Bruno AMPS 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
My first post on this board. Bruno was diagnosed with diabetes last March, we started slow but were doing more o r less, then decided to see an endocrinologist who kept him at the vet´s for 10 days!! And could not stabilized him. They changed Protofam (PZI) to Lantus, then decided he will be ok without insulin and started giving him tablets. After people at the board advises, I took him home, and try what the vet said, 1/10 Metformin in the morning after breakfast and insulin only if he was over 15. The next couple of days he kicked around the 30´s (I use the world measures since I live in Ukraine now). I decided not to listen to the vet and we started 2 days ago with 0.5 Lantus every 12 hours. I think we are doing much better. Here´s our chart:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
 
Welcome to Relaxed! Sometimes the board is a little slow so in case of an emergency, feel free to post in the Main Health forum or in Lantus TR.

I'm not sure what metformin is? Are you still giving it?

Bruno seems to be adjusting well. How are his numbers today?
 
Welcome to the board! I am fairly new here too. My Georgie and I have been members for a few months now. This group has been such a help for me and I'm sure you will find it very helpful too. Hopefully Bruno will get some really good numbers!
 
This morning numbers at 6:30 am 315, before Lantus 387 but he already eat (he was asking me since 5:30 am). For the last couple of days we´ve been steady around the
300´s but he´s having only 0.5 Lantus. I´m wondering if it will be ok to increase the dose. I read it should be increased by 0.25 each time, but it´s very hard to calculate 0.25, I use the 30u. syringe, are there others that can be use to measure better?

As I mentioned on the main forum, this forum is great! I don´t know what I would have deal with this without all the support. I live in Ukraine, vets are not great. I took him first time with measures around the 200´s, and they decided he should stay for a week, it was 10 days in the end, and gave him back with numbers around the 400-500´s! Because the vet decided the PZI insulin was not good for him and changed him to Lantus.

Now I don´t want to take him back to PZI, because I know it´s not good to change treatment every week, so will try to get along with Lantus since I heard so many good things about it, just maybe the dose is too small.

Metformin is a tablet for diabetics, vet thought since his doses of insulin is too low he might be ok with just a tablet. That was not correct, his numbers jumped to the 500´s.

I am also having a bad time giving him the Kreon 10000 and the Antral (apparently both to protect the liver), is this necessary? Any of you using any of these?

For the new ones, I must say welcome and we will make it together through this ))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top