Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5, 96 +5, PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

pixiegirls & Boy

Member Since 2011
Boy's PMPS was 225, decreased from 1u to .5u. His BG @ +5 was 98.......not very different than last night, but might have a blue AMPS if things go well.
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

This looks much better, but I think that if you saw a cycle this active on the first cycle on a reduction that you need to reduce again now. I went through this with my cat, very quickly stepped down from 1u to; 0.5u, 0.2u, 0.15u, 0.1u, 0.05u. Basically, whenever I dropped the dose and my curve was almost as low as on the previous dose I'd drop again because there's a chance the kitty will continue to get lower at nadir over the next few cycles as the dose settles in and your ps's come down (and the less insulin in a cat at low numbers, the less worrying it is!). Plus your cycle on .5 was a bigger drop then you got on 1u because the pmps was higher! I would suggest halving the dose again, so .25 or .2u whichever is easier for you to draw. If you've already shot make sure you test in case today's cycle mirrors yesterdays.

But this looks really good!

Cathy
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

Sorry bout the edit, coffee hasn't kicked in yet.
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

Nice amps, 167?

I would decrease, I think you're gonna get as good of a response on a lower dose and be much safer. If you have the u-100 syringes try 0.2u prozinc which is .5u on the u100 syringe. If you're using the u40 syringes just eyeball 0.25 u.
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

I already gave him .5u with the 167 AMPS, since he seemed to respond fairly good last night. Will have to see what his nadir is.

I did resend Boy's newest BG's to the vet. She had looked at his BG's from 4/29-4/30 when he was mostly in the blue range without dropping. I think she felt he was good at the moment and said to keep him on 1u. What really scared me was she said I didn't have to do daily BG's.....weekly (midday) and weigh once a month. I did let her know though (with the newest #'s attached) that I'd rather stick to doing the 3 checks minimum. Then again, maybe I'm just too nervous, lol.

I was a little worried about lowering the dose so soon to avoid him bouncing. I hate those drops into the 50's, but it's always so hard to tell when that will happen, Almost every dose amount has had him drop pretty low.

Thanks for the info and help. I'm also trying to see if I can exchange my U40 syringes for U100 syringes.
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

Lowering the dose is actually what will keep him from bouncing, bouncing is caused by going too low too quickly or too much insulin. Your cat doesn't look very bouncy at all. Only concerned for you because I'm betting you will see greens lower than 98 in the near future at nadir, but since you are able to test you just have to watch for it and you'll be fine. Also, that ps is low which can be a sign to reduce again as well.

Make sure to start checking today early, I would test every 2 hours if possible until his nadir. There is no such thing as too many tests, don't let your vet make you feel bad about "stessing your cat out". Cats adapt very quickly to testing, and it's the only way to make sure they're safe (I think my cat got stuck 16 times one day!). Your kitty seems to need far less insulin than your vet realized, I just think a little less would be even better. If he continues doing this well the dose will keep getting smaller and smaller, until hopefully he goes into remission.
 
Re: Boy's BG after .5u dose change

I put .5u, but did actually give slightly less than that....maybe a .4u? Trying to get him to eat a little more. He wasn't very interested in eating a whole lot, so added some tuna juice in. He definitely will drop if he hasn't had enough food. Will try another flavor if he doesn't seem to eat a little more. It certainly won't be a shock to see more low greens though. I will retest his BG shortly.
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

That's great, onset didn't occur too early and the number is holding. Hope the rest of the cycle is nice!
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

I'll try checking him at +4. Most of his drops are somewhere from +4 to +6. Hoping he has a good day and numbers hold too!

Thanks. :smile:
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

That looks great! Maybe he'll come down a little more. Just feed him his regular food if you have to, no high carb and no Karo. Wonder if he'll surf to pmps....
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

I only do the high carb/Karo thing when he hits the 50's. I like the 96....but if he does drop more, I don't think it will be by that much. A nice blue number at PMPS would be great too!
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

Things are looking good. We did realize recently that we should ask what kind of meter new members are using. People have had trouble with "true" meters and free style meters. What kind do you use? (if you have already told us, sorry)
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

