bouncing sugars

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnnysMom

Member Since 2015
Can someone look at my spreadsheet and see if they can give me advice. I feel like my cats sugars are all over the place. Sometimes when I take it multiple times in a row I notice it getting higher... I am assuming bc the pricks stress him out so I go with the first number. I am worried about my kitty. Thanks!
 
What insulin are you using?

Yes, he is bouncing all over. Although dosing advice may be different depending on your insulin, we generally advise new diabetics not to shoot under 200 (pre shot) until they have an idea how the insulin is working for their cat. The 96 was a very low pre shot. Not sure about the high number after it, but I would definitely monitor his levels today.
 
Here's your previous post with some background info

You need to add the fact that you're using Lantus (glargine) to your signature @JohnnysMom ...it will save a lot of the same question being asked over and over again! Instead of saying "started on insulin", I'd just change it to "started Lantus"

Looks like 2 units may be too much for Johnny so I'm glad to see you reduced this morning. We usually ask new members to stall, DON'T feed and post for help the first few times they get a Pre-shot under 200 (that number will eventually come down until you're shooting lower and lower numbers, but only after you have more data on how Johnny responds)

Bouncing is frustrating, but it's also how their body reacts to having their blood glucose go too low, drop a lot quickly, or even just drop from a higher number that it's gotten used to living at (like if he'd been diabetic for awhile before diagnosis, his body may have gotten used to living in the 400's..so even a drop to 250 might trigger the liver to release stored sugars and hormones to bring him back up)

As they spend more time in "normal" numbers, the body will re-learn that it's OK to be there and the bounces should calm down some.

I think it's possible that Johnny went low overnight and this morning he was on his way up at AMPS and then came "the bounce"

If he were my cat, I'd probably just hold that 1 unit dose for at least 3 days and let's see how he does....if he needs more after his depot settles, we'd increase in .25 unit increments until we find his "best dose"
 
If you look at yesterday am cycle, he saw some nice greens and then by pm shot time.... boing.... into the red.

His body isn't used to the greens anymore so it dumped hormones in response.
I agree that let's adjust and stay at 1 unit and see if he levels out some.
If not, you go back up in a few days , but this time, in 0.25 u increments.

If you need pictures to see that , we have them.
a whole unit difference is a large amount for a little cat body.
Some vets only think in 1 units so they advise that way.
 
Yes....Lantus is dosed based on how low it takes them, not how high the pre-shot numbers are,

It also needs to be given consistently over several days to let the dose "settle"....it can take up to 3 days to really see how this dose is going to do with him

I'd hold the 1 unit for at least 3 days (6 cycles total) and then see how he's doing (Unless he were to drop below 50 at any point...then he'd be reduced to .75)
 
Thank you so much. I just tested his sugars he was at 232 and gave him some lunch. I honestly don't know how everyone does this because I just sit at work and worry and cry.
 
Well...we do this because we must....and we've already got all the crying out of our system

Trust me...most of us spent the first month or so sitting and worrying and crying....Thankfully the people here all understand and are here to offer as much support as we need

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would say most everyone here had that first month or two of extreme fear, failure, defeat, you name it. I didn't sleep for a few months because
I would lay there and worry. ( so I read everyone else's threads)
It is a steep learning curve in the beginning. There is so much to learn and soak in and I think the quickest way is to read all the sticky's,
read other peoples stories ( maybe just watch one or two if you are limited on time)
You'll often hear the reason why , for the advice being given.

And no matter what the question, ask.
It's why we are so willing to help.... we've been there.

But after awhile , you start getting it, you realize you've joined a community, and it becomes more routine.
 
Day three of giving Johnny the reduced amount of 1 unit of insulin... levels seems so much more stable today; and are not bouncing all over the place. Hope it stays this way. Also starting to notice decrease in urine in the litter box. You guys are Johnny and I's angels! Thank you everyone!
 
Love seeing those blue numbers! :cool:

You might want to start posting over on the Lantus/Levemir Forum.....you'll get the most experienced eyes watching over Johnny there!

Would be really helpful if you'd also change your signature line and put in "Lantus" instead of just "insulin" so people will know which one you're using
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top