Tucker'sMom-Jen
Member Since 2014
Hi. I am Tucker's Mom Jen and Tucker was diagnosed with diabetes in August. We knew it was coming because he has been on prednisolone for 6 years and it was only a matter of time... Anyway, Tucker started on ProZinc 10 days ago. The spreadsheet link is below. As an RN I felt comfortable titrating his doses and we started at .5 units, increasing every 3 cycles after I reviewed the protocol on the ProZinc forum. Perhaps I was overly confident in my knowledge, thinking that I would need to adjust Tucker's insulin based on not only his blood glucose level pre-shot, but also the steroid dose he would be getting at the same time. Tucker gets 2.5 mg of pred in the AM and 5 mg in the PM daily. He free eats (barely) Wellness Core and we were not successful changing him to better food due to colitis (even on steroids!).
He was all pinks at first when we started, with one red 400 the first night that I (stupidly!) kicked myself for thinking was because of the higher steroid dose. Of course hindsight is 20/20, and now that I look at his PM numbers it looks like he has been bouncing at night???
Today we finally got into blues! AMPS was 218 and I decreased to 2 units. +2 was 270, +4 190 and +6 137! Unfortunately I was not able to check after that point, but what has me posting now is his PMPS -- jumped back to 319. I gave him 1.5 units and am settling in for a long night in order to get a curve.
My guess is I moved up too quickly and should have given more time on each dose before increasing, but I would love input from the group! HELP!
Tucker's SS
He was all pinks at first when we started, with one red 400 the first night that I (stupidly!) kicked myself for thinking was because of the higher steroid dose. Of course hindsight is 20/20, and now that I look at his PM numbers it looks like he has been bouncing at night???
Today we finally got into blues! AMPS was 218 and I decreased to 2 units. +2 was 270, +4 190 and +6 137! Unfortunately I was not able to check after that point, but what has me posting now is his PMPS -- jumped back to 319. I gave him 1.5 units and am settling in for a long night in order to get a curve.
My guess is I moved up too quickly and should have given more time on each dose before increasing, but I would love input from the group! HELP!
Tucker's SS