Bruce PM nadir

BruceWayne

Member Since 2022
Finally got a midnight reading and Bruce went down from his highest reading yet at 444 to 80 at +5.

Today is my day off work so I’m doing a curve, but I’m guessing the whole thing will be tainted by his bouncing.


Wondering if PZ is the best insulin for him or wether we should switch to Lantus?
 
Also I know SLGS calls for a reduction whenever you get a nadir below 90 but I’m hesitant to drop him back to 1.25u.

Ordered an automatic feeder so we can make sure he has food available around midnight.
 
That’s quite a drop. You might consider a switch of insulin and it may even things out - but even if you do, it could take a while. Some cats are pretty flat on Lantus while others are just divers and bouncers. I am not discouraging it, I like Lantus. It’s just early days still with Bruce.
 
Hi. I'm just peeking in on Bruce but I will wait until you update your spreadsheet. I hope all is going well and he will break his bounce.
 
He seems to be pretty unpredictable overall. Haven’t been able to get many mid-cycle readings but he never seems to go below 150 or so during the day, but that one midnight read I got on him was 80?

Does anyone give their cat different am/pm doses? Or should I just stick with 1.5u and hope he starts to even out?
 
Im going to try and get a PM reading tonight. I just can’t sacrifice too much sleep since I work long hours driving a mail truck all day long.
 
We usually try to give it about 2 months of consistent doses, testing, and methodical increases/decreases before considering uneven doses. His spreadsheet looks pretty normal to me, just bouncing.

As for the Lantus question asked awhile ago - yes the vast majority of cats do better on Lantus as it's more gentle. But it still takes time to stop bouncing and settle into lower numbers.
 
We have so little mid-cycle data on Bruce (and especially at night) that I don’t feel comfortable advising. I think he needs more insulin. He seems to sometimes make a slide down to blue at the end of the day. I hope his PMPS Will be up so we can see if he was on his way up already.
 
Can your wife get any tests on Bruce on the days she’s not working? I just wish we could fill in the picture on the spreadsheet better in order to make good decisions for Bruce.
 
I know more data is always better but we have gotten over 30 mid-cycle readings in the past 25 days. We’re also a little concerned about his quality of life with all the testing. He spends a lot more time underneath our bed than he used to, and is much more on edge around us now. Trying to find a balance
 
We think he’s going into remission. We’ve been gradually lowering his dose and today we didn’t get a single reading over 100. We gave him .4 units this morning, he was 96 amps and the lowest reading we caught was 71 at +6. He was 98 pmps this evening and we decided to skip his pm dose and see what he reads in the morning.
 
Maybe we should have given a token dose, like .25 or so? I’m kind of curious to see what his numbers look like OTJ.
 
Is the spreadsheet updated? I can't see anything last 5/12.

It's best to give insulin as long as possible to support the pancreas and give it time to heal, provided it is safe to do so. My guess is the 0.4U was a little too high, so yes I would have tried something like 0.25U provided you could monitor.
 
Sorry we haven’t been updating the spreadsheet. AMPS 84 this morning after not receiving any insulin last night. Neither of us will be here to monitor during the day, so I’m hesitant to even give .25u.
 
Sorry we haven’t been updating the spreadsheet. AMPS 84 this morning after not receiving any insulin last night. Neither of us will be here to monitor during the day, so I’m hesitant to even give .25u.
Good call to skip. Unfortunately in numbers these low, I can't advise without the spreadsheet updated.
 
Bruce still OTJ, mid-day reading of 67 a few minutes ago. I think I read it’s normal for cats to have slightly below average glucose readings after remission from insulin therapy. Can anyone confirm this?
 
Normal for a cat on a human meter is 50-100 (some say 120). My cat has never tested above like 95, or below about 55. Average seems to be 70s/80s
 
Bruce still OTJ, mid-day reading of 67 a few minutes ago. I think I read it’s normal for cats to have slightly below average glucose readings after remission from insulin therapy. Can anyone confirm this?
Y'all are soooo lucky! Very good and normal number. Congratulations. I'm very proud of you for checking up on his BG. Kudos to you and your wife.
 
Back
Top