max&emmasmommie
Member Since 2012
Hi. I'm new to the board, and I've been over at Feline Health for the past couple of days trying to get a handle on all of this.
I really need some help before 9 a.m. in the morning. -- some advice from someone who is very familiar with bouncing. Does anyone know someone on this board who knows a lot about it, and if so, could you tell him/her about my post?
Max's dose was increased from 2u to 3u on Thursday, March 8th, and I used a brand new pen just in case my donated pen was no good. He seemed to be doing well with the 3u dose from the morning of March 9th . He had a BG reading of 209 at 6.5 hours after the dose and a reading of 264 at 11.75 hours after the dose. I thought that 264 right before the next dose was due was really good news. However, someone cautioned me that 3u for a 9.8 pound cat is an awful lot, and so is an intial dose upon diagnosis of 2u, in general. Also, an increase of one full unit is quite a bit at one time. The concern is that the high BG readings I got on March 7 were the result of bouncing from the initial 2u dose being too high.
The history is that on March 7th, in the evening, the reading was up at 600 plus pre-shot (6 p.m.)!!!!!! This was after he had had no insulin since 11 p.m. the night before. I gave him 2u of Lantus (from a donated pen), and the BG value dropped to around 450 at about 4 hours after the shot. This could have been due to bouncing from having an initial dose that was too high. However, the readings after the increase to 3u were so good.
The evening of March 9th, I had accidentally loaded the syringe with only 2u after the 264 reading, and my husband gave that to Max at 9 p.m. while I was with the baby. When I realized the mistake we decided to leave it alone and see what happened. At 6.5 hours after the shot Max's BG was 559 and the re-test showed 500. How does the fact that he had such good readings on 3 units during the day of March 8th, and very high BG readings after only 2u that evening play into the analysis? Was he bouncing? Was he in legitimate need of 3u?
If I stick with 2u, and increase incrementally in .25 amounts every 3-7 days that means leaving him at these very high kidney, nerve and blood vessel damaging levels for who knows how long. He has had kidney problems in the past. I can't take him to a specialist or to the UC Davis clinic. I don't want to drive him to the UC Davis clinic in San Diego because he gets sick in the car if we go too far. I think the stress on him would be worse than the advantage.
Background: Max's BG upon diagnosis was 508 on Feb 2nd and 475 on Feb 3rd with UG over 1000. He had CRF diagnosed in Sept of 2011, and had a BG at that time within the normal range. His CRF was fully controlled on Feb 3. He eats about one to one and a quarter cans of Hills m/d wet per day. I'm using a ReliOn Confirm meter that I tested at the vet's (with vein blood). He will be 16 in May; he eats about one to one and a quarter cans of Hills m/d wet each day, He takes solidago, Standard Process Renal Support and Rehmannia Eight for kidney support. He has a water fountain, and I do have ketone sticks and Karo syrup on hand.
Does this information help to clarify anyone's opinion on whether he simply needs 3 units or whether he is bouncing? I am feeling so bad for him having such a high BG right now, but I'll have to let it go until 9 a.m.
I really need some help before 9 a.m. in the morning. -- some advice from someone who is very familiar with bouncing. Does anyone know someone on this board who knows a lot about it, and if so, could you tell him/her about my post?
Max's dose was increased from 2u to 3u on Thursday, March 8th, and I used a brand new pen just in case my donated pen was no good. He seemed to be doing well with the 3u dose from the morning of March 9th . He had a BG reading of 209 at 6.5 hours after the dose and a reading of 264 at 11.75 hours after the dose. I thought that 264 right before the next dose was due was really good news. However, someone cautioned me that 3u for a 9.8 pound cat is an awful lot, and so is an intial dose upon diagnosis of 2u, in general. Also, an increase of one full unit is quite a bit at one time. The concern is that the high BG readings I got on March 7 were the result of bouncing from the initial 2u dose being too high.
The history is that on March 7th, in the evening, the reading was up at 600 plus pre-shot (6 p.m.)!!!!!! This was after he had had no insulin since 11 p.m. the night before. I gave him 2u of Lantus (from a donated pen), and the BG value dropped to around 450 at about 4 hours after the shot. This could have been due to bouncing from having an initial dose that was too high. However, the readings after the increase to 3u were so good.
The evening of March 9th, I had accidentally loaded the syringe with only 2u after the 264 reading, and my husband gave that to Max at 9 p.m. while I was with the baby. When I realized the mistake we decided to leave it alone and see what happened. At 6.5 hours after the shot Max's BG was 559 and the re-test showed 500. How does the fact that he had such good readings on 3 units during the day of March 8th, and very high BG readings after only 2u that evening play into the analysis? Was he bouncing? Was he in legitimate need of 3u?
If I stick with 2u, and increase incrementally in .25 amounts every 3-7 days that means leaving him at these very high kidney, nerve and blood vessel damaging levels for who knows how long. He has had kidney problems in the past. I can't take him to a specialist or to the UC Davis clinic. I don't want to drive him to the UC Davis clinic in San Diego because he gets sick in the car if we go too far. I think the stress on him would be worse than the advantage.
Background: Max's BG upon diagnosis was 508 on Feb 2nd and 475 on Feb 3rd with UG over 1000. He had CRF diagnosed in Sept of 2011, and had a BG at that time within the normal range. His CRF was fully controlled on Feb 3. He eats about one to one and a quarter cans of Hills m/d wet per day. I'm using a ReliOn Confirm meter that I tested at the vet's (with vein blood). He will be 16 in May; he eats about one to one and a quarter cans of Hills m/d wet each day, He takes solidago, Standard Process Renal Support and Rehmannia Eight for kidney support. He has a water fountain, and I do have ketone sticks and Karo syrup on hand.
Does this information help to clarify anyone's opinion on whether he simply needs 3 units or whether he is bouncing? I am feeling so bad for him having such a high BG right now, but I'll have to let it go until 9 a.m.