The Thinpro syringes have a skinnier barrel, though, so you can adjust by 0.25u increments without too much trouble.
No, don't change his dose yet. Let us look at the ss and ask you questions first.
There is a weight-based formula for starting a cat out on Lantus - it's 0.25u/kg of cat's ideal weight. Keiko's a hefty guy at 17.5lbs, so i did the calculator based upon 15lbs. That starting dose is 1.7u. So his 2u is in the ballpark.
Also, the fact that you're using an AT is very significant. That means that your test results are higher than most of what you're seeing on this forum. Most people use a human meter. In lower numbers, a 68 on an AT is equivalent to about a 50 on the human meters. As the blood sugar is higher, the difference between human meters and the AT increases, to somewhere about 30-40% when you're in higher numbers. Her numbers aren't as high as it looks - they are high, but a 400 AT is roughly 300 human meter, and a 300 AT is roughly 225 human meter.
Would you please add
"AT" in bold and color, on both your signature line and the spreadsheet so we know the numbers are on an alphatrak. It would also be good to have his weight in your signature line.
We really need some night cycle tests to help us know how low Keiko is going. Whatever nights you're with him, would you get some tests in so we can see how he's doing - even one test 2 hrs after the pm shot will tell us a ton. Cats very often are lower at night. I'm sure that sounds ridiculous when we're looking at these high daytime numbers, but we do see cats that have completely different lower cycles at night. There is a thing called
Dawn Phenomenon that causes higher morning blood sugar in all diabetics. I think it's likely that Keiko actually needs more insulin, but because so many cats are lower at night, I'm reluctant to just say increase when we can't see for certain that he isn't lower at night.
You have some flexibility with the Lantus scheduling. We do try to stick to 12 hr cycles, but if a cat is high, for example, you can shoot early. There isn't going to be a perfect solution for you - both Lantus and Lev are shot on 12 hr schedules. I think the best solution is for you to try out what you need to do and see how Keiko responds.
Most people break up the meals into at least 4 per day - i fed punkin 3oz at preshot and 1.5oz at +3. Sienne was saying above that breaking up the meals is easier on the diabetic cat's pancreas. It also spreads the carbs out to help even out their blood sugar. Typically, you want most of the day's food at preshot with some more given between then and about +4 or so.
If you can get a couple of consecutive evenings with a test at any point in the pm cycle, +2 or later, to help us be sure he's not going lower, then I'd say you should increase his dose. His nadirs are in the 200's on a human meter (328 8/30 = 240ish human meter) so if you learn from testing that there are no lower numbers in the evening cycle, you could increase by 0.25u.
Tight Regulation Protocol: (remember, these are in human meter numbers, not AT)
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You may want to consider getting a human glucometer - there's a lot of translating that you'll have to do if you continue to use the AT. It's not impossible, but most people here find that it's so cumbersome to compare numbers, and with the cost of the AT strips being about 10x more than human glucometers, it's just easier to use a human meter. Most people buy Walmart brands and then get the strips from American Diabetes Wholesale. They have Arkray generic strips that will work with the Walmart meters - you do need strips and meters that go together. You can also get an Arkray meter & strips from ADW. Generic test strips are well less than 10 cents each, compared to $1 per strip for the AT. Plus you can only get the AT strips from a vet. With the number of tests that you'll end up doing, it's very cost-effective to get a different meter, but it's up to you.