Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85; PMPS 177 Sk .2u; +4.5 71

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was a little afraid to shoot at only 146 last night, but with a 192 @ +22 [0.2u], probably a very small dose would have been the better choice. Should I now try to decide on a new "no-shoot" number? It seems that if he's only getting one shot q22-24°, it's holding up any kind of progress. Even shooting 0.1u might have been logical. Any thoughts on this? :?

Thanks!






5/15
AMPS 180; 0.15u
(+)7 103
PMPS 145; W & T
(+)12.5 131; Held
(+)16.5 146

5/16 (-) ketones
(+)22 [AMPS] 192; 0.2u
(+6) 85
PMPS 177; Skinny 0.2u
(+) 4.5 71
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

I would have done exactly what you did. 146 at night would be a difficult number to shoot. The .2 looks good for 192 - the +6 is great. Be interesting to see how long this dose lasts.

Hopefully some of our mini dosers will chime in. I know some people chose between 150 - 180 as their cut off, but I would want to be able to monitor if I chose 150.....
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

Hi Sue,

I've been using 160 as my no shoot number.....haven't had to weigh it out as much when his PS #'s were way below 160, but didn't like the rise to 192. Boy's had a fair number of days with only getting one insulin shot a day. I don't know how "bad" this might be for him. Is going almost 24° a normal thing? I couldn't really find info on it.

I definitely liked the 85 too....first <100 BG I've seen in a little bit (or that I could record).

Thanks too!! :-D
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

Yikes.... I shot into low numbers. It really comes down to comfort level. I think .1 into a 150+ could be an option. That's easy for me to say though....
If you have data that shows what .1 will do, then you'd know. At 150, you have 100 points to play with. Looks like .2 dropped him a little bit more than that, assuming you caught the lowest point at +6. Also depends on if you can be home to keep an eye on it.
Carl
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

Hi Carl,

I did shoot 0.15u when he was 180....he had already been without insulin 23+ hours and was rising. He did stay in the blues all day long, so no major drops. The 0.1u on a 150 might be a good option too. For the most part, I can monitor him. The days when I can't be around most of the time, I'll just have to stick to the safest mode. Wasn't really sure if 0.2u was a little much, but 192 [2 hours before scheduled AMPS...although no insulin last night] seemed higher than the last couple of days. There is also a chance that he ate more than usual last night causing the rise. I'll be checking him in about an hour to see his PMPS.
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

The 192 is a number reflected by Mr. P leaving. Ideally, you catch him before he gets up to 190 - maybe closer to 170/180. But you do the best you can. If you have monitored all day and Mr. P decides to take off in the middle of the night, you miss that perfect rise. You'll catch the next one.

No problems. It'll happen. He is close!
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

Hey! His PMPS is 177. Thanks for explaining where the 192 was coming from....now I get it, lol. I'm thinking 0.15u again [skinny 0.2]. Maybe that will give him a nice AMPS.
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

That sounds reasonable. I would get a number tonight before bed just to see how he is doing.
 
Re: Boy 5/16 AMPS [+22] 192; +6 85.......Thoughts?

Great....seemed to be right. "Before" can be anytime for me sometimes, lol. I can definitely do a BG check....@ +4 maybe?

Thanks!!
 
I do like these numbers better! BG @ (+) 4.5 was 71. I'm still going to see if I can get another BG at (+) 5.5 or (+) 6 just to make sure he doesn't drop lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top