Ter and Sally
Member Since 2018
Hi new to group Terri and Sally, also called The Bee. Has anyone had a quick drop on Lantus? I wasn't expecting that could happen. We test with Alpha Trak.
A very brief background: Sally is about 12, diagnosed as diabetic July 2014. BG then was in the high 400's and fructosamine was over 600. I started her solely on FF Classics and then on PZI a few days later and she was in remission in 2 weeks. She stayed in remission until late summer this year.
Late August she just seemed a little different, her coat was dull and getting a little matted, which happens to her in late summer but not as pronounced as it was this year. No pu/pd as when she was diabetic the first time. Slight weight loss we noticed of only a few ounces. Tough to weigh because we don't have a baby scale here, I get accurate weight at work when I need to but she doesn't do well in the car (I'm a vet derm tech).
Bloodwork was all normal, US showed what I was told was abnormal pancreas but typical of a cat that is diabetic. I know the US doctor personally and he is the best in the area so feel confident about the comment. BG was 290 from the lab but fructsamine was in the 400's showing good regulation prior couple of weeks. UA did have glucose but no infection present. No pu/pu; as a matter of fact since she had been on FF in two years I swear we never saw her drink, and she only now drinks once in awhile.
The vet that cares for her would normally not start a cat on insulin with those results except for the ultrasound and the fact that she was already on low carb food.
Two choices Lantus or PZI-we started PZI because we knew she had gone into remission on that. He wanted her to go on 1U bid which I thought was high for her numbers. The day I started her amps was 222; I jumped in with both feet and gave her the 1U. She was great all day. I tested her pmps was 57 so I said no shot tonight we'll retest later and start on 0.5 U in the morning.
From then on we have been on a rollercoaster.
We tried the 0.5, then went to 0.25, numbers were not consistently in normal range and she kept bouncing. We found this out when doing the curve with 1 full unit; the only time she has had high numbers is when her dose increased. We finally had her backed down to 0.25 bid but numbers were now in the 300's and 200's with no long duration.
Brought her to work a few days before Christmas to check her weight and run blood. She had weighed 8.25 # in late September before we started insulin and now weighed 8#. She looks good at that weight but weight loss has to be from the high rebounds I would think. Fructosamine which been normal was now in the 500's, fair regulation. UA normal, but obviously glucose detected.
Decided to finally go with Lantus. The vet had already suggested it before Christmas; he had also mentioned it about a month into the PZI but from reading posts here I thought it may be too early to change.
Started Lantus last Saturday. He wanted to go with 1U but I was fearful of that because of our PZI experience. Started her on 0.5. Amps was 358 at 6:45. Because it was the first day and I had read about the depot I didn't test until later; pmps was 138, Didn't give the evening shot. Regrouped for next day to give 0.25 a try to start and glad I didn't do the 1U.
I thought last week that this was going to be a nice comfortable insulin for The Bee. She looked better to me, although it may be my imagination ever thinking she looked worse because I knew her numbers.
Lacking the ability for spreadsheet at the moment: Sunday went this way-Amps 395, 2:30 270, pmps 248. Monday: Amps 164, 10:45 124, 11:45 108, 12:45 160, 1:45 154, 6:45 272, Tuesday amps 300.
For Tuesday and Wednesday we were able to just do the am and pm bg's which were in the 300's in the am and 200's in the pm.
Thursday we started at 324 amps, 12:45 was 154 and the pmps was 179. We gave the 0.25U as normal and were of course disappointed when we did yesterday amps and it was 446. In our experience with her this usually means rebound so we stayed with our dose. Pmps last night was 554 and we were devastated. We kept with the 0.25 because of the depot and because it has only been a week on this. Stayed up the best we could to test her.
Rapid drop from the pmps (at 6:45) to 8:45 last night when her bg was 378. By 9:45 she was 444 then stayed in the mid to high 300's for the rest of the night. This morning she was 386. We thought the depot brought her down too fast now that she has some insulin stores. Decided to try 0.125U and see how it goes today.
Did we make a mistake?
I'm so very sorry about this long post; I tried to be as brief as possible especially since I don't have a spreadsheet. Her numbers are going down today but probably due also to the depot from this week. Trying to prevent rebound....which she consistently had on PZI and we thought this would be different. I am fearing that our reasoning is starting to go out the window and wanted to ask for your help. Are we nuts going to such a low dose so soon? I think my vet would think so but I know how vets are and to be fair he doesn't know her and her body like we do. She didn't drop drastically today. Amps today 386, 8:03 391, 9:06 261, 10:00 339, 11;06 322.
