Bouncing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker'sMom-Jen

Member Since 2014
Hi. I am Tucker's Mom Jen and Tucker was diagnosed with diabetes in August. We knew it was coming because he has been on prednisolone for 6 years and it was only a matter of time... Anyway, Tucker started on ProZinc 10 days ago. The spreadsheet link is below. As an RN I felt comfortable titrating his doses and we started at .5 units, increasing every 3 cycles after I reviewed the protocol on the ProZinc forum. Perhaps I was overly confident in my knowledge, thinking that I would need to adjust Tucker's insulin based on not only his blood glucose level pre-shot, but also the steroid dose he would be getting at the same time. Tucker gets 2.5 mg of pred in the AM and 5 mg in the PM daily. He free eats (barely) Wellness Core and we were not successful changing him to better food due to colitis (even on steroids!).

He was all pinks at first when we started, with one red 400 the first night that I (stupidly!) kicked myself for thinking was because of the higher steroid dose. Of course hindsight is 20/20, and now that I look at his PM numbers it looks like he has been bouncing at night???

Today we finally got into blues! AMPS was 218 and I decreased to 2 units. +2 was 270, +4 190 and +6 137! Unfortunately I was not able to check after that point, but what has me posting now is his PMPS -- jumped back to 319. I gave him 1.5 units and am settling in for a long night in order to get a curve.

My guess is I moved up too quickly and should have given more time on each dose before increasing, but I would love input from the group! HELP!

Tucker's SS
 
I think he is looking pretty good, Jen. At first, it is hard because their body takes a while to adjust to the insulin, and if you have changed the diet also, that takes a while to see results and the numbers you do see can make little sense. As he settles in, the data should be easier to decipher.

As the protocol indicates, you have the choice of holding a dose or trying a sliding scale. You have been doing a sort of sliding scale that seems pretty successful. It is hard to tell whether he is dropping low at night and then bouncing. Maybe set the alarm around +6 and get a test in? Today you certainly had a nice amps and the dose gave you some nice blues. Yes, I would guess the pmps does represent a slight bounce from the day's lower numbers.

I'd keep on doing what you are doing. :mrgreen:
 
Do you think I need to stay up all night, or would be okay to get up for the +6 only? I was on the Feline Diabetes Facebook page earlier and had resigned myself to staying up all night to check every 2 hrs. We are 30 min out from a +2, could do that and get up later for the +6? If he could only talk!
 
I don't think you need to stay up all night.
If you want the +6, set your alarm. It isn't mandatory to get that every cycle; more of a get it when you can. Also, the nadir can move around, so vary when you test mid-cycle - +5, +7, +6, etc.
 
Great! I was not looking forward to staying up all night :mrgreen:

One last question: I had dropped his PM insulin down. Based on how he did today, should I drop his AM dose tomorrow?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top