I am pleased with his numbers so far today too. As for the meter, I apologize.....I did have it listed in my sig, but had to edit out some stuff temporarily for a .gif. I started with the One Touch Ultra Mini (from Rebecca), but have been trying the One Touch Ultra2 (pilfered it from my mom since it was an extra). There only seemed to be a slight difference in readings with the meters too. I am liking the Ultra2 right now with the illumination, and how it fits in my hand, but the reduced amount of blood needed with the Ultra2 has been great. Any issues that anyone has with the Ultra2? I did have a problem with the OT Ultra Mini in it's date/time memory. Suddenly after a short period of time, It was reading 2009, way off times, etc. Taking the battery out and putting it back in allowed me to reset the date and time plus it kept all of the readings (unfortunately with the inaccurate dates/times). Two days later, I noticed that my mother's OT Ultra Mini was doing the same thing with the date and time. Her's was only 2 weeks old.
 
Re: Boy AMPS 169, 179 +2.5

Always good news! The only thing I really read as a fairly common complaint was with the OT Ultra Mini. Just as my OT Ultra Mini (and my mom's meter) started going nutty with the time/date (not even in date sequence sometimes), a number of other people had the same experience. Usually Lifescan will reissue them a new one. I did find a Consumer Reports review of glucometers and their ratings and can post that info if it hasn't already been done. I was curious if anyone has tried, or knew much about the dual meters (glucose/ketone). If those were decent, I could see them being very useful for those that do a lot of ketone testing.
 
Dose for Boy: AMPS 169, 179 +2.5, 96 +5, PMPS 280

After his 96 BG reading at +5, Boy's PMPS is 280. I'm wondering how much of the rise could be attributed to eating more. He finally decided that he would eat more of his food that he had left. I had planned on giving him .5u again tonight since he didn't have any terrible numbers today. He does seem to do somewhat better when he's been on the same dose for a bit too. :?:

Any thoughts?
 
I would stick with the dose.

It would be great to post that report on meters! I don't recall seeing it before.

Carl
 
I have a dual meter, the nova max. But I only bought it for ketone testing. I used a relion for bg tests

Carl
 
The .5u dose should give him decent numbers. I want to give him another day or so on the .5u before anymore dosing changes....except obviously is his BG readings warrant it.

I can post the meter info and put it into a google doc so other new people can view it. What might be helpful is to have any meter "not" recommended by FDMB starred (***) with a comment as to why it might not be the best meter to buy. Consumer Reports might find a particular meter excellent, but the results people have gotten with their cats puts it in the bottom ratings. No doubt there will be differences in CR and FDMB recommendations.

I wasn't aware that there were dual meters for ketones/glucose. I can see where it could be convenient (even more convenient if the meter could give both results with one strip....but that's probably just asking for too much, lol). Does the Nova not give great BG results?
 
Thanks for the SS!
I never tried for bg tests with the Nova Max, I only bought it for the ketone testing aspect because Bob is a very private pee-er and I couldn't check with the sticks for ketones. Plus the relion strips were much cheaper. Ketone strips were outrageously expensive too.
Carl
 
Just realized I hadn't put the updated SS link in. Fixed now.

Gotcha on the Nova Max. I figured the ketone strips would be expensive. Boy likes to sneak in and use the box too....when I'm lucky I hear him trying to dig to china....not sure why, he never bothers to actually scoop the litter back over.

Good to know about the Nova Max though.
 
I believe the Nova Max Plus on that spreadsheet you created is the same meter.

Ketone strips for the meter can cost anywhere between $2-$5 EACH! depending on where you can find them. Ebay would be the first place I looked. I bought the meter at a local pharmacy, but none of the dozen or so pharmacies in town sold the strips, so I had to buy them online. Not sure how much the glucose strips sell for because I never bought them (nor did any come with the meter. They did however include two whole ketone strips!)

Carl
 
I think there is only one Nova meter that is dual, so would be yours. Unbelievable....two strips. I' don't know if Consumer Reports broke down the prices for strips, etc. I'll have to take a look. I guess we'll find that the more technologically advanced meters and dual meters will have more expensive strips. The ketone strips are $2-$5 a piece.....in bottles of 50? Wow.
 
A whole 10 strips per bottle. Definitely wouldn't be the meter for those that had to test for ketones often. Problem is, they know they don't make their money on the meter, that it's the strips...and they keep going up. They don't even give you control solution with the meter anymore.

That is funny though about the free meter with strips.....so backwards.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top