Bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Liz

Member Since 2016
Lila seems to be currently producing better numbers on a 1.4 dose Caninsulin. However some preshots are still very high. Is this likely to be bouncing? Any advice gratefully received.
 
Yes, her middle cycle numbers are much better. The high PSs are quite likely bouncing or perhaps less than 12 hours duration of the insulin. I see that you're using caninsulin which is a faster acting insulin, drops BG quite strongly and doesn't always last 12 hours in cats. There's definite progress at this dose of 1.4 u because you're seeing many more blues than you were when you began at this level. I don't have experience with it myself. I wonder if giving a small snack at around +2 would keep her from dropping as far and maybe stave off a bounce later on?
 
Thanks for reply Kris, Lila is fed 30 mins before shot and then small meals at approx +2/3 & +6 daytime cycle and +2/3 & +4 nightime cycle. Our new vet has suggested we try to standardise feeding in both cycles to rule out differences and to then do a curve. At +7 last night we were a little concerned about her and tested to find she was only 8.8 which was a significant drop from her +4 reading at bedtime. So we wonder if at times she is lower than we realise. If these high pre shot readings are bounces will they eventually reduce when her body gets used to lower readings or is it a sign that dose is to high? It seems that she now possibly stays lower for longer which presumably is the way she should be heading to eventually get lower pre shot bgs.
 
Thanks for reply Kris, Lila is fed 30 mins before shot and then small meals at approx +2/3 & +6 daytime cycle and +2/3 & +4 nightime cycle. Our new vet has suggested we try to standardise feeding in both cycles to rule out differences and to then do a curve. At +7 last night we were a little concerned about her and tested to find she was only 8.8 which was a significant drop from her +4 reading at bedtime. So we wonder if at times she is lower than we realise. If these high pre shot readings are bounces will they eventually reduce when her body gets used to lower readings or is it a sign that dose is to high? It seems that she now possibly stays lower for longer which presumably is the way she should be heading to eventually get lower pre shot bgs.
The experienced people on here say that bouncing should reduce as you have more runs of better numbers because that "teaches" Lila's body to accept them without overreacting (bouncing). Staying lower for longer is a good sign. I'm not a Caninsulin expert by any means but I use ProZinc, another in-and-out insulin, so I'm familiar with the way these work.

There's been a gradual reduction in the number of blacks and a proliferation of blues on Lila's SS - good sign. None of the lower numbers has been very low recently. I see that she dipped low way back on 10/12 when she was given 2 u. There was a lot of bouncing going on then and it was early in her treatment. You might want to try a small dose increase, say 1.5 u, if you can be around to test.

Are you using U100 syringes? I ask because of the 1.40 u dose which is easy to measure with a U100 syringe.
 
The experienced people on here say that bouncing should reduce as you have more runs of better numbers because that "teaches" Lila's body to accept them without overreacting (bouncing). Staying lower for longer is a good sign. I'm not a Caninsulin expert by any means but I use ProZinc, another in-and-out insulin, so I'm familiar with the way these work.

There's been a gradual reduction in the number of blacks and a proliferation of blues on Lila's SS - good sign. None of the lower numbers has been very low recently. I see that she dipped low way back on 10/12 when she was given 2 u. There was a lot of bouncing going on then and it was early in her treatment. You might want to try a small dose increase, say 1.5 u, if you can be around to test.

Are you using U100 syringes? I ask because of the 1.40 u dose which is easy to measure with a U100 syringe.
Hi Kris,yes u100 syringes for more fine dosing that Lila seems to need. Have just posted again as amps is 16.9 and unsure re full dose or not?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top