Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was unable to get BG’s or give insulin to Boy q12° for the last two days [although he did get insulin at night both days]. The odd thing, and hopefully someone has input, is that when I was able to check his BG, it wasn’t too bad. Same thing for the next day, even lower. I just did his BG (+20) now, but had planned to check BG at 8:30 pm and get him back on schedule. Looks as if he’ll be too low for any insulin. For only having insulin in low doses q24°, he is doing pretty well. Wondering if I should even go back to the q12° insulin schedule. Any thoughts?

5/12
PMPS 209; 0.25u
5/13
PMPS 173; 0.2u
5/14
+20 110
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

You definitely don't want to give insulin into 110. That is normal BG.

I would say Mr.P is at your house.
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Wow, it looks like you might be going to a "shoot as needed" schedule... The doses are so tiny at this point, you'd have to shoot drops every 12 hours to stay with a 12/12 schedule.
What's the lowest BG number you feel confident shooting at?

Carl
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Ditto. Mr. P seems to enjoying a stay with you. :-D

I would monitor and when he gets up to the 150-180 range, consider a tiny dose of insulin.
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Was going to wait until 8:30 p, but doubt he'll go up high enough still to give him any insulin anyway. I was thinking Mr. P was around and doing his job, lol. I was expecting his BG's to be higher....not get lower. Almost seems that the insulin is now preventing Mr. P from sticking around. I'll retest him at 8:30 p anyway just to see where he's at.....it's din-din time anyway then.
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

I've been using 160 as my no shoot number. He's mostly been going on 0.2u-0.25u every 24°. I can test him every 12° and see where he's at....and give him insulin if needed. Hopefully Mr. P just wants to do his thing now! :-D
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

What an AWESOME situation to have!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

This is true!! And it always seems to happen when I haven't been able to keep up with the 12/12 schedule....but it does look good!
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Looking Good!
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

You can pretty much test her at +12 and anytime after that, and shoot .1 or .2 as soon as you get a shootable number. It really screws up your schedule, but it isn't something that people seem to have to do for a long time.

Carl
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Boy's BG was only 114 at +24, so insulin was held. I'll check him two hours after eating to see where he is at.
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

How awesome is THAT?!!!
Carl
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

I know! I figured he'd still be too low to shoot, but didn't think he would only rise 4 points in that amount of time. Hopefully he'll still be too low after eating. Can only keep checking him to see if he actually is rising, but so far so good!! :-D
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

If he goes down after eating, it means Mr. P is definitely in the house!
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

I can then just wait until morning to get another BG if he is still too low after eating?
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

lol....that's what I'm thinking.....a night of not having to set an alarm. Hopefully Boy will cooperate!

2 hours after eating....129 and no insulin since 9:30 pm 5/13. Hope I get a nice low BG tomorrow morning too!!

Thanks all for the help! :-D
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

:RAHCAT
This is great news. Make it welcoming & cozy so Mr.P will want to stay. He is a tricky fellow so beware...

Keep us posted with the +hours of no shots.
;-)
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

You know Jenn, seems like every time I back off for some reason or another, Boy seems to have a good response to it. I'm sure if he could talk (so that I understood it, lol), he'd say to not smother him or keep poking him, etc. It's been great seeing Mr. P lately and probably more nervous I'm not watching closely enough, or doing something else wrong. Going slow seems to feel the safest thing to do at the moment. I will definitely keep posting with his BG's.
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Excellent news - Hoping Mr. P has made a downpayment and is signing contracts on his new home with Boy!
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Me too!! Just going to putter along and see if he starts to drop slightly more. I've been trying not to test too often since it's already gotten "old" to him and when he gets antsy, I know I get antsy, lol. Will go with the flow and just give Mr. P the time he needs to get back into the swing of things!
 
Re: Boy’s lack of insulin past few days…..BG’s getting lower

Go ahead & post a number occasionally when you get one. Let us cheer you & boy on. :RAHCAT Or maybe give advice if needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top