A very brief background: Sally is about 12, diagnosed as diabetic July 2014. BG then was in the high 400's and fructosamine was over 600. I started her solely on FF Classics and then on PZI a few days later and she was in remission in 2 weeks. She stayed in remission until late summer this year.
Late August she just seemed a little different, her coat was dull and getting a little matted, which happens to her in late summer but not as pronounced as it was this year. No pu/pd as when she was diabetic the first time. Slight weight loss we noticed of only a few ounces. Tough to weigh because we don't have a baby scale here, I get accurate weight at work when I need to but she doesn't do well in the car (I'm a vet derm tech).
Bloodwork was all normal, US showed what I was told was abnormal pancreas but typical of a cat that is diabetic. I know the US doctor personally and he is the best in the area so feel confident about the comment. BG was 290 from the lab but fructsamine was in the 400's showing good regulation prior couple of weeks. UA did have glucose but no infection present. No pu/pu; as a matter of fact since she had been on FF in two years I swear we never saw her drink, and she only now drinks once in awhile.
The vet that cares for her would normally not start a cat on insulin with those results except for the ultrasound and the fact that she was already on low carb food.
Two choices Lantus or PZI-we started PZI because we knew she had gone into remission on that. He wanted her to go on 1U bid which I thought was high for her numbers. The day I started her amps was 222; I jumped in with both feet and gave her the 1U. She was great all day. I tested her pmps was 57 so I said no shot tonight we'll retest later and start on 0.5 U in the morning.
From then on we have been on a rollercoaster.
We tried the 0.5, then went to 0.25, numbers were not consistently in normal range and she kept bouncing. We found this out when doing the curve with 1 full unit; the only time she has had high numbers is when her dose increased. We finally had her backed down to 0.25 bid but numbers were now in the 300's and 200's with no long duration.
Brought her to work a few days before Christmas to check her weight and run blood. She had weighed 8.25 # in late September before we started insulin and now weighed 8#. She looks good at that weight but weight loss has to be from the high rebounds I would think. Fructosamine which been normal was now in the 500's, fair regulation. UA normal, but obviously glucose detected.
Decided to finally go with Lantus. The vet had already suggested it before Christmas; he had also mentioned it about a month into the PZI but from reading posts here I thought it may be too early to change.
Started Lantus last Saturday. He wanted to go with 1U but I was fearful of that because of our PZI experience. Started her on 0.5. Amps was 358 at 6:45. Because it was the first day and I had read about the depot I didn't test until later; pmps was 138, Didn't give the evening shot. Regrouped for next day to give 0.25 a try to start and glad I didn't do the 1U.
I thought last week that this was going to be a nice comfortable insulin for The Bee. She looked better to me, although it may be my imagination ever thinking she looked worse because I knew her numbers.
Lacking the ability for spreadsheet at the moment: Sunday went this way-Amps 395, 2:30 270, pmps 248. Monday: Amps 164, 10:45 124, 11:45 108, 12:45 160, 1:45 154, 6:45 272, Tuesday amps 300.
For Tuesday and Wednesday we were able to just do the am and pm bg's which were in the 300's in the am and 200's in the pm.
Thursday we started at 324 amps, 12:45 was 154 and the pmps was 179. We gave the 0.25U as normal and were of course disappointed when we did yesterday amps and it was 446. In our experience with her this usually means rebound so we stayed with our dose. Pmps last night was 554 and we were devastated. We kept with the 0.25 because of the depot and because it has only been a week on this. Stayed up the best we could to test her.
Rapid drop from the pmps (at 6:45) to 8:45 last night when her bg was 378. By 9:45 she was 444 then stayed in the mid to high 300's for the rest of the night. This morning she was 386. We thought the depot brought her down too fast now that she has some insulin stores. Decided to try 0.125U and see how it goes today.
Did we make a mistake?
I'm so very sorry about this long post; I tried to be as brief as possible especially since I don't have a spreadsheet. Her numbers are going down today but probably due also to the depot from this week. Trying to prevent rebound....which she consistently had on PZI and we thought this would be different. I am fearing that our reasoning is starting to go out the window and wanted to ask for your help. Are we nuts going to such a low dose so soon? I think my vet would think so but I know how vets are and to be fair he doesn't know her and her body like we do. She didn't drop drastically today. Amps today 386, 8:03 391, 9:06 261, 10:00 339, 11;06 322.