Robin&BB
Very Active Member
Hello, All - Bat-Bat has been in the same "holding pattern" for what appears to be at least 3.5 months now
.
It's as though she's peering over the edge of the falls, afraid to take the leap. Quite some time back, my vet here had said, "Don't shoot her that mini-dose unless she rises to 200 @ pre-shot test." (We use an Alpha Trak meter, btw.) But I was uncomfortable with that, so lowered my time-to-shoot threshold to around 160-ish (as I'm always around to monitor).
Just to see what would happen, when yesterday's AM pre-shot test showed 178 I just let her go without her mini-dose & tested at +2 (237) & +5 (156). Chickened out when she went to 173 @ +12, so shot her after her dinner. And this morning? A 185! (Shot her <0.15U again. Could this be a "mini-bounce?") Here's the thing: She bottomed out on me twice in July at this tiny-dose, so I'm at a loss as to what I might do next. Am embarrassed to admit: Bat-Bat has never had a dental cleaning - nor has any vet ever even mentioned doing one <sigh>.
I still have a 1/2 vial of ProZinc left, but is it possible I should switch her to Lantus? (Ugh, I shudder at the cost here; a vial's really pricey in AZ.
) Or should I just bite the bullet and take her in for a dental, even though she'll totally stress out?
Or do I need more patience pants?
Or .... ??? Any bright ideas from the collective mind here would be most welcome. Thanks, my friends!

It's as though she's peering over the edge of the falls, afraid to take the leap. Quite some time back, my vet here had said, "Don't shoot her that mini-dose unless she rises to 200 @ pre-shot test." (We use an Alpha Trak meter, btw.) But I was uncomfortable with that, so lowered my time-to-shoot threshold to around 160-ish (as I'm always around to monitor).
Just to see what would happen, when yesterday's AM pre-shot test showed 178 I just let her go without her mini-dose & tested at +2 (237) & +5 (156). Chickened out when she went to 173 @ +12, so shot her after her dinner. And this morning? A 185! (Shot her <0.15U again. Could this be a "mini-bounce?") Here's the thing: She bottomed out on me twice in July at this tiny-dose, so I'm at a loss as to what I might do next. Am embarrassed to admit: Bat-Bat has never had a dental cleaning - nor has any vet ever even mentioned doing one <sigh>.
I still have a 1/2 vial of ProZinc left, but is it possible I should switch her to Lantus? (Ugh, I shudder at the cost here; a vial's really pricey in AZ.



